Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Crisps & Works of Art

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 20 min
  • Servings 6

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (15)

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Ovens vary a little bit in temperature – your oven may run a little hot or a little cool. You can do a test with an oven thermometer to find out if your oven is accurate. If it’s off a little that’s ok, just be sure to watch your food within the last few minutes of a recipe. Warmer ovens will finish a little earlier, cooler ovens will take a bit more time.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2

    All Kids: Wash the potatoes under cool running water, pat dry with a clean dish towel.

  2. 3

    Combine olive oil and ranch seasoning mix in a large mixing bowl. Add the sliced sweet potatoes and toss to coat well.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    Do you know where your olive oil comes from? Spain is the leading country in olive oil production, followed by Italy. Next time you pick some up at the store, note where it comes from and see if you can taste any differences. If you have a few at home already, try pouring a few drops on a little plate and taste the range of flavors. Which do you like best?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little and Big Kids:

    Pour the olive oil in, toss the potato slices with your hands, evenly distribute the oil and seasoning. When done, wash hands for the next steps.

  2. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    With parent’s supervision, slice potatoes as evenly and thinly as possible.

  3. 4

    Spread sweet potato slices into a single layer on the baking sheets, making sure not to overcrowd them. Bake about 10–12 minutes on each side, turning once, until golden. If you can't fit them all on the two trays with space, you may need to do another batch.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 5

    Giving space to each potato on a parchment-lined sheet allows for them to caramelize. When things brown in the oven (get crispy), that gives more flavor to the food, no matter what you’re cooking. This is a good rule of thumb for sweet and savory foods in the oven. Careful not to overdo it though!

  2. 5

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 6

    All Kids: Spread the potatoes out on one pan, Mom or Dad does the other pan.

  2. 7

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 8

    Plating food is the final step in the cooking process – it can really affect how you “taste” something. Make a smiley face with the circles, serve just a few on tiny plates for a tea party or swirl a bit of ranch dressing on a brightly colored plate and scatter a handful of crisps on top for a fancy restaurant feel.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 8
    Little and Big Kids:

    Set the timer and get plates out for when 5 to 10 minutes goes by. Taste at the 5-minute mark – are they crispy enough? Allow to cool longer for more crispness.

  2. 8
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Using oven mitts, take out the sheet pans and let them cool on a rack or heat-proof surface.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(25 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

63 Reviews

4.8

recommend 92.1% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to make It has only 3 ingredients and so easy to make. The kids can help and learn how to make something they really like.
Date published: 2021-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO TASTY! Made them last night and SO GOOD! Kids loved them too!
Date published: 2021-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy This is a great substitute to potato chips and so easy to make. My child loves these. It has a nice balance of sweet and tangy.
Date published: 2021-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! Excellent recipe for the kids and adults. Added some salt and paprika to the crisps I served the adults.
Date published: 2021-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I made these Ranch Sweet Potato Crisp and these are absolutely delicious. Great anytime snack or a great go with for soup & sandwiches. Love them!
Date published: 2021-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids love it! I've been trying to get my family to diversify their diets for a while but the kids are pretty hard. I'm so happy with this recipe, even had them help make it!
Date published: 2021-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious This is a delicious simple healthy recipe the whole family loved them making them all the time
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids love this one! It’s full of flavor! No more fussing about what’s for dinner!
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Y U M These ranch sweet potato crisps are so easy peasy to make! My kids love helping me make them and definitely enjoy eating them! Flavorful and a healthier alternative than regular potato chips!
Date published: 2021-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So simple THese are so simple to make and so tasty. We loved making and eating them
Date published: 2021-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good These are so good I love sweet potatoes and ranch so why not combine them.
Date published: 2021-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicious!! I love love love sweet potatoes! Especially chip like ones. So happy I found this recipe!
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I love a quick and simple snack. Making these again!
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I don't like sweet potatoes but this, I could tolerate
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crispy And Cant Get Enough Of Them I Made These And Our Family Fell In Love With Them, They Couldnt Get Enough, Now I Make Them Once A Week And We Dip Them In #HiddenValleyRanchDips
Date published: 2021-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tasty! I tried this recipe a week ago and it was so great!
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Crisps Very kid friendly . A good way to get children to eat sweet potatoes.
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet kids This was a fun recipe with my kids. They really had fun with it.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good side Pretty quick and easy side to round out a meal for anyone who likes sweet potatoes.
Date published: 2021-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids loved it Kids and me all loved snaking on these sweet potato crisps! So simple, healthy and delicious!
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stupid easy! Love just snacking on these. So do the kids! Great to make to bring to a pool party!
Date published: 2021-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet & RANCHY potato crisps I tried this last night except I used baby red potatoes. I do not know how I ate potatoes before.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Sweet Potato Crisps Great side dish for sweet potatoes. Enjoyed making and sharing this treat.
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than regular chips So healthy and yummy!! Super easy to make and so good
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive These are so simple yet delicious! I greatly reduce the oil to make them even healthier, and they crisp up perfectly!
Date published: 2020-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST & FASTEST CHIPS I'VE EVER MADE I USE TO BUY SWEET POTATO CHIPS, NO MORE. THIS RECIPE IS VERY EASY AND VERY FLAVORFUL. I CONTROL THE SALT AND SEASONINGS, YOU CAN'T GET IT ANY BETTER! I LOVE THEM AND MY FAMILY LOVES THEM ALSO!
Date published: 2020-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 star Inspiration This inspired me to do something different with sweet potatoes. I used bit of light evoo, smart balance, & honey. I saved the ranch for side salad. They were delish!
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum Easy to cook sweet and delicious. Will make often my family loved it
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sweet spuds easy to make and sweet to consume....great snack and for meals
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great This is soooo stinking good! Could fool my fam with it being something else.
Date published: 2020-05-17
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_22769, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 132.94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards