Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Shepherd's Pie with a Potato-Buttermilk Ranch Crust

  • Prep Time 5 min
  • Cook Time 40 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (6)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1
    Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. 2

    In a large bowl, combine the mashed potatoes with the dressing until smooth.

  3. 3

    Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and cook the onions until they have softened and turn golden, about 5 minutes. Add the ground meat, generously season with salt and pepper, and cook, breaking up any clumps of meat with a wooden spatula, until the meat is browned, another 5 minutes.

  4. 4

    If needed, drain any excess fat from the meat mixture, then stir in the frozen peas and carrots. Pour the mixture into a 1½-quart baking dish and spread mashed potatoes evenly over the top; bake uncovered for 30 minutes, or until golden.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(35 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

22 Reviews

4.6

recommend 100% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! I love making casseroles! This shepards pie was delicious and quick to make. A favorite for sure.
Date published: 2022-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was bomb! Definitely making again soon. Love the flavor & of course comfort food is the best on these cold days.
Date published: 2022-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV-Shepherd's Pie with a Potato-Buttermilk Ranch C I love to make Shepherd's Pie. This recipe is somewhat different and very very good. A hearty meal.
Date published: 2022-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I had made this and i really loved it , the flavor was excellent
Date published: 2022-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Shepherd's Pie i never had a Shepherd's Pie before in my life. I didn't know exactly what it was. I read this recipe and thought that it would be good with a few changes. I used ground turkey.. I added some frozen corn with the other vegetables. It was good. We will have it again, soon.
Date published: 2021-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sheppard Pie HVR helped make this so it was a big hit, would recommend it to others. I used a bag of mixed vegetables instead.
Date published: 2021-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good Wow this was extremly good. The whole family devoured it. Will for sure make it again
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will make again This was one of those why didnt I think of that recipes very good just gave it the extra seasoning it needed to take the taste to next level
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will definitely make again.. Not much leftovers with this recipe.
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something Different Nice change from the same old same old. Everyone enjoyed this!
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and filling I made this with beef roast instead of lamb or turkey. It came out delicious! I had some family over and everyone was full and satisfied. Will make again!
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Dish Treat I made this shepards pie with ham instead of turkey and it was good. Have also used roast. In our family of 7 it is a crowd please.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from would cook again. kids love it delicious so easy to make kids cleaned the casserole dish!!!
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe I made this and my family loved it. Only i used ground round instead of ground turkey or lamb.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste Great I had made this and i really loved it , the flavors all popped in my mouth with yummy goodness , I would cook this again ,
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing my husband loves shephards pie, my 8 year old loves hidden valley ranch - this is a win win recipe in my house.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Flavor! This is the perfect twist on a classic comfort food. The ranch provides so much of an amazing flavor and kick to a traditional food without the added effort. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from husbands loves shepards pie, 8 yr old loves ranch my husband loves shephards pie, my 8 year old loves hidden valley ranch - this is a win win recipe in my house.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gravy Sounds great except all the shepards pie I have ever had has a brown gravy with the mixture inside , Maybe add a bit of brown gravy mix to the meat mixture before filling the baking dish ?
Date published: 2012-09-01
  • y_2022, m_5, d_28, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 167.23ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards