Save
Email
Print

Crispy Mashed Potato Balls

  • Prep: 25 min
  • Cook: 18 min
  • Total: 43 min
  • Servings: 6–8
Rated 4.9333/5 based on 15 customer reviews

Ingredients (8)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Mash together the potatoes, butter, 1 tablespoon of dressing mix, flour and eggs. Once smooth, mix in shredded cheddar.
  • Step 2
    Mix together the bread crumbs with the tablespoon of ranch dressing mix you reserved earlier.
  • Step 3
    Take small dollops of the potatoes (a tablespoon or a little less), and roll them into balls. Drop a few balls at a time into the crumb mix. Roll around to cover completely. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.
  • Step 4
    Meanwhile, heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Carefully place balls into hot oil and flip until all sides are golden and crispy. Remove and drain on paper towels.

    Tip: Mashed Potato Balls can also be baked. Simply place on parchment lined baking sheets, spray with cooking oil, and bake for 9-10 minutes in 400 F until golden and crispy.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (1 person made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(15)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY Delicious!!! Made these for a snack. BIG hit. Will be making them often. Super kid friendly.
Date published: 2019-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from crispy mashed potatoes balls. A great snack or side dish.a very good idea.I will be enjoying these often.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made mashed potatoes just to make these! I have always wanted to do potato cakes but see recipes struggle with the crispness and texture. This recipe solved the problem and can easily be halved if needed when less is more.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leftover idea I made these with leftover mashed potatoes as a snack my family went crazy for them, now I have to make them again!!
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty appetizer A fun appetizer to make. My family loves potatoes and ranch together. This is a win-win
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! Potatoes and Ranch. Easy, tastes great. Best appetizer!
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome appetizer This is by far my favorite appetizer recipe. I love them and so did everybody else. I plan on making them every chance i get !
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mashed Potato Balls I love this recipe I always have left over potatoes and this is easy to prepare, everyone loved these, delicious!
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delectable bites! These are so simple and very good snack for parties!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Fav I recently bought an air fryer, and so am revisiting some old unhealthy fried favorites. These are perfect! Make sure you use on brand Panko, otherwise it can get mushy.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crispy Mashed Potato Balls are Delishious I tried this recipe and I baked them instead of frying. They were so good that they didn't even make it to the table. Everybody was snitching them in the kitchen.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New way to potato Such an interesting new way to eat potatoes! Definitely going to make these!
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg! I remember eating this as a child. So good. ...brings back memories. ..and will make some tonight.
Date published: 2017-07-13
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6791, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 115.45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards