Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Buttermilk Ranch Potato Gratin

  • Prep Time 25 min
  • Cook Time 1 hr 55 min
  • Servings 5
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (10)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (8)

  1. 1
    Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. 2
    Place small skillet over medium-low heat and fry bacon until crisp. Remove from pan with slotted spoon and drain on paper towels. Set aside.
  3. 3
    Add cabbage to bacon fat in pan; toss to coat. Slowly let cabbage wilt; add bacon back to pan. Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  4. 4
    Remove from heat and add chives, reserving small portion for garnish.
  5. 5
    Generously butter bottom and sides of ovenproof casserole dish.
  6. 6
    In large bowl, combine potatoes, buttermilk, 1 cup of Parmesan and dressing mix. Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  7. 7
    Using hands, place layer of potatoes in casserole dish. Sprinkle with Parmesan and repeat with two more layers. Spoon cabbage mixture on top and spread evenly over potatoes. Top with two more layers of potatoes and Parmesan. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan. Cover dish with aluminum foil; bake for 1 hour. Remove foil and bake for additional 30 minutes, until golden brown. Rest for 10 minutes before serving.
  8. 8
    Garnish with fresh chives.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(20 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

20 Reviews

4.9

recommend 95% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty I am a big fan of potatoes and cabbage and this is my favorite dish now!!! I love it and could eat it every day!!!
Date published: 2022-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Yummy and easier to make than I was expecting.Very tasty
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fan favorite! I love a good cheesy potatoes au gratin and this one met my expectations. The bacon and cabbage were a little different, but still good.
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potatoes I substituted leeks for the cabbage and put ll of it in the crockpot.
Date published: 2020-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & easy My husband and I love potatoes au gratin. This was a good take for a little bit different flavor. We both enjoyed it and will definitely be making it again.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor This is a great new way to mix things up. I made them and the family loved them !
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go wrong with ranch and potatoes Simple and fast. A Nice twist on an argatin potatoes
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome potatoes I love these potatoes, we love cabbage and ranch dressing and that is add that extra flavor to these potatoes. Delicious!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe, so much flavor! Not too hard to execute, and delicious side dish for beef or chicken.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from potato gratin perfect for a carry in meal.goes with any meat or fish.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty and Delicious This dish was easy to make and my family thought it was tasty and delicious
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and filling We dug in to it and it was great. Reheated the leftovers for lunch and great again.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Like the taste of creamy buttermilk ranch potatoes .
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must try! What a great recipe! Easy to make and the whole family loves it!
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To die for You can never ever go wrong with ranch and potatoes! Yuummy and easier to make than I was expecting
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious Potato Dish I really love this recipe because it is a great way to eat potatoes and has so much flavor. I like the cabbage in the dish for extra veggies and it tastes so good!
Date published: 2017-07-13
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_489, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 229.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards