Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch Smash Burgers

From Connecticut to California and everywhere in between, burgers are undoubtedly one of America’s most iconic foods. Though everyone has their favorite recipe, we’ve pulled this one into the 21st century as a trendy (for good reason) crispy-edged smash burger, oozing with cheese, caramelized onions and a double hit of Hidden Valley flavor.

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 25 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (9)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (5)

  1. 1

    Divide the hamburger meat into 8 balls. Place each ball between two sheets of plastic wrap. Smash with the bottom of a pan to make even thin patties about ½-inch wider than your bun. Refrigerate wrapped patties for at least 10 minutes while you prepare everything else.

  2. 2

    To make the onions, heat the oil in a medium sauté pan over medium heat. Add the diced onions to the pan and season with salt, then sauté for about 8–10 minutes or until caramelized.

  3. 3

    Brush a cast iron pan or large skillet with olive oil, and place over medium high heat. Season both sides of two patties with the ranch seasoning mix and place 2 at a time in the pan.

  4. 4

    Sear for about 1–2 minutes and flip over; as soon as you flip the patty over, place a slice of the cheese on the patty to melt, and cook another 1–2 minutes. Remove, and repeat with remaining burgers.

  5. 5

    To assemble, place some shredded lettuce on the bottom of each bun.  Stack two burger patties on top of each other on top of the lettuce; then add a spoonful of the caramelized onions on top. Drizzle some ranch over everything and place the top of the buns onto the burgers. Serve immediately.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch For the first recipe in our Ranch Across America series, we’re choosing a true American classic, the Ranch Smash burger. People love a good burger - especially with a double dose of ranch. #RanchAcrossAmerica #rRanchNight #Ranch #Burger ♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(54 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

45 Reviews

4.8

recommend 93.3% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this So quick and yummy. Very quick and easy dinner night.
Date published: 2022-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great outdoor I love this recipe simple easy to make and delicious for everyone
Date published: 2022-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy! This is the perfect summer meal!! So easy to make and delicious.
Date published: 2022-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was delicious! We both really enjoyed it. <3 <3 <3
Date published: 2022-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Smashing! Lul Smash burgers are really good and also easy. I like to use wax paper and dinner plates to Smash instead.. Awesome recipe! Very cool!
Date published: 2022-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy savory I just made this today after looking up some recipes… Taste was amazing. So savory and delicious. The ranch really adds that extra bang.
Date published: 2022-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crowd pleaser I made these HVR Ranch Smash Burgers tonight and both my family and friends really enjoyed the hint of ranch along with the melted, gooey cheddar. Easy recipe and something I will definitely make again!
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flavorful Burgers Made these Ranch Smash Burgers the other night, but made them into little sliders. They were tasty!
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ranch Burgers I used the hidden valley ranch dressing mix to make ranch smash burgers and my entire family loves them so much we have a smash burgers Thursday night now every week I love it
Date published: 2022-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll take all the Burgers These burgers were really smashing! Great flavor and really easy to make.
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Anyone say pickles My son loves pickles and this has all the flavor of picles.
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heaven! Heaven on earth! We smash these burgers over the summer! They’re so tasty and easy to make. Only thing is they could be a little juicier maybe by adding some more hvr dressing !
Date published: 2022-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smashed!!! My kids loved them!! Will definitely be making again.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a smash hit! While we may hold the onions, this burger was still a smash hit! Love the extra flavor olive oil brings to the burger!
Date published: 2022-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Smash Burgers My family and I made these delicious burgers by using hidden valley products for movie night. They were a hit.
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food My whole family luv these smashed hamburgers they were just great with taste and flavor will make these again
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burgers Love a good burger! These Ranch Smash Burgers are the best. Quick ,easy supper and delicious.
Date published: 2022-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so good! Love the thin patties in the video, doesn't make a mess of the burger and just as filling. Ranch burgers are the best!
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy game night These were another easy game night favorite. Easy to make and very good
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new addition to my burger recipes Great taste, easy prep. I personally do not eat the bun, but my family does and loves it all!
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mouth watering These are hands down the most amazingly flavorful burgers I have ever made or even tried
Date published: 2022-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great FLAVOR and TASTE What a way to KICK UP FLAVOR to an Ordinary hamburger. Everyone wants SECONDS.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good This looks just as good as it tastes! Easy to make following the recipe. This is a family favorite.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Now this is a burger. Wow give this one a try. So so so good
Date published: 2022-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HV- Ranch Smash Burgers Now, I understand how to make a smashed burger. Double cheese burger with sauteed onions. Great burgers.
Date published: 2022-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Good Burger We had these last night and everybody asked for more.
Date published: 2022-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boys love it Tried this for the boys after a game night, and it was a hit
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make This is great for the weekends. I love Burgers with cheese and it was easy to make. Great for lunch!
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty with or without substitutions Easy recipe. Tastes great. For a healthier version, I substituted ground Turkey and shredded zucchini. You could do avocado and grated parm too
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smash away We always make smash burgers but using HVR powder took them to a new level delishious
Date published: 2022-03-10
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_43023, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 264.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards