Save
Email
Print

Fish with Hidden Valley Ranch Tartar Sauce

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 15 min
  • Total: 30 min
  • Servings: 4
Rated 4.7407/5 based on 27 customer reviews

Ingredients (7)

Steps (3)

  • Step 1
    In a small bowl, combine sour cream, pickles and seasoning mix, and stir until well blended. Chill covered for 1 hour.
  • Step 2
    Place the bread crumbs and egg on each of two large plates. Dip the fillets in egg, then lightly coat with the bread crumbs.
  • Step 3
    Heat the oil in a large deep skillet to a temperature of 350°F. Fry the fillets for about 4 to 5 minutes on each side, or until golden. With a spatula or slotted spoon remove the fillets from the pan to drain on a bed of paper towels. Keep warm until ready to eat; serve with sauce and fresh lemon wedges, if desired.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.
    For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (5 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(27)

Write a review
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Swimming in tartar tanginess Hard to beat the ranchy zing with these crispy fish pieces. Even grilled fish would benefit from this sauce
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden valley fish i love fried fish and this is really good and delish
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fish with ranch dressing I like the taste of the tangy ranch dressing!!!!!!
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Who would have thought!? This seasoning really is for all food!
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! I have been putting ranch in my tartar sauce for over 20 years. My husband won’t eat it any other way.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, and, and good! Caught a 22lb catfish last weekend, filleted it and put a bunch in the freezer for later. I come across this recipe and had to try it. Not bad! Who would have thought ranch with fish? Give it a try
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fish dish This really brings out th flavor of your fish. It also adds to the flavor of th crust on fish. Sprinkle it on your fries also.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy treat This was really tasty, Had the kids help make it. They love the bold , flavors. It was easy to prepare and I would recommend it to others.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dish! I followed the recipe for the most part and the change I made was a good one. I left out a teaspoon of the seasoning that went into the dipping sauce and I put it in my breading mixture for the fish. To season it up, if you will. I’m so glad I did because I’m pretty sure I’ll put it in most of my breading for any dish, it was so good!
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tartar Sauce Family loved it, really easy and quick. Add it to many seafood delights.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tartar sauce ever Made this to accompany some fried haddock sandwiches and french fries. My husband loved it so much he used it both on the sandwich and the fries. The next day I found him using the left-over as a chip dip! It is now my go-to tartar sauce.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is amazing! Tartar sauce will never be the same!!! The family loved it!
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sauce it is really good and goes along with your fish dinner you will be serving
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tartar Sauce at a whole new level We LOVE good tartar sauce and this definitely took it up a notch!
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tartar With A Twist Fish and Ranch pair perfectly in this recipe. added a tsp of the Ranch Packet to the breading for the fish.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I decided to make this on Christmas eve. Very happy I did! Turned out great, everybody loved it. Super flavorful, pretty easy to make. Admittedly, it was the tartar sauce that intrigued me, and what a fantastic twist to plain tartar! 5 stars!!
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this sauce! I decided to try this ranch tartar sauce the other day, and it is so good! I never thought to add ranch to tartar sauce but it was delicious. I used dill pickles instead of sweet because thats my preference. Will try again soon!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious fish! This was delicious, every part of the fish was tasty, juicy and the dipping sauce was amazing!! This will be a family favorite!
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fish with Ranch Tartar Sauce I really liked this recipe. I'm always racking my brain for a good sauce to serve with my fish. This one fits the bill!
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tartar sauce with ranch looks delectable I liked this recipe with Tilapia and using Hidden Valley in the Tartar sauce was an interesting twist and added a tangy flavoring
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much tastier than plain tartar sauce
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty This is a great twist on 'old-fashioned' tarter sauce.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fishy, fishy I am not much of a fish eater but this home made "tartar" sauce made a difference for me. I like to dip my fries in it too!
Date published: 2014-01-07
  • y_2020, m_2, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_143, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 112.08ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards