Spicy Cheesy Chicken Taquitos

  • Prep: 25 min
  • Cook: 15 min
  • Total: 40 min
  • Servings: 6
Rated 4.7727/5 based on 22 customer reviews
There's no recipe that can't be made better by a ramekin full of ranch.
Recipe courtesy of The Chew

Ingredients (15)

  • olive oil cooking spray
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • ½ small red onion (peeled, finely chopped)
  • 2 cloves garlic (peeled, finely chopped)
  • 1 jalapeño (seeded, finely chopped)
  • teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne
  • 2 cups rotisserie chicken (skin removed, shredded)
  • 1 lime (juiced)
  • 1/3 cup cream cheese (softened)
  • 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese (shredded)
  • small (6-inch, if possible) flour tortillas
  • 12–14 Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste)

Steps (5)

  • Step 1
    Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with olive oil cooking spray.
  • Step 2
    Place a large sauté pan over medium heat and add olive oil. Add onion and cook until tender, about 6 minutes. Add garlic and jalapeño and cook another 2 minutes. Add chili powder, cumin, cayenne and allow to toast for 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from the stove and allow to cool completely.
  • Step 3
    In a large bowl add the cooled onion mixture, chicken, lime, cream cheese and Monterey Jack cheese and mix to combine. Season with salt and pepper.
  • Step 4
    Working with one tortilla at a time, place about 2 tablespoons of the chicken mixture at the bottom of the tortilla and roll to close. Place seam-side down on the baking sheet, spray the top with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt. Repeat with remaining filling and tortillas.
  • Step 5
    Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown and filling is warmed through. Remove from the oven, garnish with cilantro leaves and serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Dressing to serve.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Reviews
(22)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TASTY so easy, so much flavor, very good, like to use sour cream and the ranch mix for dipping
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy It was good. Added green chili and it was perfect.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from taquitos very good.A little spicy.Not good for small children.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cheesy chicken taquitos so easy to make and taste great..will make again. would be great for a football party snack
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from they were much easier than i expected ease of prep, execution and full of flavor!! surprisingly simple
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from yum Thus is a keeper. Followed directions first time and second time added some spices of my own. YUM
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great flavors This is a great party idea made them for a birthday party big hit.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good one Makes a great dipping sauce for pizza, tacos, or anything else that needs to be dipped
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choices for cinco de mayo The best recipe and great appetizer :) ;D :);):$ :)
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty! Best recipe for our Cinco De Mayo Party! The flavor was amazing and it was simple to make!
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy These look soooo easy to make and look so good.Fills u up.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep South Cajun style!! Yummy.. OMG..We've been making these for years... We substitute chicken, with beef and or Turkey..depending on what holiday is closest..for example to use our extra Turkey.. We also use several different Ranch flavors..the children love it.. I also sub.the Jal.Peppers for 1 tsp of Jal. Sweet Jelly. We don't use white salt on anything ever.. We use..Tony's Seasoning..we use it to taste..it is so so good.. this also cuts out the use of pepper...it's a two for one kind of thing. We love to use all different kinds of cheese,onion. We have TRUELY never found a Ranch that we don't like.. love...
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Snack I made these last week using homemade corn tortillas. They were excellent! My kids dipped in their favorite original hidden valley ranch and I spiced my ranch up using chili powder, cumin, and a touch of cayenne pepper.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good! Easy, and Amazing! I always add my own ingredients to everything tho
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy, crunchy! I love, love taquitos! this recipe is the best...but, what recipe isn't the best when you use Hidden Valley Ranch!!!
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for family movie night snack great for part of an all finger food snacking meal
Date published: 2018-04-05
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_16694, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 97.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Picked Just For You

See all recipes