Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Mississippi Chicken Thighs

Check out this new take on Mississippi chicken. Destined to be a new weeknight favorite, this simple two-step method couldn't be easier. Just brown flavorful thighs in a pan with ranch seasoning and pepperoncini, then roast it in the oven. Ta-dah!

  • Prep Time 5 min
  • Cook Time 35 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (5)

THIS RECIPE IS AIR FRYER-FRIENDLY
Simply reduce the cooking time and temperature on your air fryer as shown here.*

Timing
Set air fryer timer for half the cooking time of a conventional oven. Add extra time for doneness if needed.

Temperature
Reduce regular oven temperature by 25° to 50° (not going below 350°) on your air fryer. If food is getting too dark, reduce by another 25°.

* Always follow manufacturer’s instructions.

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 400° F. In a small sauce pot, melt the butter over medium heat.  Whisk in the ranch seasoning mix and the au jus mix until well combined. 

  2. 2

    Stir in the pepperoncini and pepperoncini juice. Bring to a simmer and let cook for 2–3 minutes. 

  3. 3

    In an oven-safe large sauté pan, heat the oil over high heat. Sear the chicken thighs skin side down, without disturbing, until browned, about 5–7 minutes. 

  4. 4

    Flip the chicken and pour the sauce over the thighs. Roast in the oven until the chicken is cooked through, spooning sauce over the chicken periodically, about 25–30 minutes. Serve immediately.

  5. 5

    Note: To cook in the slow cooker, simply add the chicken and all of the other ingredients to the pot, and cook for about 5–6 hours on low.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch

Check out this new take on Mississippi chicken - destined to be a new weeknight favorite!

♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(49 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

22 Reviews

4.5

recommend 100% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Recipe We tried tis recipe last night and it was very good.
Date published: 2022-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy prep Only 5 minutes to prep, and amazing flavor. Has easy clean up.
Date published: 2022-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Made this on our smoker! Made this on our smoker yesterday - yum! 225 on the smoker, uncovered, 4 hours, brought it in the house and cooked for about another hour covered at 275, uncovered it and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes to brown up the tops. We doubled the amount of pepperoncini because, well, we love it, added about 1 cup of sliced vidalia and about 6 garlic cloves coarsely chopped (we do this with our crockpot Mississippi roast as well). And lastly we used a gluten free au jus packet which worked just fine!
Date published: 2022-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly Delicious I made this today for my son and his wife who just brought their newborn home from the hospital. I paired it with a family rice recipe and seasoned steamed broccoli. The exhausted new parents ate and ate and then asked if they could keep the leftovers! Yep, this one will be made on a regular basis. Delicious!
Date published: 2022-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Easy! Soo simple yet so delicious! Awesome chicken thigh recipe!
Date published: 2022-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mississippi Chicken This recipe was really easy to make and easy to eat! Had a good flavor overall.
Date published: 2022-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor These thighs were delicious, the coating on the skin was the best part. not too complicated to make for a really wonderful looking and tasting dinner
Date published: 2022-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic combo this is delicious, works great in a crock pot too!
Date published: 2022-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just So Yummy This is a great recipe -- super easy and yummy. My new easy goto meal.
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I am loving these Mississippi Chicken Thighs. They are so flavorful and my family’s new favorite for chicken. The recipe is so easy to follow and the ingredients are fresh not processed which I love. I 100% recommend this amazing recipe.
Date published: 2022-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Mississippi Chicken Thighs Very easy recipe I browned the chicken thighs and placed all the ingredients in my slow cooker, it was a delicious dinner.
Date published: 2022-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL FLAVOR for Chicken This was a Great WONDERFUL change in Kicking Up the FLAVOR Taste of CHICKEN Was not that hard to make
Date published: 2022-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Full of flavor So easy to make and so full of flavor. Just be careful that your skin doesn't burn.
Date published: 2022-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TASTE and Delicious THIS WAS THE BEST CHICKEN I"VE EVER HAD! I recommend to go make it now!
Date published: 2022-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for the crock pot! This was so good! I will make again! I never would have thought pepperocini would be so good!
Date published: 2022-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy I browned the chicken thighs & put them in my slow cooker. They were delicious and so easy to make.
Date published: 2022-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Chicken Thighs A new family favorites. Tender and juicy. A must try.
Date published: 2022-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dang! Things almighty ! I love this recipe f o r Mississippi chicken thighs great flavor o rs
Date published: 2022-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mississippi Chicken Thighs These Chicken Thighs were delicious and tasted great with Oven Roasted Ranch Corn on the Cob.
Date published: 2021-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These chicken thighs are very good. Nice for a picnic
Date published: 2021-07-12
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_39055, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 134.91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards