Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Chipotle BBQ Cole Slaw Chicken Ranch Subs

Ranch superfan Jasmine S. used not one, but two HVR favorites to wow the judges and take home the Grand Prize in our Hidden Valley® Ranch Night!™ recipe contest. We think her tongue-tantalizing twist on BBQ chicken subs will inspire you too!

  • Prep Time 16 min
  • Cook Time 40 min
  • Servings 6

Ingredients (12)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (5)

  1. 1

    Preheat oven at 350°F.

  2. 2

    Combine ground chicken, breadcrumbs, egg, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and Hidden Valley® Ranch Seasoning packet mix with hands until well combined. Roll into 1 inch balls and put on non-stick cookie sheet or lightly greased cookie sheet, bake for 35 minutes until done.

  3. 3

    Meanwhile in a large bowl combine cole slaw mix, Chipotle dressing, and BBQ sauce and toss until well combined. Set aside in refrigerator until serving time.

  4. 4

    Remove meatballs from oven. Set aside to slightly cool. Brush rolls with butter, each side, and toast 2 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Remove cole slaw from refrigerator and toss again.

  5. 5

    Add two meatballs to the bottom sub roll and top meatball with cole slaw, add fried onions (desired amount) and top with top roll. Enjoy and serve still warm.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(50 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

43 Reviews

4.6

recommend 74.4% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome i bought this other day and loved it will buy again
Date published: 2021-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from look good i cant wait ti make this it looks so good /hopefully next wee i will try it
Date published: 2021-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slaw + BBQ = yes The slaw makes it memorable, great for dressing up a regular dinner or picnic!
Date published: 2021-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy very easy to make and very tasty. Great for picnics.
Date published: 2021-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chipotle BBQ Cole slaw Chicken Ranch Sub Makes a very good sub- Sweet and tangy. Great for picnics .
Date published: 2021-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good BBQ and ranch are great together and this recipe shows that. So tasty and delicious
Date published: 2021-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best BBQ Sub I love bbq and ranch, and anytime you can have them together what’s not to love
Date published: 2021-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pork some things are just so good you have to make it and i did I t was terrific
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great subs This recipe is delicious ! I made a double a batch and froze the extras for another meal. I love using ground chicken. HVR gives it such great flavor!
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Taso I really liked this recipe it was great tasting plus it’s a recipe that I can change up with a different ground meat different type of bread ie pita.. and when I make the meatballs it’s easy to double up the recipe and use them in other dishes and freeze for a meal in no time.
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty and different I love that this uses ground chicken in it, so much better than ground beef! Different taste and something to look forward to making again!
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A tasty lunch A great combination of ingredients that tastes well together.
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so different and great this is a totally new and different dish than anything I have previously made. It tasted great, and was a huge hit!
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Our family loves cole slaw. This is extremely flavorful and delicious.
Date published: 2021-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cole slaw Not a fan of coke slaw personally, but my family likes it so I make it
Date published: 2021-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dad would love this! Not a huge slaw head, however my dad is & I'm sure he would love this!
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Subs Easy delicious subs with coleslaw. I will be making this again.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best BBQ Coleslaw Recipe This is one of the best bbq coleslaw recipes, just needs a little more sweetness to balance the heat in the slaw. That's why I didn't give 5 stars but for the most part...the best in a while!
Date published: 2021-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor I will definitely be making this again just add more sauce next time.
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Delicious I was hesitant to try this due to my husband being a beef farmer and it used ground chicken. Haha! I also had never cooked or eaten ground chicken. This was so easy to make and had so much flavor! It will definitely be made in our household again. If you want to lay off the carbs a bit, it tastes just as good without the bun. You definitely need to try this recipe!
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious The slaw could of used a little more flavor, but overall will make it again
Date published: 2021-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lunch Made these for lunch for all the workers and they wanted more
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum I love eating food, especially when it is smothered in ranch.
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had a weird chewy texture and off taste I absolutely love Ranch in general but I am not all that impressed with this recipe because it had bit of a weird didn't-follow-the-rules type texture. Full disclosure - I lost my hands in a boating accident back in '93 but I was able to use my forearms instead and I did my best so I don't think that had anything to do with it as the recipe was followed to a T other than that. If I were ever to remake this I'd probably go a little bit lighter on the sentences but overall I'm just disappointed and will go with a different recipe.
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I tried this a week ago and to my surprise this was absolutely fantastic
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last night Made this for our grandkids they lived it.Will be making it some more over the weekend.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome twist I like the meatball concept and they are delicious. I will be making this again.
Date published: 2021-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delious but have options This is a very simple but delious recipe. I have made this three times but switched the meat. I have tried ground chicken, turkey and pork. They all work well depending on your preference of protein.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good combination I like traditional coleslaw and also chipotle seasoning. Together is a winning recipe.
Date published: 2021-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new twist on an old favorite My fiance loves coleslaw. Now he will not eat it any other way
Date published: 2021-03-03
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_35076, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 61.85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards