Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Spicy Ranch Spatchcocked Chicken

“Spatchcocking” is a fancy way of saying “Mmmmm!” This easy chicken recipe reveals a world of flavor served up by Hidden Valley® Ranch Seasoning and a simple roasting technique made famous by culinary greats. This HVR go-to is perfect for a weeknight meal or to round out a weekend feast.

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 40 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 375°F and lay chicken breast-side down on a cutting board. Using sharp kitchen shears, cut the backbone out of the chicken by cutting along both sides of the backbone.

  2. 2

    Make a small slit in the cartilage at the bottom end of the breast bones (it covers the dark keel bone underneath). With both hands placed on the rib cage, crack open the chicken by opening it like a book, toward the cutting board (this will reveal the keel bone). Run your fingers up along either side of the cartilage in between the breasts to loosen it from the flesh and pull up the keel bone to remove it, along with the attached cartilage. (Alternatively, ask your butcher to spatchcock the chicken for you!)

  3. 3

    Dry the chicken really well and season evenly with the spicy seasoning mix. Place skin side up on a sheet tray.

  4. 4

    Drizzle the chicken with olive oil and roast for about 40–45 minutes or until a thermometer inserted into the thigh of the chicken reads 165°F (tent with foil if the skin starts to get too dark). Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(58 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

49 Reviews

4.8

recommend 79.6% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from dinner in a snap This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dinner I loved it. Anything with Ranch dressing is great.
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dish This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste This recipe had great flavor. I definitely would share it with my friends.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks delicious! This Spicy Ranch Spatchcocked Chicken recipe looks and sounds so delicious! I'll be making this tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meal with friends Looking for a great meal to have with friends then try this resp. ❗
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Spicy Ranch SpatchCooked Chicken Beautiful golden brown and a juicy fully cooked chicken. Ranch is the way!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loves it My entire family devoured this chicken! It was so good!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tasting We made this tonight. The kids loved it but for me it was a lil spicy
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! This was a new recipe for our family, everyone loved it- will make it again!
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! This is a family hit! Everyone loved it and asked to Have it again.
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spicy Wonderful flavor. Quick an easy to cook. Nice spicy flavor nicer then just a roasted chicken. Also makes a wonderful chicken salad for the next day.
Date published: 2020-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spicy chicken My family loved cooked my air fryer cut the breast in half 20 minutes at 375.
Date published: 2020-10-31
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_32219, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 102.77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards