Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch Clam Chowder

West Coast seafood enthusiasts love clam chowder not only because it’s the perfect way to warm up on a foggy San Francisco day — most often along coastal Fisherman’s Wharf — but because this recipe is served inside the crusty sourdough bread bowls that made the soup a Bay Area signature. We don’t recommend it any other way. 

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 30 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (11)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Place the bacon in a medium pot and turn the heat to medium. Cook the bacon until it’s beginning to crisp, about 5 minutes. Add the onions and season with a little bit of salt and fresh black pepper. Cook, stirring, until the onions are softened, about 5–6 minutes.

  2. 2

    Sprinkle flour and ranch seasoning mix into the pot. Cook, stirring frequently, for 1 minute. Pour in the strained clam juice from the can, 2 bottles clam juice and chicken broth.

  3. 3

    Add the potatoes and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally while scraping the bottom and sides of the pan. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

  4. 4

    Stir in the drained clams and cream and bring back to a simmer. Taste and add salt, if needed.  Serve hot, garnished with chopped parsley.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(42 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

33 Reviews

4.8

recommend 90.9% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from New England Clam Chowder, So Good! Wanted something comforting on a a cold day.This recipe was so easy to make and so good. Will definitely make again, everyone enjoyed!
Date published: 2022-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than New England Easy to make, has excellent flavor, and the bread bowl puts is over the top
Date published: 2022-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Easy Too! This recipe was very easy and absolutely delicious! Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2022-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Made on a whim for dinner with a small side salad. My husband loved it and so did I. Simple, quick, easy to make. It’s a hit.
Date published: 2022-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor Absolutely enjoyed this. Clam chowder was already good and this made it better.
Date published: 2022-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum I love clam chowder and this one was so good and easy to make
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum!!!!!! I am such a huge soup eater and I swear I could live on soup and soup alone..And if it was only this hidden valley ranch clam chowder then I'm smiling from ear to ear!
Date published: 2022-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expected I should start by saying that I’m not a clam chowder fan. Everyone in my family is though, which is how I came to make this dish. Thinking of making clam chowder, I instantly think that it’s a difficult dish to create. I’m not sure whether that assumption is true or not; however, I can state that this recipe (first clam chowder I’ve personally ever made) was relatively easy to prepare and make. I’m still rather new when it comes to cooking, meaning my skill level isn’t anything advanced. In turn, for me to feel a recipe is easy to follow and create, it is probably a breeze for most other cooks As for taste and coming from someone who doesn’t particularly enjoy this dish, it was rather delightful! I found that the ranch adds a nice flavor to the chowder, without being too overwhelming and still being able to taste the flavorful clams. I think the flavors actually work very well together, which I didn’t expect. This clam chowder recipe didn’t make me a lover of clam chowder…but it did get me to eat more than one bite. As for my family, well, even the kids were licking their bowls clean!
Date published: 2022-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised how easy This is so easy and fun to make. It’s a great little recipe to make.
Date published: 2022-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clam dip Made this over the holiday, ran out twice, so I guess it was a hit!
Date published: 2022-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chowder bowl This is the best clam chowder it is a family hit,it’s tasty and warm for the winter
Date published: 2022-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decadent soup Love this recipe but I would sub out the clams for shrimp
Date published: 2022-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good This recipe is easy to make and good for the whole family.
Date published: 2022-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Not a regular class chowder eater but this recipe was soo good! I even got the kids to eat. Thanks for the recipe!
Date published: 2022-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great clamps chowder The perfect recipe for a rainy cool night. My husband loves clam chowder and this was a hit!
Date published: 2022-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yessssss!!!! This recipe I was initially skeptical about , but it is actually really good so impressed with this one :)
Date published: 2022-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Winter Fun Made this during the winter for my husband. He just couldn't get enough of it.
Date published: 2022-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Clam Chowder Easy, delicious soup, perfect for a rainy day! Didn't put in bread bowl but had French toast as a side!! Yummy!
Date published: 2022-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clam ranch chowder Great chowder the Hidden valley ranch gave it a pop .I used fresh class and cream but can use canned
Date published: 2022-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicious creamy and easy to make! I made this and now I'm addicted to the chowder!much cheaper and better tasting than restaurant version nearby!
Date published: 2022-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Clam Chowder Delicious This recipe is so good we love it, the bread bowl makes a delicious meal.
Date published: 2022-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great FLAVOR and TASTE This Clam Chowder Recipe was the BEST HOMEMADE SOUP I have made yet. Adding HIDDEN VALLEY MIX Enhanced the Flavor.
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV-Ranch Clam Chowder Nice presentation. Good warm soup to share in the bread bowl.
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This is a must make chowder. You will not be disappointed
Date published: 2022-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM! I love this combo! So delicious. What could be better than Clam Chowder with Ranch?
Date published: 2022-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW I seen this recipe get added to the website today and went right to the market to get some potatoes and clams & I'm so glad i did! I'm a sucker for Clam chowder and this recipe did not disappoint whatsoever. The ranch mix really takes the flavor profile up to a whole new level! Very tasty!
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch chowder What is not good without ranch. This is a must make chowder. You will make always!
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chowder I love a good Chowder and this recipe is to die for! Clam Chowder A La Ranch version is super hearty and delicious
Date published: 2022-04-11
  • y_2023, m_1, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_43101, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 264.14ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards