Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Spicy Ranch Spatchcocked Chicken

“Spatchcocking” is a fancy way of saying “Mmmmm!” This easy chicken recipe reveals a world of flavor served up by Hidden Valley® Ranch Seasoning and a simple roasting technique made famous by culinary greats. This HVR go-to is perfect for a weeknight meal or to round out a weekend feast.

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 40 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 375°F and lay chicken breast-side down on a cutting board. Using sharp kitchen shears, cut the backbone out of the chicken by cutting along both sides of the backbone.

  2. 2

    Make a small slit in the cartilage at the bottom end of the breast bones (it covers the dark keel bone underneath). With both hands placed on the rib cage, crack open the chicken by opening it like a book, toward the cutting board (this will reveal the keel bone). Run your fingers up along either side of the cartilage in between the breasts to loosen it from the flesh and pull up the keel bone to remove it, along with the attached cartilage. (Alternatively, ask your butcher to spatchcock the chicken for you!)

  3. 3

    Dry the chicken really well and season evenly with the spicy seasoning mix. Place skin side up on a sheet tray.

  4. 4

    Drizzle the chicken with olive oil and roast for about 40–45 minutes or until a thermometer inserted into the thigh of the chicken reads 165°F (tent with foil if the skin starts to get too dark). Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(57 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

49 Reviews

4.8

recommend 79.6% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to make a whole chicken Best way to make a whole chicken is to spatchcock. Cooks faster and more evenly. Adding ranch makes it even better.
Date published: 2021-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick chick Love this way of cooking chicken it cooks the chicken m uch faster then the conventional way
Date published: 2021-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good Am not a big fan of this spice but the chicken was was excellent.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great So good with just the right amount of spice. The taste is amazing
Date published: 2021-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HVR maximizes chicken This makes a chicken dinner both tasty and impressive/a change of pace!
Date published: 2021-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only 3 ingredients Only 3 ingredients and it is so delicious. Very easy to make as well
Date published: 2021-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spicy chicken Flavorful spicy chicken dish with the added zing of hidden valley ranch.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good. I actually used a turkey breast instead of the chicken. It was so flavorful and moist
Date published: 2021-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SPICY RANCH SPATCHCOCKED CHICKEN My family loves this chicken. Crispy and juicy. no leftovers.
Date published: 2021-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from on the menu Tried this for dinner. My boyfriend loved it. I not one for spicy food but thought I would give it a whirl. Boyfriend loved it. too spicy for me
Date published: 2021-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing We have enjoyed this chicken and was a big hit in family dinner table.
Date published: 2021-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something NEW I made this chicken atop a pile of potatoes. I needed to finish the potatoes after removing the chicken to rest, so they could brown. It was great and easy, and cleanup was also easy
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We call this one sexy chicken The chicken cooks faster this way and just looks better too....sexy chicken. Great flavor ,
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family meal This is a great family meal to share. The chicken has a good taste in every bite.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secret Spice that say's--hmm--good!! A little butter and some Spicy Ranch, plus a spatchcocked chicken--what a time saver and the crispy, tasty skin and juice chicken are always a hit. Add some regular Ranch dressing to some mashed potatoes served alongside--a favorit veggie--and it's awesome.
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature I brought the sips last week the aged cheddar and. Range dips. Sorry H.V i don't like the dips
Date published: 2021-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy Such a great reciepe! This is great for a anniversary or date night in.
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make I made this to put on the grill. How delicious and juicy. So easy to make everybody should make this.
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum!! This recipe was super easy to follow and spatchcocking a chicken couldn't be easier, do not be intimidated by it..just follow the instructions and you're done!! We absolutely loved this recipe this chicken was so moist, tender and flavorful..you have to make this!!
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from chicken wow Love to spatchcock a chicken, it's the easiest way to cook it and this recipe looks great...
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good idea Started spatchoking turkey 3 years ago - grandkids love all pieces of chicken so this is perfect (I should have thought of it). Of course Rach makes it even better.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great choice for a family meal I enjoyed this for dinner. My family loves spicy food and this was great to taste. I thought that the flavor was great,but not too strong. I enjoyed eat this chicken with a salad,but it did not go well.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly Spiced I made this for dinner tonight and my family and they loved it down to the last bite. it was tender and perfectly spiced.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just enough SPICE! We made this for dinner tonight and it was amazing!! My family absolutely LOVED IT! It had just the right amount of SPICE, not to little or to much, and it was tender, juicy and DELICIOUS!!
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yumm We made this for dinner and it was a hit, not to spicy.It was very tender and juicy. Would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my first chicken i am confident in making my own chicken thanks to this recipe
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy This is easy and delicious. I use kitchen shears to spatchcock the chicken.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good this is good very tasty i would make this again easy to make also
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it So simple, easy, tasty , and absolutely delicious!
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from kickin' chicken it is good if you like a little kick for your chicken. you can moderate the hotness
Date published: 2020-11-05
  • y_2022, m_7, d_1, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_32219, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 71.37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards