Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Beer-Braised Brats with Onions and Beer Cheese

Though brats are a decidedly German dish, they were first introduced to America at a Wisconsin baseball game in the 1950s, and haven’t ventured too far out of the Cheese State since. Our brats recipe bathes in light beer before getting a blanket of unctuous ranch-tinged cheese sauce and caramelized onions. Take us out to the ball game!

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 20 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (5)

  1. 1

    Light a charcoal grill using Kingsford® Charcoal or heat a gas grill to high. Pour beer and sliced onions into a medium pot and bring to a simmer over high heat.

  2. 2

    Add brats to the pot, reduce heat to low, and simmer until just cooked through, about 10 minutes. Transfer brats to the grill, and cook until they’re well browned on all sides, about 5 minutes, turning often.

  3. 3

    Remove 1 cup of the beer and pour into another pot. Let the rest of the beer and onions continue to simmer while the brats cook.

  4. 4

    Bring the beer back to a simmer in the new pot and stir in cream cheese, ranch seasoning and cheese until smooth.

  5. 5

    Top the brats with some of the beer braised onions and spoon the cheese sauce over everything. Serve immediately.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch We’re off to the heartland of the Midwest for our latest Ranch Night recipes: ranchy Beer Brats and a party-pleasing Ranch-Pimento Cheese Ball. Head to our link in bio for more Ranch Across America recipes.#RanchAcrossAmerica #RanchNight #RanchRecipes #Beer-braisedbrats #PimentoCheeseBall ♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(30 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

29 Reviews

4.9

recommend 93.1% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grilled first I grilled them first then put them in the beer and onions. I used Velveeta cheese instead and used the spicy shaker seasoning it was the best!
Date published: 2022-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flavor Made this last night and they turned out awesome!!
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best beer brats ever We had this last night and with the hidden valley ranch and it was just super!!
Date published: 2022-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever Was looking for a way to enjoy braut night more. It’s a husband and kids favorite, not me so much. Everyone was going gaga over these awesome additions. I can do this everytime and so easy! Sooo good!
Date published: 2022-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Juuuuicyyyyy! Very easy to make and very flavorful Grilling favorite
Date published: 2022-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Great meal to make on the weekends. We love these!!!
Date published: 2022-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Completely blew my family's mind! Such an easy and good recipe! Thanks HVR!
Date published: 2022-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Flavor I'm glad I made the BEER-BRAISED BRATS WITH ONIONS AND BEER CHEESE. They have a great taste and were simple to prepare.
Date published: 2022-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! I am so glad I tried this recipe, it's easy and delicious! I could eat that cheese sauce on everything! This will be a summer staple in my house
Date published: 2022-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste great We tried this and loved it ..the onions really bring out the flavor ..we will eat this again and again
Date published: 2022-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from now we're talking summer ranch this is the kind of thing we need to be eating in the evenings now, fire'em and ranch'em up and won't disappoint
Date published: 2022-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brats Love Brats and these are among the best. The onion and beer cheese is excellent poured over anything and everything. HVR stupendous!!
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Take Me Out To The Ball Game! I really enjoyed these. The caramelized onions and cheese sauce gave it a nice flavor.
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Changed the way we do Brats no matter what style of Brats we buy. Awesome
Date published: 2022-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These taste great had these two nights ago and flavor is great. will have more often again.
Date published: 2022-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste Great! Made this on the grill last weekend and taste great! Easy and breezy on the grill and great for a family meal.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious This recipe is so delicious and easy, The perfect game day go to snack! IT'LL make your mouth water
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beer-Braised Brats with onions Goes very well with cabbage. Makes a great dinner. Very good leftovers.
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV- Bear Braised Brats My family loved these. I like the ranch and cream cheese. Flavorful.
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NEW Favorite Great recipe and easy to make. A new family favorite, loved by all.
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Brats! The brats were delicious, the cheese sauce was awesome! Bet you can't find cheese sauce this good at the ballgame!
Date published: 2022-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want something great to make ❗ Then try making these Brats for a game night or just sitting around with the family ❗The brats are a great meal to make and it doesn't takes lot of time to make at all❗
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tasting recipe I already make my brats/sausages this way. In the winter I fry them just enough to make the outside brown. The beer cheese was absolutely great. I will be making it again.
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious!!! This recipe was so yummy! Definitely making it again!
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brats are Delicious I love having a crowd over to watch football. One of my go-to recipes is beer braised brats with a side of coleslaw. I’ve always used a garlic aioli dipping sauce until I found this recipe. This amazing cheese sauce is great in everything! It’s also amazing with potato chips!
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Better of All others tried GREAT NEW FLAVOR for Brats. The Family loved to new Recipe. Changed the WAY we do Brats no matter what style of Brats we buy.
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family gathering I made this for a birthday party and family fun night delicious my new favorite
Date published: 2022-03-28
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_43060, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 564.4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards