Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Kid Friendly Ranch Sweet Potato Crisps & Works of Art

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 20 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (15)

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 2

    Ovens vary a little bit in temperature – your oven may run a little hot or a little cool. You can do a test with an oven thermometer to find out if your oven is accurate. If it’s off a little that’s ok, just be sure to watch your food within the last few minutes of a recipe. Warmer ovens will finish a little earlier, cooler ovens will take a bit more time.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 2

    All Kids: Wash the potatoes under cool running water, pat dry with a clean dish towel.

  2. 3

    Combine olive oil and ranch seasoning mix in a large mixing bowl. Add the sliced sweet potatoes and toss to coat well.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 4

    Do you know where your olive oil comes from? Spain is the leading country in olive oil production, followed by Italy. Next time you pick some up at the store, note where it comes from and see if you can taste any differences. If you have a few at home already, try pouring a few drops on a little plate and taste the range of flavors. Which do you like best?

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 4
    Little and Big Kids:

    Pour the olive oil in, toss the potato slices with your hands, evenly distribute the oil and seasoning. When done, wash hands for the next steps.

  2. 4
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    With parent’s supervision, slice potatoes as evenly and thinly as possible.

  3. 4

    Spread sweet potato slices into a single layer on the baking sheets, making sure not to overcrowd them. Bake about 10–12 minutes on each side, turning once, until golden. If you can't fit them all on the two trays with space, you may need to do another batch.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 5

    Giving space to each potato on a parchment-lined sheet allows for them to caramelize. When things brown in the oven (get crispy), that gives more flavor to the food, no matter what you’re cooking. This is a good rule of thumb for sweet and savory foods in the oven. Careful not to overdo it though!

  2. 5

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 6

    All Kids: Spread the potatoes out on one pan, Mom or Dad does the other pan.

  2. 7

    Remove from the oven and cool on racks for about 5–10 minutes until fully crisp and cool. If desired, serve with Hidden Valley® Original Ranch Salad Dressing for dipping.

Teachable Moment

Teachable Moment

  1. 8

    Plating food is the final step in the cooking process – it can really affect how you “taste" something. Make a smiley face with the circles, serve just a few on tiny plates for a tea party or swirl a bit of ranch dressing on a brightly colored plate and scatter a handful of crisps on top for a fancy restaurant feel.

Kids Activity

Kids Activity

  1. 8
    Little and Big Kids:

    Set the timer and get plates out for when 5 to 10 minutes goes by. Taste at the 5-minute mark – are they crispy enough? Allow to cool longer for more crispness.

  2. 8
    Middle and High Schoolers:

    Using oven mitts, take out the sheet pans and let them cool on a rack or heat-proof surface.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(125 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

154 Reviews

4.8

recommend 89% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and tasty snack So tasty and easy to make. I could eat these everyday! A family favorite.
Date published: 2022-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snack A great recipe the kids will love! Easy and quick and so tasty!!
Date published: 2022-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy and delicious Great healthy snack for everyone!! Better than store chips by far!!
Date published: 2022-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I sliced the sweet potatoes extra thin making them lighter and crispier! They held the ranch flavor much better!
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Potato Crisps I live the flavor of Sweet Potato Crisps. It makes a great snack anytime.
Date published: 2022-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy deliciousness! My whole family loved this recipe and I loved it because it was super easy and nutritious!
Date published: 2022-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVED IT Quick and Easy. I'm thinking you could do hashbrowns with this also. Make a dip of with sour cream and mayo, chopped cilantro, garlic powder, ground cumin, tiny bit of salt.
Date published: 2022-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great time with kids Tried this it was amazing have kids cook along it was delicious and they loved it
Date published: 2022-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun time Kids helped and had a blast! They loved the flavor!
Date published: 2022-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best So much fun and too delicious! Took our time and enjoyed!!!
Date published: 2022-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Potato YUM! My kids enjoyed helping to make these and they're a great alternative to regular potato chips!
Date published: 2022-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious These are so good and easy to make my son absolutely loves these
Date published: 2022-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Awesome! Surprisingly easy to make and not surprisingly delicious! A delightful change and amazing recipe!
Date published: 2022-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chips Easy and healthy way to make better than bagged chips. When the kids help they seem to like to eat it better. They seem so proud of the accomplishment.
Date published: 2022-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s just not for kids Ever have the graving for potato chips but you are trying to be good in your diet? This is a great choice to stop that graving. Healthy and less calories then a bag of chips.
Date published: 2022-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch sweet potato crisps This is a great dish for children to make with a supervising adult. Enjoyed by both kids and adults!
Date published: 2022-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Potato Crisps Love sweet potato any way it can be cooked! This is a terrific recipe for kids to get those nutrients from the potato
Date published: 2022-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes so good I made these for myself since I don't have kids and they are really good.
Date published: 2022-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Kids loved it I was suprised usually they are really picky but they loved it
Date published: 2022-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun for the kiddos They love getting their hands dirty and everything tastes better when they make it
Date published: 2022-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy so tasty This is our new favorite. It’s so easy to make and delicious.
Date published: 2022-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy for kid to make Grandkids helped with these and enjoyed eating on our visit.
Date published: 2022-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to make I tried this recipe with my oldest grandson and it was so easy to make and we had such a blast making it. Delicious as well.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste great tried this after one of the neighbors recommended it and everyone enjoyed it very much
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for kids Great way t get kids involved in cooking and tastes great too!
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crisp yet satisfying Easy to prepare and cook. I would make this again.
Date published: 2022-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice I love Sweet Potatos so this is a nice new way to give them a try
Date published: 2022-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can stop eating them Tried these out as a tasty home snack. Easy to make and turned out perfect in air fryer
Date published: 2022-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kitchen fun with the kids This meal and the short amount of time spent on preparing this meal was simply, enjoyable and well worth it!
Date published: 2022-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SURPRIZE CHIPS I AM SOLD, I DIDN'T THINK THE GRANDKIDS WOULD LIKE, BUT BOY,I WAS WRONG, AND IT WAS SO EASY TO MAKE, LOVE THE PARTICIPATE WITH MY GRANDKIDS
Date published: 2022-02-24
  • y_2024, m_6, d_24, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_143
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_22769, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 118.24ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules