Save
Email
Print

Hidden Valley Fish Sticks

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 10 min
  • Total: 25 min
  • Servings: 4
Rated 4.4074/5 based on 27 customer reviews

Ingredients (7)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 pound fresh cod or halibut fillets, cut into strips
  • ½ cup vegetable oil

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Place the dressing, flour, eggs and bread crumbs in four separate shallow bowls. Season flour with pepper, stirring until combined.
  • Step 2
    Lightly coat each fish stick with dressing, then dredge in the flour. Dip in egg and then dredge in breadcrumbs until evenly coated.
  • Step 3
    In a large, deep skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat until shimmering. Working in batches, if necessary, place the fish sticks in the oil and cook for 5 minutes, or until golden and crispy.
  • Step 4
    Remove fish sticks from the skillet and drain on paper towels. Serve warm.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.
    For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (5 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(27)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and good! I made this but also added a couple of shakes of ranch to my breadcrumbs for extra ranch flavor (more is better for me:)) and instead of frying in oil I did mine in air fryer and it turned out perfect! Fish was tender, moist and very tasty and I served with a side dip of....yup Hidden Valley Ranch:)!!
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fish Sticks Good, quick and easy to make. Kids love them.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter loves it My daughter hates fish but surprisingly she loves the fish sticks that I made from this recipe. I was happy to see my daughter eating fish. It was easy to prepare and healthy.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grandson said a keeper I prepared these my my 6 year old grandson during recent visit. He loved them!! Rach dressing is great on so many things.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best fish stick dipping around! My little 3 year old granddaughter loves to dip her food in Ranch dressing! Fish is good for our bodies and this recipe is one that she loves.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandaughter ate fish! A grandmother now I haven't had a fish stick since I was a child. It was the memory of frozen bland store bought fish sticks that kept me away. I only tried this for my grandaughter who won't eat fish. Not only did she eat it I now enjoy fish sticks again!
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum Fried and with ranch - what a great combination. Great for my toddler too.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Homemade Is Best It's a bit more work but much better than that diced up fish that store bought fish sticks are made from. These are delicious.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fish Sticks What kid doesn't love fish sticks? These are extra tasty with Hidden Valley added.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These taste pretty good! These taste good baked. I do not fry anything. My grandchildren are pretty picky eaters and they kept asking for more. They are 4 and 6. So I was very pleased something that is good for them and that they liked. Yea!
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flaky Good Baked comes out nice and flaky tender and that's how I like it. Fried was a bit tougher and greasier, but some like it that way. Just depends on your taste. So much better than boxed though!
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely bake instead of fry. That way, these are much healthier than frozen boxed variety, And tastier, too.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good choice Much better than the frozen ones. I baked mine instead of frying them and they came out delicious.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed to bake I try to avoid frying foods as much as possible, so I changed this to baking instead of frying. It was a hit with everyone.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it Sorry, but we aren't a family that's into fish -- except salmon. I thought this was tasty and easy for the kids to eat, but they just didn't like it because it was fish.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and good Maybe a little more work than frozen fish sticks, but oh, sooooo much better!
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent way to add flavor and crunch to fish This is my favorite recipe using Hidden Valley Ranch. I love the flavor and crunch it gives to the fish. Everyone loves this when I serve it for dinner.
Date published: 2012-10-12
  • y_2020, m_2, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 127.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards