Fiery Tater Tot Waffles

  • Prep: 10 min
  • Cook: 30 min
  • Total: 40 min
  • Servings: 2
Rated 4.7/5 based on 10 customer reviews
Recipe courtesy of Lazarus Lynch on behalf of Hidden Valley.

Ingredients (10)

Waffles

  • 1 pound (about 3 cups) frozen Tater Tots
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • vegetable oil, for brushing

Sauce

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave the Tater Tots until slightly thawed, about 4 minutes on high heat. Using a rubber spatula, lightly mash the Tater Tots.
  • Step 2
    In a medium bowl, combine the dressing, hot sauce, and egg, then stir in the flour and cayenne pepper. Fold this mixture into the thawed Tater Tots (the batter should be firm and hold its shape).
  • Step 3
    Heat waffle iron until hot, brush with vegetable oil, and spoon about ⅓ cup batter into the waffle iron. Cook until golden brown and crisp, about 6 to 8 minutes; keep warm and repeat with the remaining batter.
  • Step 4
    In a small bowl, whisk together the dressing and lime juice. Drizzle the sauce on the waffles, garnish with cilantro, and serve warm.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Reviews
(10)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fiery tator tot waffle I'm glad i found this recipe. I tried it. It was off the chain. Imma make more during the cold months when my grandkids be locked in from the cold.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Irresistible and delicious! I will never go back to "regular" tater tots ever again.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fiery Tater Tot Waffles sounds like a great meal i would put some peppers to give it more of kick of spice
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tot Waffle I made this a few days ago. OMG these were so good. I will be sure to make these time and time again. I topped them with chives and shredded cheddar cheese, served with the sauce and a side of sour cream topped with chives and chopped bacon. Yum !
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to switch flavors! I've made this a few times and it is always a hit. The fun part is that you can completely change up the flavor profile. My fav version so far has been using Hidden Valley® Cheddar & Bacon Flavored Ranch instead. Add some bacon bits and shredded cheese (a small amount) into your mix. Make sure you cook it so it's good and crispy. We prefer serving all flavor profiles with classic cool ranch to dip in. Another awesome thing you can do is make these and freeze them so you have them ready to bake up for guests or a quick snack.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this! I loved this recipe and added a little twist of my own to an already good version and was loved by all.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind blown Tator tots become waffles? My mind is blown. Why haven't humans been making these for centuries?
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peasy This is so simple and easy that my kids like to help me make different flavors of it each time. This recipe is wonderful or you can use the buffalo ranch to add a little less heat if you have children who like it a little milder. Either way you will love it
Date published: 2017-07-12
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_10369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 86.58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Picked Just For You

See all recipes