Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch Baked Quesadillas & Science Experiments for Kids

Ranch-filled 'dillas get a big thumbs up from kids and adults every time.

  • Prep Time 20 min
  • Cook Time 15 min
  • Servings 4

Ingredients (8)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (16)

  1. 1

    Preheat oven to 350°F.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Tortillas are made of flour (or corn), water and a little salt. That’s it. Many cultures around the world have some type of flatbread that is similar to the tortilla. In India, there’s “chapati” or “roti,” across the Middle east there’s “pita,” in eastern Europe there’s “lavash,” in Ethiopia there’s “injera” and the list goes on. Each region has a different version, but all are made to accompany other delicious foods on the table.

Teachable Moment

Bonus Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Lining a baking sheet with parchment paper is a game changer for clean up! You can also use a silicon sheet and wash each time. It’s so hard to keep a baking pan clean, lining it in something will preserve your pans life and make tidying at the end of the recipe a breeze.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2
    Little Kids:

    Put parchment on baking sheet and inspect all of the ingredients.

  2. 2
    Big Kids:

    Retrieve all the ingredients needed and set the table if eating when quesadillas are ready. Line the baking sheet and preheat the oven.

  3. 2
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Follow the recipe, you got this!

  4. 2

    Combine chicken, cheese, seasoning and chiles in medium bowl.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 3

    Use a spring-loaded ice cream scoop to divide the mixture into four equal parts. You can use an ice cream scoop to make all kinds of things perfectly uniform. Try making evenly-sized cookies using the tool to scoop dough (they’ll look like they came from a bakery!) or scoop mashed potatoes in a fancy way. What other foods would be perfect for an ice cream scoop?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 3
    Little Kids:

    Stir ingredients in a large bowl with mom’s help. Lay out the four tortillas on the counter, help mom scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  2. 3
    Big Kids:

    Stir ingredients and scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  3. 3
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Keep following that recipe!

  4. 3

    Divide meat mixture evenly between each tortilla; fold in half to seal. Place quesadillas on baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted. Garnish with salsa, dressing and guacamole, if desired.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    If a little cheese mixture escapes from the tortilla, that’s ok! Sometimes cooks do that on purpose, creating a hard, cheesy crisp known as “frico” in Italian. You can make frico as a base for toppings or to dip into hummus, ranch, salsa as a cheesy “chip.” Use the same technique as this recipe (parchment-lined pan and 350°F oven) and sprinkle a few 2- to 3-inch cheese piles. Bake for 5 to 7 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Allow to cool for 10 minutes until crispy.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little Kids:

    Check on quesadillas midway through bake time with the help of a parent.

  2. 4
    Big Kids:

    Help mom or dad put the quesadillas into the oven and check on quesadillas midway through cook time.

  3. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Finish up the recipe. Excellent work!

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(112 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

136 Reviews

4.7

recommend 94.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great twist on a quesdilla! This was easy and quick to make. Added a lot more flavor then your average chicken quesadilla.
Date published: 2021-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids love it I brought this made for me and my boys. I make it all the time for them.
Date published: 2021-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy ! So quick and easy to make. Always a great meal to make on a busy night.
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME So simple - easy and delicious :) Ranch Baked Quesadillas are a favorite and so quicck and easy to make
Date published: 2021-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! I added shredded chicken. Onions for me too. So good!
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and perfect This easiest way to satisfy your kids for the summer!
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quesadillas with a flare If I had young kids at home I'm sure they'd love these because I certainly did. Makes for a delicious lunch and dinner to add soup make it a meal.
Date published: 2021-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and easy Very fun and educational for my kids and super delicious we all loved them especially because they had fun making them
Date published: 2021-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love a good quesadilla recipe, and this one is super easy and tasty too. Love that it has tips for including the kids too.
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mmm mmm good Simple enough to make with the kiddies. And apparently super educational too! Delicious. Kid approved.
Date published: 2021-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for kids My kids loved helping make these and eating them. THey were so easy and delicious
Date published: 2021-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everyone loves them this was a easy recipe and fun for the whole family to make ... AND EAT... the kids loved it
Date published: 2021-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sublime food and a great time! Loved this whole approach to this traditional dish, much more fun than just nuking a tortilla w/ shred chedd!
Date published: 2021-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT This recipe was so easy to make and so flavorful. Delish
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious Everything is better with some ranch! Fun and quick snack or meal!
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe This recipe would be fun to make with your kids. This recipe is so simple that it was easy for my 7 year old to make.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so delicious! I've never had ranch flavored quesadillas before and I was delighted by how amazing these turned out!!
Date published: 2021-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum Super great. Love the Kim with the ranch flavors. Super great
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy This dish was so easy to make. Makes a great week night dinner. It is so full of flavor. All of the kids and the husband approved!
Date published: 2021-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Made this for a Mexican themed Birthday party & everyone gobbled them up & wanted my recipe !
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quesadillas overload I am so glad I saw this recipe! Everyone in the family loved it
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy I have the quesadilla maker machine so it's really nice to make these and put them on the machine and they turned out fantastically wonderful
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and simple dinner and delicious my family loved it
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peasy! Very easy to put together. My family loved it. I used store bought rotisserie chicken for a faster set up
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Delicious Made this a couple nights ago, it’s a quick and simple meal that everyone loved, even my five year old nephew who eats next to nothing enjoyed it.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! This is my go to for a quick simple meal, just add chips & salsa to the menu and you have a delicious meal!
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Great ! This recipe was so easy to make and so flavorful I will make it again and have passed it on to some of my family members.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy My entire family enjoyed this tasty recipe. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Valley - Ranch Baked Quesdillas Cinco de Mayo was yesterday. I looked in the HV recipes and found baked Quesadillas. Using my ranch shaker added so much flavor for the celebration.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect quesadillas every Time Since we found this recipe it is all we use. So simple but so delicious. We have a house of all ages and every1 loves these!
Date published: 2020-01-21
  • y_2021, m_12, d_2, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_198, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 89.84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards