Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Crispy Mashed Potato Balls

  • Prep Time 25 min
  • Cook Time 18 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (8)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1
    Mash together the potatoes, butter, 1 tablespoon of dressing mix, flour and eggs. Once smooth, mix in shredded cheddar.
  2. 2
    Mix together the bread crumbs with the tablespoon of ranch dressing mix you reserved earlier.
  3. 3
    Take small dollops of the potatoes (a tablespoon or a little less), and roll them into balls. Drop a few balls at a time into the crumb mix. Roll around to cover completely. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.
  4. 4
    Meanwhile, heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Carefully place balls into hot oil and flip until all sides are golden and crispy. Remove and drain on paper towels.

    Tip: Mashed Potato Balls can also be baked. Simply place on parchment lined baking sheets, spray with cooking oil, and bake for 9-10 minutes in 400 F until golden and crispy.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(33 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

27 Reviews

4.9

recommend 85.2% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love with this recipe!!! I added chives to my potatoes too!!! Sooooo yummy!!
Date published: 2023-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT I did the smash a bake method. I did add finely chopped green pepper. You could dust your hands with flour to roll them, less sticking. They were wonderful next to any steak, chops or fish.
Date published: 2022-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great A simple and easy way to use leftover mashed potatoes
Date published: 2022-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum This is a great side to have the kids help make. Fun, easy and oh so good.
Date published: 2021-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Valley - Crispy Mashed Potatoe Balls. Fun to make and enjoy. My guest were please with this recipe and wanted a copy.
Date published: 2021-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from POTATO POPS!! GREAT RECIPE & WORKS BEST W/COLD LEFTOVER MASHED POTATOES
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The mashed potato version of.mac.n cheese balls. Really good crispy on outside creamy and soft inside just make more thank u think causes your gonna eat more thank one or 2
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty I make this for my family and they loved it. The flavor profile was dynamic.
Date published: 2020-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicous Who would have thought mashed potatoes in ball form would be better than regular mashed potatoes. Just amazing
Date published: 2020-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for leftovers A simple and easy way to use leftover mashed potatoes.
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love the flavor and the crisp. It is just so good. A true winner!
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rave reviews from family Want to eat mashed potatoes with your hands? This is a super fun dish, and the kids loved them! I did not have bread crumbs. So, I substituted crushed cheese puffs! Yum!!!
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY Delicious!!! Made these for a snack. BIG hit. Will be making them often. Super kid friendly.
Date published: 2019-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from crispy mashed potatoes balls. A great snack or side dish.a very good idea.I will be enjoying these often.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made mashed potatoes just to make these! I have always wanted to do potato cakes but see recipes struggle with the crispness and texture. This recipe solved the problem and can easily be halved if needed when less is more.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leftover idea I made these with leftover mashed potatoes as a snack my family went crazy for them, now I have to make them again!!
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty appetizer A fun appetizer to make. My family loves potatoes and ranch together. This is a win-win
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! Potatoes and Ranch. Easy, tastes great. Best appetizer!
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome appetizer This is by far my favorite appetizer recipe. I love them and so did everybody else. I plan on making them every chance i get !
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mashed Potato Balls I love this recipe I always have left over potatoes and this is easy to prepare, everyone loved these, delicious!
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delectable bites! These are so simple and very good snack for parties!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Fav I recently bought an air fryer, and so am revisiting some old unhealthy fried favorites. These are perfect! Make sure you use on brand Panko, otherwise it can get mushy.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crispy Mashed Potato Balls are Delishious I tried this recipe and I baked them instead of frying. They were so good that they didn't even make it to the table. Everybody was snitching them in the kitchen.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New way to potato Such an interesting new way to eat potatoes! Definitely going to make these!
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg! I remember eating this as a child. So good. ...brings back memories. ..and will make some tonight.
Date published: 2017-07-13
  • y_2024, m_6, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6791, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 163.09ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules