Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch Mashed Potatoes

Easy, delicious, and awesome can be used to describe our Sour Cream and Ranch Mashed Potatoes recipe! Once you try this recipe you'll never want to go back to traditional mashed potatoes again.

  • Prep Time 30 min
  • Cook Time 30 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (13)

Compound Butter

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (7)

  1. 1

    Start by peeling and chopping 3 large russet potatoes one at a time. Immediately upon chopping, place the pieces into a saucepot filled with water (off the heat).

  2. 2

    Salt the water and bring it all up to a simmer. Once at a simmer, cook the potatoes for 15–20 minutes, until a paring knife inserted into a potato chunk and twisted effortlessly cracks the cube in half, in which the potatoes are ready to drain.

  3. 3

    Drain the potatoes and use a potato ricer to rice the potatoes back into a saucepot.

  4. 4

    Once all of the potato pieces have been riced, add in ¼ cup of milk, 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter, 1 cup of crispy chopped bacon, 1 tablespoon of finely minced chives, an optional teaspoon of cayenne pepper, chopped scallions and a few hefty shakes of Hidden Valley® Ranch seasoning.

  5. 5

    Add 4 ounces of grated cheddar and a few generous twists of freshly ground black pepper and mix until thoroughly combined.

  6. 6

    Ranch Compound Butter:

    Add a hefty shake of Hidden Valley® Ranch seasoning to ½ a stick of unsalted butter and whisk to combine.

  7. 7

    Plate a bowl of potatoes and top with even more garnishes: shredded cheese, bacon, scallions and a big scoop of Hidden Valley® Ranch compound butter.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(105 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

113 Reviews

4.8

recommend 92% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect with pork chops and gravy! Decided to try to make this version of mashed potatoes with my normal pork chops and gravy recipe. Tasted great!
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new twist on mashed potatoes I made this with hand mashed potatoes and it was delicious! I skipped on the pepper because I'm not one for spicy foods. The ranch gave these potatoes an over the top flavor additive that we all really enjoyed!
Date published: 2021-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mashed potatoes ever! I not only make these for a side dish but sometimes make them as meal. So many flavors.
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CREAMY AND DELICIOUS Some of the best mashed potatoes I've ever made! So easy. Had them along side of meatloaf!! Yummy!!!
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Tasty I loved you guys should try this is simple and good
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty I make this all the time it’s a hit with my family.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ranch Mashed Potatoes are a Hit! Ranch Mashed Potatoes are a Hit! I used to serve regular mashed potatoes. They were okay, but since I started making Ranch Mashed Potatoes, I get complements and people asking for the recipe. Delicious.
Date published: 2020-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loaded mash potatoes We do this before ever seeing this recipe. Everyone loves it. This adds several flavors and textures you're sure to enjoy
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Better of All others tried Hidden Valley Shaker the BEST ADDITION to my cooking
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy My kids love this recipe. They want it at least once a week.
Date published: 2020-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! Takes mashed potatoes to a new level! Made this for our early Thanksgiving dinner. Family loved it so much that I easily could have doubled the recipe.
Date published: 2020-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is awesome! This dish is a baked potato without the peel. It is truly delicious. The great part about this recipe is how versatile it is. You can make the toppings whatever you want them to be. Just like a baked potato you can make it your own. Use cheese sauce instead of shredded cheese, if you wish. Don't like scallions? Use broccoli. Want extra butter or sour cream? Throw it on there. Let your taste buds take over. Don't forget the HVR, however. Gotta have that.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a little something extra Totally my favorite dish! Loved it so much I will make it twice a week. I made this and it was really easy and it taste awesome! Loved it. I will make it again for my side dish. Family ask for me to make it twice a week. New fan! Great for company too!
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything about it I made this the other night and it was delicious I love everything about it I love the babish culinary universe and I'll be making this for Thanksgiving dinner
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum I made this for the family and they loved it definitely will make again
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family favorite This recipe is a step up from plain mashed potatoes, our family enjoys it often.
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great taste! I made this recipe and it had great flavor and the consistency of the potatoes was really good also.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Yummy! Was great for me and my boyfriend for a quick tasty side dish
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Next Level Amazing We all mashed potatoes but this recipe takes them to the top. I've put HVR on by baked potatos and mixed it my mashed potatoes for years...but this recipe is so much more. Guaranteed to please.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very delicious Came across this in your recipes and wanted somethig diffrent for the family and they loved it
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple Potatoes and ranch together equal a real good thing!
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creamy Love creamed potatoes and these are the best. Ranch Mashed Potatoes are delicious.
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy Tried it on the weekend - everyone at home loved this recipe
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy I had huge potatoes to use up so figured I would try this. I love the extra flavor and put everything in my mixer. I left out the cayenne since I don't like hot spice. Had great flavor and the cheese was a great touch.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Mashed Potatoes All that is delicious in one bowl. I will be making these heavenly potatoes for the holidays this year instead of plain. It's 2020...we deserve the best this year!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious I like the video it showed detailed how to make it
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meal for dinner I'd tried this resp. With my family and they loved it ❗
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tastes great These are a great side dish that goes with so much and taste great, it is easy to make and can be eaten 3-4 days a week.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome flavor Made it for a party and it was a super hit. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast n easy Tasted great . It was quick to assemble and I am glad I tried it .
Date published: 2020-11-02
  • y_2022, m_7, d_3, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_32092, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 113.55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards