Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Crispy Onion Green Bean Casserole

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 35 min
  • Servings 6

Ingredients (9)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website. For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    In a large sauté pan set over medium heat, melt the butter until foaming. Add the chopped shallots and cook, stirring until softened, about 3 minutes.

  2. 2

    Sprinkle the flour and the seasoning mix into the pan and stir to coat shallots. Slowly whisk in the chicken stock, whisking out any lumps; then the half and half.

  3. 3

    Simmer for 2 minutes or just until thickened; then stir in cheese and remove from heat. Combine green beans and onion sauce and pour into a 9x9 casserole dish.

  4. 4

    Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until liquid has reduced and thickened. Remove from oven and top with crisp onions.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(87 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

31 Reviews

4.8

recommend 93.5% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Green bean casserole is always a hot with my family. Now that I add ranch seasoning it’s even a bigger hot.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great side for pork chops Last week we had a ranch day. I made the pork chop recipe I found on this site with this crispy onions green Beans casserole and it was a hit with my family.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Crispy Onion Green Bean Casserole Green bean casserole an all time favorite dish. Jazz it up with Ranch and enjoy!
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update to an Icon We love this dish for the tradition and it was cool to add a new ingredient. We all felt like it could be even better with more ranch shaker.
Date published: 2021-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Something different Was looking to try something new from green bean casserole. It was good but not a total hit!
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Casserole Made this as a side dish for the holidays. Great taste and easy to make!
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Who doesn't already love green bean casserole?! Then adding hidden valley to it?!? EVEN BETTER!
Date published: 2020-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipie This is an awesome recipe I recommend it, so great!
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Twist! I just made these it it was such a nice change from the usual casserole!
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Update We ALWAYS make green bean casserole for holidays and it's a favorite. But the addition of the ranch really pops it up a notch! I will have to double my recipe next time to have enough for everyone.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simply delicious This recipe was a hit at the family reunion. Simply delicious.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great one I love green beans and this is a great recipe. It taste so good
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a new favorite! one of my favorite casseroles, with a little kick! this might replace my traditional version for holidays.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from magnificent this was so much better ... i love green bean casserole but this added a ninja kick full of flavor in my mouth, we will be making this for the holidays from now on as everyone also loved it
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great My husband loves green bean casserole so we were very interested in trying this out. It was very good. A nice take on a classic dish.
Date published: 2020-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taught an old dog a new trick After years of making the standard green bean casserold dish for Thanksgiving I added a little zing to it. This year there were no leftovers and my grandchildren ate another vegetable besides potatoes. I'll be making this again during the holidays and as a side dish to potlucks.
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teaching an old dog a new trick After years of making the standard green bean casserold dish for Thanksgiving I added a little zing to it. This year there were no leftovers and my grandchildren ate another vegetable besides potatoes. I'll be making this again during the holidays and as a side diish to potlucks.
Date published: 2019-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for thanksgiving! An excellent way to bring ranch to the thanksgiving table!
Date published: 2019-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanksgiving hit I made this dish for thanksgiving and it was a real hit! There was no leftovers this time and the ranch gave it a perfect kick!
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from green bean casserole delicious.not just for holidays.makes a great side.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great great alt for classic green bean casserole // kids that are afraid of mushroom but love ranch
Date published: 2018-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG .... AMAZING Best potatoes ever, creamy and flavor explodes in mouth
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Green Beans I made this and it was very easy and delicious I plan on making it again for Thanksgiving dinner.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My next Thanksgiving casserole... What a nice spin on this classic casserole. You may want to try it out for the holidays, too!
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorite This recipe is a great change up for an all time favorite side dish
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from another Thanksgiving hit!! Thanksgiving hit!!! will make it for Christmas too
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Crispy shallot green bean casserole is one of the best side dish.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Thankgiving side dish I love making this side dish for Thanksgiving! It is easy and tastes great too! The flavors are amazing and it goes great with a turkey dish too!
Date published: 2017-07-10
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_988, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 169.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards