Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

California Crab Salad

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 0 min
  • Servings 4

Ingredients (6)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (2)

  1. 1

    In a medium bowl, whisk together dressing, pickled ginger and horseradish; season with salt and pepper. Gently fold crab meat into the dressing; chill for 1 hour.

  2. 2

    When ready to serve, slice a bit of skin off the rounded side of each avocado half so they lay flat. Generously spoon the crab mixture into each half and garnish with more pickled ginger; serve immediately.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(6 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

35 Reviews

4.7

recommend 94.3% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love our crab I changed the presentation by putting it in a cup. It's great for parties. We catch our crabs here in the South and always looking for different ways to eat them.
Date published: 2020-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Yum I think this is by far my new favorite salad. It tastes so good
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Crab Salad California Crab Salad was a refreshing summer salad for lunch. So Tasty!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Lunch Salad I loved this salad I made it for a lunch date and it was a hit!
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious & Refreshing This is a great tasting summer salad/meal. The lime adds just the perfect amount of sweet and zesty. We made it as a side salad to some grilled shrimp.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dish, Crowd Pleaser! Everyone at my party loved this dish! Very good! Everyone couldn't stop giving me compliments on this.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO easy absolutely yummy and so easy to prepare! you're guest will think it took you all day
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Prepare and Delicious This took no time at all to make. My family enjoyed the salad. I love avacadoes and was pleasantly surprised with how well it went with the crab. Very good.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for summer Perfect for lunch. Refreshing and easy to prepare.
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crab Salad Take a ice-cream scoop. In scoop a heaping scoop. In the middle of an Avacado..mmmm..GOOD!!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Lunch This makes the perfect lunch, and I love to serve it to my friends on the patio.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not 'just' a salad... This is a perfect cool meal for a hot day- enough to keep one going without feeling all bogged down and overstuffed.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A winning combination My hubby loves seafood salads and this one was an absolute hit with him.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastebud Pleaser I loved this recipe! I made it with fresh Maryland jumbo lump crab meat. It's great for everyday but elegant enough for fancy dinner parties.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Spin on Salad Calling all seafood lovers. This recipe is a great spin on a salad that you won't regret.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You cant go wrong with this one. I recommend this for all salad lovers.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LUCIOUS AND OH SO ELEGANT PREPPED AND SERVED AS OUTLINED I RECEIVED GREAT REVIEWS. MY FAV IS TO PREP EXTRA FOR SUNDAY BRUNCH WITH MIMOSAS & WARMED BREAD ROLLS. THEN SAVE MORE THAN ENOUGH TO TAKE WITH FOR LUNCH THE NEXT DAY TO SERVE ON CRACKERS WITH ICE TEA!
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from crab! I just love crab!there is nothing like eating a crab salad on a sunny day at the beach!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good its fresh and tasty gives you a taste n feel of beign at a seafood hut you can have this tasty dish anytime of year and good digestion for lunch or dinner
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing This salad is so refreshing and tasty. The crab is a splurge but well worth it. The horseradish is necessary so don't leave it out. Yum!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! My husband is allergic to shellfish- this is wonderful with Pollock!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! I've made this for my family and we all just love it. Even the kids! It's perfect for the summer time BBQs.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light & fresh Great way to transition into summer. Makes a great lunch or a nice idea for those dreary April day's so it feels more like summer
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea for a main dish salad. I love crab and avocado together.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, tasty and fresh, Can serve it to a bunch of my lady friends, or to my family or just me. It would also be suitable for a lenten lunchen. Wonderfu for summer!
Date published: 2013-04-01
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_68, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 91.64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards