Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

How to Make a Ranch Cheese Quesadilla for Kids

Now you can show your kids how exciting science can be. Our How to Make Ranch Quesadillas for Kids guide makes learning a blast, with a dish that's as fun to make as it is to eat. It's a quick and easy quesadilla recipe that combines two of our favorite things: the taste of Hidden Valley Ranch and the magic of science!

  • Prep Time 20 min
  • Cook Time 15 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (8)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (16)

  1. 1

    Preheat oven to 350°F.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Tortillas are made of flour (or corn), water and a little salt. That’s it. Many cultures around the world have some type of flatbread that is similar to the tortilla. In India, there’s “chapati” or “roti,” across the Middle east there’s “pita,” in eastern Europe there’s “lavash,” in Ethiopia there’s “injera” and the list goes on. Each region has a different version, but all are made to accompany other delicious foods on the table.

Teachable Moment

Bonus Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Lining a baking sheet with parchment paper is a game changer for clean up! You can also use a silicon sheet and wash each time. It’s so hard to keep a baking pan clean, lining it in something will preserve your pans life and make tidying at the end of the recipe a breeze.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2
    Little Kids:

    Put parchment on baking sheet and inspect all of the ingredients.

  2. 2
    Big Kids:

    Retrieve all the ingredients needed and set the table if eating when quesadillas are ready. Line the baking sheet and preheat the oven.

  3. 2
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Follow the recipe, you got this!

  4. 2

    Combine chicken, cheese, seasoning and chiles in medium bowl.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 3

    Use a spring-loaded ice cream scoop to divide the mixture into four equal parts. You can use an ice cream scoop to make all kinds of things perfectly uniform. Try making evenly-sized cookies using the tool to scoop dough (they’ll look like they came from a bakery!) or scoop mashed potatoes in a fancy way. What other foods would be perfect for an ice cream scoop?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 3
    Little Kids:

    Stir ingredients in a large bowl with mom’s help. Lay out the four tortillas on the counter, help mom scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  2. 3
    Big Kids:

    Stir ingredients and scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  3. 3
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Keep following that recipe!

  4. 3

    Divide meat mixture evenly between each tortilla; fold in half to seal. Place quesadillas on baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted. Garnish with salsa, dressing and guacamole, if desired.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    If a little cheese mixture escapes from the tortilla, that’s ok! Sometimes cooks do that on purpose, creating a hard, cheesy crisp known as “frico” in Italian. You can make frico as a base for toppings or to dip into hummus, ranch, salsa as a cheesy “chip.” Use the same technique as this recipe (parchment-lined pan and 350°F oven) and sprinkle a few 2- to 3-inch cheese piles. Bake for 5 to 7 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Allow to cool for 10 minutes until crispy.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little Kids:

    Check on quesadillas midway through bake time with the help of a parent.

  2. 4
    Big Kids:

    Help mom or dad put the quesadillas into the oven and check on quesadillas midway through cook time.

  3. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Finish up the recipe. Excellent work!

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(131 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

155 Reviews

4.7

recommend 94.2% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I substituted: 1/2 packet Hidden Valley Dressing MIX (for the H.V. dressing) 1 lb cooked Hamburger meat (for chicken or beef) and added: 1/2 packet Taco Seasoning Mix This is definitely a keeper in our home!!!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and great tasting This one is easy and great tasting and my family enjoyed it
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplistic This easy to prepare meal is loved by all. You can easily add or take out ingredients according to what your family loves. And best of all it's delicious.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy, tasty, needs tweaking depending on audience Easy to make, kid-friendly. It is a good base recipe, and it can be tweaked to make it more adult oriented. My kids didn’t like the chilies, but I found them tasty in it. The ranch gives a little extra pop. I’ve found that if you set it up “buffet/bar style” with an assortment of toppings, adults and kids alike enjoy this recipe more and can customize it to their taste buds. Buffet style makes it a more fun and interactive dish that lets the kids explore tastes and their culinary craft.
Date published: 2022-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy This was so easy, the kids loved helping and eating them.
Date published: 2022-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch naked quesadillas Grandkids enjoyed making, baking and eating these!
Date published: 2022-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for beginners and families I lived this recipe as it was easy to read the ingredients were cheap and simple and it didn’t require a lot of cook time! I loved that it gave directions for little ones to get involved in the kitchen as well.
Date published: 2022-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Good! Very easy prep, cook time and clean up! Awesome Ranch Quesadillas! Tyvm HVR for the recipe!
Date published: 2022-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Quick and Tasty I tried this recipe a week ago. I have made quesadillas before but the HVR flavor was off the chart
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super easy big hit with the family since this is the type of food that is enjoyed the most
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from kid friendly Made this when my grandchildren were on spring. They loved it.
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous recipe for kids/and adults, yum! After making this HVR Ranch Baked Quesadillas I will never go back to making Quesadillas without HVR seasoning! My grandchildren absolutely loved these Quesadillas and both boys can be quite picky eaters. Finger friendly and the kids love being a part of bot prep and ingredient options. This recipe is a must try for people with lil ones, just yum!
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Appetizer Made these ranch baked quesadillas for an appetizer last week and they were a big hit!
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great FLAVOR and TASTE This was an EASY RECIPE for Kids of all ages. They really Enjoyed helping make this. Most of All Eating the Quesadillas.
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Baked Quesadillas These are so easy to make and taste great, I make them for lunch and snack time!
Date published: 2022-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch baked quesadillas What a fun, great recipe. The kids loved helping and was yummy. We'll be making more
Date published: 2022-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Easy recipe, it was a hit with the family Would definitely make this again
Date published: 2022-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new twist on quesadilla An upscale version for quesadillas when I need something new for the kids.
Date published: 2022-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple I use this as a quick go to for the whole family not just kids It's so good an d easy to make I ea t it regularly. I even e ex switch it up to spicy sometimes
Date published: 2021-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll have what you're having These quesadillas were very good. They're easy to make and customizable, so you can change up the filling with whatever you want.
Date published: 2021-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super delicious So easy and clean up is a breeze. A Saturday night special at our home.
Date published: 2021-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family time Everyone got to make their own and we made lots. kept eating
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kids love these We had a fun night making these and everyone helped out so it was great to help teach kids cooking and safety in the kitchen, plus it was delicious and they can be customized for each person.
Date published: 2021-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great twist on a quesdilla! This was easy and quick to make. Added a lot more flavor then your average chicken quesadilla.
Date published: 2021-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids love it I brought this made for me and my boys. I make it all the time for them.
Date published: 2021-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy ! So quick and easy to make. Always a great meal to make on a busy night.
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME So simple - easy and delicious :) Ranch Baked Quesadillas are a favorite and so quicck and easy to make
Date published: 2021-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! I added shredded chicken. Onions for me too. So good!
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and perfect This easiest way to satisfy your kids for the summer!
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quesadillas with a flare If I had young kids at home I'm sure they'd love these because I certainly did. Makes for a delicious lunch and dinner to add soup make it a meal.
Date published: 2021-06-10
  • y_2022, m_7, d_3, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_120
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_198, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 119.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards