Save
Email
Print

Potato Skin Chips with Ranch and Crispy Bacon

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 30 min
  • Total: 45 min
  • Servings: 4
Rated 5/5 based on 28 customer reviews

Ingredients (5)

Steps (3)

  • Step 1
    Preheat the oven to 400°F. Place the bacon strips into a cold pan, and turn heat to medium. Cook until the fat has rendered into the pan and the bacon is crisp, turning as needed. Remove bacon to paper towels to drain, and reserve 2 tablespoons of the bacon fat. If you do not have enough for 2 tablespoons, supplement (or substitute entirely) with olive oil. Crumble bacon and set aside.
  • Step 2
    Meanwhile, peel the potatoes, making sure to have about 1/8-inch of potato flesh on each piece in addition to the peel. Set aside and cook potatoes separately as desired.
  • Step 3
    Spray a sheet pan with cooking spray or rub with oil. In a bowl, drizzle the potato skins with the bacon fat or oil and toss with the dressing mix until evenly coated. Spread out in an even layer on the baking sheet. Roast in the oven for about 20 minutes, tossing once or twice to prevent sticking, until crisp and browned. Sprinkle with crumbled bacon and serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Dressing for dipping.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.
    For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (18 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tasting Potato Skins The ranch added so much more flavor to the potato skins. I will be making this again on the weekend.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gimme some skin takes potato skins to a whole new level with the ranch!
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make a double batch! From kids to the adults I couldn't keep up with them!
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for party's They are good for get to togethers and party's. It's simple and tasty.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dang taters Just had the best tater skins at home i think im hooked for life.my kid will not stop eating them.
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good What a great way to use potatoes. Really easy. Sorry, but I used HVR Ranch with Bacon, for dipping. Of course, any HVR Ranch would have done.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavenly! These are by far my favorite way to eat potatoes now lol. My kids are obsessed with potato skins, so when I came across this recipe on HVR and saw it was their new revamped "take" on classic potato skins, and how they combined it with the word "chips"- i knew my kids would be sold! This was a few years back now and my kids haven't looked back since! They absolutely love when I make them this way. We love to add fresh chives, shredded cheese and sometimes sour cream too. Yum, they are so soooo good!
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing taste ! These are so good and great to make for parties , gam or movie night and just about anything else. Delicious !!
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pot skin/chips Oh my!! I LOVE, LOVE this recipe. First of all, it's super easy to prepare! I added chives along with the crispy bacon. It was a cross between a potato chip and potato skin. It really depends on how thick you make your skins.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy recipe! I love this recipe, except I like to use onions instead of bacon and olive oil instead of bacon grease! It's a wonderful recipe, do not be afraid to experiment!
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO tasty Made this recently and tastes amazing! add some parmasean and it's perfect
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crispy & delicious! So happy I tried this recipe! It's a great way to amp up your potato skins!
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potato skins Made backon other day so had my drippings, and bacon. Made for supper along with my porkchops. Yummm
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I love this recipe. It's delicious. I will make this every barbecue.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks so good I can't stop thinking about this dish. Looks very good.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potato skin chips This is to die for good. Been making these for years.
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Delicious !!!!! My family would really enjoy this....I would serve it with additional Hidden Valley Ranch dressing for dipping.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff Good stuff in this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crowd pleaser I tried this for a party and the crowd roared. Great as a side dish
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy These potato skins are the bomb! I added cheese to them though.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg It was the best nd I enjoyed it so much , thank you
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Delicious This recipe is easy to prepare and the Potato Skin Chips are so delicious!
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sounding recipe I would probably make this recipe but without the bacon. I am guessing you cut off most of the peel but not all of it in Step 2
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite My family absolutely loves this! And everytime I make it there is hardly any left a lot of the times there are none left and they ask for it a lot! It’s super easy to make that will go good with pretty much anything!
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love potato skins I haven't made this yet but I will just as soon as I find out that if in step 2, You mean First peel the potato or do you mean first slice the potato. It will be difficult to leave the peel on while they bake, if you peel it first..What say you?
Date published: 2018-03-08
  • y_2020, m_10, d_25, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_1153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 387.67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards