Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Homemade Restaurant Style Buttermilk Ranch

Enjoy all the flavors of your favorite Restaurant-Style Buttermilk Ranch from the comfort of your own kitchen. Our recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. Try it out today!

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 0 min
  • Servings 16
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website. For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

Steps (2)

  1. 1
    Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk until combined.
  2. 2

    Cover and chill for at least 30 minutes to let the dressing thicken.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(530 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

92 Reviews

4.8

recommend 90.2% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Ranch Dip This is the best dip for vegetables ever. I admit, I put in twice the paprika and it is so tasty the veggies are eaten first. Try dipping boiled shrimp into this dip and your tastebuds will flip. The consistency is perfect and the sour cream makes it extra creamy.
Date published: 2022-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dressing or dip So far made this twice love the paprika in it. We used it as a dip for veggies and salad.
Date published: 2022-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing flavor! I have made this ranch forever and my children, fiance & I love it so much! It is, hands down, THE best ranch and it's way cheaper than the grocery stores too. It's win-win!
Date published: 2022-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy ranch Made this a week ago and cannot get enough! I use it on EVERYTHING!! So delish
Date published: 2022-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent on everything!! Don't get me wrong, I love my bottled ranch but this easy recipe really gives a kick to my easy pasta salad. So fresh tasting!!
Date published: 2022-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Sounds great, but is easier to but in store then to make
Date published: 2022-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Homemade Buttermilk Ranch Great recipe. Make & keep some in Frig to use, Easy to make.
Date published: 2022-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste great Great recipe! Taste great with everything and the whole family will love!
Date published: 2022-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dressing Ever Family favorite. This dressing works on everything!
Date published: 2022-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never going back to store bought This was a huge hit with my family and now a must in our household.
Date published: 2022-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Tasty We tried this and prefer it over the bottled ranch you get at the store. Enjoy it by the globs!
Date published: 2022-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch dip I love this ranch dip . I love to dip my French Fries in this , it taste amazing!!!
Date published: 2022-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great flavor This dressing is so creamy and smooth. I make a batck once a week.
Date published: 2022-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite! This is my families favorite! We only use this and I would highly recommend this for all ranch lovers.
Date published: 2022-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful My daughter eats this all the time. She loves it with chips or pretzels
Date published: 2022-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thick ,creamy Ranch I first tasted Ranch dressing when I was 14 years old and my fam moved from Cali to Oregon..its been love ever since. My fav is making it with buttermilk..creamy , dreamy Ranch.
Date published: 2022-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Homemade HVR Restaurant Style So rich and creamy and nice and thick, everyone enjoyed this. Will continue making it.
Date published: 2022-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Walt's restaurant Marion IL 25 year "secret" ranch This was the best salad bar in town secret ranch packet Until 15 years ago my friend had to work the dressing making area and busted orig dry orig recipe not his secret hidden v ranch on packet although this top recipe is great as a dip I still love my packet vs bottle dressing w helmanns only no other nothing but that mayo or taste isn't same be great as a dry bacon ranch or Chipotle ranch dry packet hint hint have love it!
Date published: 2022-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tweaked the original recipe and it's delicious! I tweaked the recipe as follows: I used 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup buttermilk, and the seasoning packet as called for. I omitted the other ingredients listed in the original recipe. With the way that I made it, I give it 5 stars! I will definitely make it this way again! I was tired of the bottled ranch dressings never tasting like the ranch from restaurants so I'm very glad I found this recipe and bought the "Restaurant-Style Dressing Buttermilk Recipe" packet and made it myself - it came out super good, way better than bottled store-bought ranch dressings in my opinion. I will be using it as a dressing as well as a dip!
Date published: 2022-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made once a week! We love this recipe and make it at least once a week. Great taste and many uses.
Date published: 2022-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect dip or dressing My husband does not like any type of onions so I left out the chives (tho I would have preferred the chives in the recipe) but it still came out delicious. the sour cream gives it a great texture and this is perfect as a dip or dressing
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tangy and smooth This recipe is so easy to follow and customize, and the resulting dressing is so tasty. It is perfect for dipping, drizzling, or even on its own.
Date published: 2022-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best taste I have made buttermilk dressing for decades and also use the dips never thought of combining the buttermilk with sour cream it brings out the flavor that much more. Love it
Date published: 2022-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I would bathe in this dip.. Makes my toes tingle..
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple in our house The best of the best homemade buttermilk ranch has always been a staple in our house we use ranch pretty much everyday, definitely the feeling of home, brings peace and happiness to our lives.
Date published: 2021-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste great Awesome recipe will definitely be a keeper for future dishes
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is the best dressing. It's my favorite for veggies.
Date published: 2021-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic! Easy to make and better than the bottle. Always the best! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Dressing on Salad Changes the buttermilk dressing somewhat - a little thicker.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only ranch I can eat now Love makeing this ranch it is miles above any other. And way better than the bottle. I do tweak it I alittle and add more buttermilk, sour cream, and seasonings like dill.
Date published: 2020-12-13
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_18574, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 198ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards