Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

How to Make a Ranch Cheese Quesadilla for Kids

Now you can show your kids how exciting science can be. Our How to Make Ranch Quesadillas for Kids guide makes learning a blast, with a dish that's as fun to make as it is to eat. It's a quick and easy quesadilla recipe that combines two of our favorite things: the taste of Hidden Valley Ranch and the magic of science!

  • Prep Time 20 min
  • Cook Time 15 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (8)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (16)

  1. 1

    Preheat oven to 350°F.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Tortillas are made of flour (or corn), water and a little salt. That’s it. Many cultures around the world have some type of flatbread that is similar to the tortilla. In India, there’s “chapati" or “roti," across the Middle east there’s “pita," in eastern Europe there’s “lavash," in Ethiopia there’s “injera" and the list goes on. Each region has a different version, but all are made to accompany other delicious foods on the table.

Teachable Moment

Bonus Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Lining a baking sheet with parchment paper is a game changer for clean up! You can also use a silicon sheet and wash each time. It’s so hard to keep a baking pan clean, lining it in something will preserve your pans life and make tidying at the end of the recipe a breeze.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2
    Little Kids:

    Put parchment on baking sheet and inspect all of the ingredients.

  2. 2
    Big Kids:

    Retrieve all the ingredients needed and set the table if eating when quesadillas are ready. Line the baking sheet and preheat the oven.

  3. 2
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Follow the recipe, you got this!

  4. 2

    Combine chicken, cheese, seasoning and chiles in medium bowl.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 3

    Use a spring-loaded ice cream scoop to divide the mixture into four equal parts. You can use an ice cream scoop to make all kinds of things perfectly uniform. Try making evenly-sized cookies using the tool to scoop dough (they’ll look like they came from a bakery!) or scoop mashed potatoes in a fancy way. What other foods would be perfect for an ice cream scoop?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 3
    Little Kids:

    Stir ingredients in a large bowl with mom’s help. Lay out the four tortillas on the counter, help mom scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  2. 3
    Big Kids:

    Stir ingredients and scoop mixture onto each tortilla and fold in half.

  3. 3
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Keep following that recipe!

  4. 3

    Divide meat mixture evenly between each tortilla; fold in half to seal. Place quesadillas on baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted. Garnish with salsa, dressing and guacamole, if desired.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    If a little cheese mixture escapes from the tortilla, that’s ok! Sometimes cooks do that on purpose, creating a hard, cheesy crisp known as “frico" in Italian. You can make frico as a base for toppings or to dip into hummus, ranch, salsa as a cheesy “chip." Use the same technique as this recipe (parchment-lined pan and 350°F oven) and sprinkle a few 2- to 3-inch cheese piles. Bake for 5 to 7 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Allow to cool for 10 minutes until crispy.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little Kids:

    Check on quesadillas midway through bake time with the help of a parent.

  2. 4
    Big Kids:

    Help mom or dad put the quesadillas into the oven and check on quesadillas midway through cook time.

  3. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Finish up the recipe. Excellent work!

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(165 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

196 Reviews

4.7

recommend 90.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I substituted: 1/2 packet Hidden Valley Dressing MIX (for the H.V. dressing) 1 lb cooked Hamburger meat (for chicken or beef) and added: 1/2 packet Taco Seasoning Mix This is definitely a keeper in our home!!!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and great tasting This one is easy and great tasting and my family enjoyed it
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplistic This easy to prepare meal is loved by all. You can easily add or take out ingredients according to what your family loves. And best of all it's delicious.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Will Love Quick and easy to make and everyone will like it - that's what I'd call a perfect meal.
Date published: 2024-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different sandwich idea So simple & easy. I always have flour tortillas on hand and like finding new ways to use them.
Date published: 2024-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUPER TASTEY This is very good! I made it for my younger sister and made it with chicken and we took out the Chilies because she is such a picky eater! lol. I loved this too.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great after school snack Was really good but would have rather pan fried. I know it’s a baked recipe but my kid likes the crispness it gets in the pan with butter. I did try spraying with oil but he likes it better when pan fried 😂 no watch I’ll make ig pan fried and he will want it baked 🤦 great easy recipe for right after school
Date published: 2024-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family recipe. These are my favorite recipes. Where kiddos can be involved in making meals.. it's good for them and the entire family gets to spend time making a meal that's easy peasey lemon squeezy! Very easy to make and delicious!
Date published: 2024-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS!! THIS EASY TO MAKE FAMILY FAVORITE RECIPE THAT IS AFFORDABLE AND EASY TO MAKE FOR THE ENITRE FAMILY IS SO DELICIOUS!! WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!
Date published: 2024-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun was had by all This was good and my grandkids really liked making them. We had fun in the kitchen!
Date published: 2024-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KIDS COOKING FOR MOMMY MY KIDS WERE SO PROUD TO COOK RANCH(AIR FRIED) QUESADILLAS FOR OUR FAMILY MOVIE NIGHT! THEY USED MY RANCH TACO VEGGIE BURGER MIX & IT WAS DELICIOUS
Date published: 2024-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch makes a difference! I've made my share of quesadias , weather it's chese or chicken and cheese, UT adding ranch to the equation made it 20 times better! It wasn't so dry tasting and gave ot more of a feista for my taste buds!
Date published: 2024-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 thumbs up My Grandbabies are picky eaters. They do love ranch!! So I tried these and they ate not only one but two.
Date published: 2024-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quesofun This was easy to make and fun to get the kids involved.
Date published: 2024-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Recipe Looks tasty. I like this Quesadillas recipe. It is helpful in creating a great family night dish.
Date published: 2023-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Spin on an Old Standy The added zip that you get from the ranch makes this a whole new dish that people rave about!
Date published: 2023-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesomeness awesomeness. Who doesn't love a little ranch dressing?
Date published: 2023-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from delicious really delicious... my kid loved it.. worth a make
Date published: 2023-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids favorite This is my go-to recipe for ranch baked quesadillas. Even the pickiest of kids eat it!
Date published: 2023-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids love it The kids loved this quesadilla and we will be making them again.
Date published: 2023-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grandbabies pleaser. I had my grandbabies for a weekend, so what better way to make memories by cooking. I gave each one a part in making the ranch baked quesadillas. I was lots of fun and delicious too.
Date published: 2023-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe I was able to recently make this recipe and I loved it's delicious taste. Its quick and easy to prepare and all the family enjoys it.
Date published: 2023-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy family pleaser! We have this at least once a week. We can eat them together or on the go. Easy prep easy cleanup!
Date published: 2023-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Made this for the family and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely worth a try.
Date published: 2023-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Quesadilla! This is a delicious Quesadilla I would love to make some fresh picodegayo and add some hidden valley ranch to go with it yummy!
Date published: 2023-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun With My Grands This is going to be a very fun recipe to make with my grandbabies!! The next time I have them for an over night visit we are definitely going to make this!!
Date published: 2023-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection My kids love quesadillas and this is a new family favorite!
Date published: 2023-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grandkids loved This was so much fun making these with my grandkids. They enjoyed personalizing their own. Great idea!
Date published: 2023-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the little ones my kids are obsessed with this quesadilla as an afternoon snack
Date published: 2023-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love them My grandkids ate them all up and asked for more great recipe 😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋
Date published: 2023-02-12
  • y_2024, m_7, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_38, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_198, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 185.19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules