Save
Email
Print

Spicy Ranch Spatchcocked Chicken
Keto Friendly

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 40 min
  • Total: 55 min
  • Servings: 4

“Spatchcocking” is a fancy way of saying “Mmmmm!” This easy chicken recipe reveals a world of flavor served up by Hidden Valley® Ranch Seasoning and a simple roasting technique made famous by culinary greats. This HVR go-to is perfect for a weeknight meal or to round out a weekend feast.

See more Keto-Friendly recipes here.

Rated 4.8049/5 based on 41 customer reviews

Ingredients (3)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1

    Preheat the oven to 375°F and lay chicken breast-side down on a cutting board. Using sharp kitchen shears, cut the backbone out of the chicken by cutting along both sides of the backbone.

  • Step 2

    Make a small slit in the cartilage at the bottom end of the breast bones (it covers the dark keel bone underneath). With both hands placed on the rib cage, crack open the chicken by opening it like a book, toward the cutting board (this will reveal the keel bone). Run your fingers up along either side of the cartilage in between the breasts to loosen it from the flesh and pull up the keel bone to remove it, along with the attached cartilage. (Alternatively, ask your butcher to spatchcock the chicken for you!)

  • Step 3

    Dry the chicken really well and season evenly with the spicy seasoning mix. Place skin side up on a sheet tray.

  • Step 4

    Drizzle the chicken with olive oil and roast for about 40–45 minutes or until a thermometer inserted into the thigh of the chicken reads 165°F (tent with foil if the skin starts to get too dark). Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (40 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing We have enjoyed this chicken and was a big hit in family dinner table.
Date published: 2021-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something NEW I made this chicken atop a pile of potatoes. I needed to finish the potatoes after removing the chicken to rest, so they could brown. It was great and easy, and cleanup was also easy
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We call this one sexy chicken The chicken cooks faster this way and just looks better too....sexy chicken. Great flavor ,
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family meal This is a great family meal to share. The chicken has a good taste in every bite.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secret Spice that say's--hmm--good!! A little butter and some Spicy Ranch, plus a spatchcocked chicken--what a time saver and the crispy, tasty skin and juice chicken are always a hit. Add some regular Ranch dressing to some mashed potatoes served alongside--a favorit veggie--and it's awesome.
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature I brought the sips last week the aged cheddar and. Range dips. Sorry H.V i don't like the dips
Date published: 2021-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy Such a great reciepe! This is great for a anniversary or date night in.
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make I made this to put on the grill. How delicious and juicy. So easy to make everybody should make this.
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum!! This recipe was super easy to follow and spatchcocking a chicken couldn't be easier, do not be intimidated by it..just follow the instructions and you're done!! We absolutely loved this recipe this chicken was so moist, tender and flavorful..you have to make this!!
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from chicken wow Love to spatchcock a chicken, it's the easiest way to cook it and this recipe looks great...
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good idea Started spatchoking turkey 3 years ago - grandkids love all pieces of chicken so this is perfect (I should have thought of it). Of course Rach makes it even better.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great choice for a family meal I enjoyed this for dinner. My family loves spicy food and this was great to taste. I thought that the flavor was great,but not too strong. I enjoyed eat this chicken with a salad,but it did not go well.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly Spiced I made this for dinner tonight and my family and they loved it down to the last bite. it was tender and perfectly spiced.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just enough SPICE! We made this for dinner tonight and it was amazing!! My family absolutely LOVED IT! It had just the right amount of SPICE, not to little or to much, and it was tender, juicy and DELICIOUS!!
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yumm We made this for dinner and it was a hit, not to spicy.It was very tender and juicy. Would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my first chicken i am confident in making my own chicken thanks to this recipe
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy This is easy and delicious. I use kitchen shears to spatchcock the chicken.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good this is good very tasty i would make this again easy to make also
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it So simple, easy, tasty , and absolutely delicious!
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from kickin' chicken it is good if you like a little kick for your chicken. you can moderate the hotness
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dinner in a snap This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dinner I loved it. Anything with Ranch dressing is great.
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dish This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks delicious! This Spicy Ranch Spatchcocked Chicken recipe looks and sounds so delicious! I'll be making this tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meal with friends Looking for a great meal to have with friends then try this resp. ❗
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Spicy Ranch SpatchCooked Chicken Beautiful golden brown and a juicy fully cooked chicken. Ranch is the way!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loves it My entire family devoured this chicken! It was so good!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tasting We made this tonight. The kids loved it but for me it was a lil spicy
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! This was a new recipe for our family, everyone loved it- will make it again!
Date published: 2020-11-01
  • y_2021, m_4, d_9, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_32219, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 91.55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards