Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Crisps & Works of Art

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 20 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (15)

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Ovens vary a little bit in temperature – your oven may run a little hot or a little cool. You can do a test with an oven thermometer to find out if your oven is accurate. If it’s off a little that’s ok, just be sure to watch your food within the last few minutes of a recipe. Warmer ovens will finish a little earlier, cooler ovens will take a bit more time.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2

    All Kids: Wash the potatoes under cool running water, pat dry with a clean dish towel.

  2. 3

    Combine olive oil and ranch seasoning mix in a large mixing bowl. Add the sliced sweet potatoes and toss to coat well.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    Do you know where your olive oil comes from? Spain is the leading country in olive oil production, followed by Italy. Next time you pick some up at the store, note where it comes from and see if you can taste any differences. If you have a few at home already, try pouring a few drops on a little plate and taste the range of flavors. Which do you like best?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little and Big Kids:

    Pour the olive oil in, toss the potato slices with your hands, evenly distribute the oil and seasoning. When done, wash hands for the next steps.

  2. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    With parent’s supervision, slice potatoes as evenly and thinly as possible.

  3. 4

    Spread sweet potato slices into a single layer on the baking sheets, making sure not to overcrowd them. Bake about 10–12 minutes on each side, turning once, until golden. If you can't fit them all on the two trays with space, you may need to do another batch.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 5

    Giving space to each potato on a parchment-lined sheet allows for them to caramelize. When things brown in the oven (get crispy), that gives more flavor to the food, no matter what you’re cooking. This is a good rule of thumb for sweet and savory foods in the oven. Careful not to overdo it though!

  2. 5

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 6

    All Kids: Spread the potatoes out on one pan, Mom or Dad does the other pan.

  2. 7

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 8

    Plating food is the final step in the cooking process – it can really affect how you “taste" something. Make a smiley face with the circles, serve just a few on tiny plates for a tea party or swirl a bit of ranch dressing on a brightly colored plate and scatter a handful of crisps on top for a fancy restaurant feel.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 8
    Little and Big Kids:

    Set the timer and get plates out for when 5 to 10 minutes goes by. Taste at the 5-minute mark – are they crispy enough? Allow to cool longer for more crispness.

  2. 8
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Using oven mitts, take out the sheet pans and let them cool on a rack or heat-proof surface.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(123 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

152 Reviews

4.8

recommend 89.5% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grandkids loved this You'll love this for easy recipe. Very easy to make and. It took many ingredients. Enjoy.
Date published: 2024-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SWEET TATER CRISPS PRECIOUS SWEET POTATO CRISPS SO GOOD AND EASY TO COOK.LOVE HEALTHY SNACKS
Date published: 2024-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky children give these two thumbs up! I had to make more! These were tasty and nice and crunchy. Ranch makes everything more tasty for the children of course the adults.
Date published: 2024-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great crisps These are the best chips these are tasty and crispy
Date published: 2024-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TO MAKE MADE WITH THE GRANS. WE HAD SO MUCH FUN. THEY DIDNT WANT TO WAIT AND THE PLATE SURE WAS EMPTY WHEN WE WERE DONE.
Date published: 2023-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Recipe ! This was a family favorite. This will be in my weekly rotation. The ingredients were clean and had most of them hanging around.
Date published: 2023-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just yum Such a great way to use up the whole sweet potato. Can make the crisps thin or thick. It tastes great.
Date published: 2023-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kick it up a chip! Kick up your potato chips with Hidden valley ranch is the best!
Date published: 2023-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum The recipe is delicious! Thanks for the easy instructions!
Date published: 2023-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet n salty I made this and the sweet potato gives this a sweet and salty flavor which is a great snack to satisfy two tastes.
Date published: 2023-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tasty Affordable and healthy and very easy to prepare!!!
Date published: 2023-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy and great tasting Fun to make and grandkids loved making them! It got them to eat sweet potatoes
Date published: 2023-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Such a simple idea and very tasty. Easy and fun to do with my grandkids.
Date published: 2023-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Potato Crips Sweet Potato crips were very easy to make I sometimes put them in my air fryer they turn out good and crispy
Date published: 2023-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! We love teachable moments and the kids being able to cook!
Date published: 2023-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chips I Ever Made! Grandchildren Love Making These! They don't need my help Anymore!
Date published: 2023-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wha's not to like Hidden Valley - Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Crisps & Works of Art is true quality.
Date published: 2023-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Real simple and tastes amazing love this quick snack for my family.
Date published: 2022-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Crisps These Sweet Potato Crisps are delicious and very flavorful. They make amazing appetizers before a main course.
Date published: 2022-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tasty We thought these were easy to make and my whole household loves them.
Date published: 2022-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty This is one of our new favorite recipes. Sweet potato are so easy to prepare are nutritionios,
Date published: 2022-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Love sweet potatoes and this only makes them better!
Date published: 2022-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet potato crisp I bought this a month ago and I am so happy I did because my kids love sweet potato this was easy to make and very tasty will be making again soon.
Date published: 2022-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! I’m an old kid but raise and love sweet potatoes! These are to die for!!!
Date published: 2022-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! Absolutely love this! It’s a new staple in our house!
Date published: 2022-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love It This is very good. My family loves it. We have ate it several times.
Date published: 2022-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Valley - Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Cr I had the ingredients in my pantry and tried this recipe and loved it. This is a keeper.
Date published: 2022-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty snack Tasty snack and so easy to make. It is so hard to wait to these cool down so that I can eat them but is worth the wait.
Date published: 2022-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and tasty snack So tasty and easy to make. I could eat these everyday! A family favorite.
Date published: 2022-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snack A great recipe the kids will love! Easy and quick and so tasty!!
Date published: 2022-08-22
  • y_2024, m_4, d_19, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_22769, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 112.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules