Grilled Chicken and Cucumber Basil Pitas

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 15 min
  • Total: 30 min
  • Servings: 4
Rated 4.9268/5 based on 41 customer reviews

Ingredients (7)

  • 1 pound (2–3 total) boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 medium English cucumber, peeled and cut into half moons (about 2 cups total)
  • 4 butter lettuce leaves
  • 4 whole wheat pita halves

Steps (5)

  • Step 1
    Preheat a grill for direct cooking over medium heat. Grease the grates to prevent sticking.
  • Step 2
    Season the chicken breasts with the salt and pepper evenly. Let sit for at least 15-20 minutes, seasoned, while the grill heats.
  • Step 3
    Grill the chicken breasts for about 10-15 minutes, depending on thickness, until no longer pink in the center and a thermometer reads 165°F, flipping once halfway through cooking. Set aside to rest for 5 minutes before cutting into ½-inch-thick slices.
  • Step 4
    Meanwhile, mix the cucumbers with the dressing and set aside.
  • Step 5
    When ready to assemble, place one butter lettuce leaf inside each pita half. Divide the chicken between the pitas, and spoon the cucumber salad in after. Serve warm or cold.

    Note: Want to add some flavor? Swap out the salt & pepper and sprinkle chicken breasts with half a packet of Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Salad Dressing & Seasoning Mix.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Picked Just For You

See all recipes

Reviews
(41)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Wasn't sure I would like this recipe but it turns out I love it. Great for lunch, easy to make.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Simple, easy, and delicious! A great lunch or dinner meal.
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuke and chicken are an awesome duo! I've always used the ranch cuke dressing...but it is so much better with fresh garden cukes and hot grilled chicken!
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! This looks so good. I'm always looking for different dinners stove top in the summer and this will be perfect!
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy snack This looks easy to make and would make a healthy snack.
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Eating Gives me enegry and it taste good! I cant believe how wonderful these are and if you substitute it with turkey yummy !
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks so good and easy to make This looks like it will become a family favorite and easy to make.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word: wow. This dish was delicious. Will definitely be making again!
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks so good I think I will make this when my friend comes over. It looks so yummt
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lunch treat Made these for lunch with the girls! Everybody wanted the reciepe
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lunch These are so full of flavor and make the perfect lunch. You can change out the veggies so you don’t get bored.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super simple Loved making these ahead of time for my lunches for work! Simple and easy and tastes amazing!
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy and delicious. This was delicious. It was light,healthy, and flavorful.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tastes great! I love this recipe! It was so delicious and light! I love that hidden valley has a cucumber ranch!
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicious! I made these pitas over the weekend and they were amazing! Everyone loved them!!! I am making them for my next girls lunch and can’t waot!!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so good! I wasn’t sure if my picky teen would like the basil ranch I made this with basil ranch and with original in two separate recipes and my picky 16 year old ate both the only dressing she adds to everything basically is original ranch I was shocked she ate basil ranch she admits original is still her favorite but in that recipe either is great! She now puts original on a ton of items just a few to mention is pizza, spaghetti, and ham and cheese grilled sandwiches now she tasted it like many she’s addicted to Hidden Valley brand Ranch as she tasted a different brand at her friends and knows why she never ate ranch dressing they just don’t compare to HBR! Please make more recipes HVR at this rate I’ll need a few coupons I bought 3 bottles of HVR in last 9 days and she’s almost went through it all time to restock!!
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These pitas are absolutely delicious and easy to make!
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is so delious I love chicken my face and cucumber are the best mixing it with ranch just emphasizes the flavor
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick Love cucumbers. Great easy delicious sandwich. Try it.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stacked nicely inside the pockets I use to use tuna in pita pockets now since I found this recipe I will give it a try.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lunch! Just tried this recipe, added some dill and it was the perfect lunch!
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grilled Chicken and Cucumber Basil Pitas Read more This sandwich tastes very good. Try adding some red pepper strips.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and good! Love the grilled chicken texture with the cucumbers and basil throw some tomato in there and it's even tastier!
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like I like the taste of this grilled chicken and cucumber basil pitas .
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! These were very good. Who knew I would like pita so much!
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from these were good easy to do which was good,whole family liked them,will do it again
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make My family loved these. It is so easy to make. Fun for the entire family.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make These were good and easy to make. A healthy option.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly easy I loved this recipe it was so easy to make and tasted amazing. Its so easy to customize the ingredients as well
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent taste Very happy I had purchased the flavor was excellent and the whole family enjoyed
Date published: 2017-07-11
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_9360, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 90.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT