Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Homemade Restaurant Style Buttermilk Ranch

Enjoy all the flavors of your favorite Restaurant-Style Buttermilk Ranch from the comfort of your own kitchen. Our recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. Try it out today!

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 0 min
  • Servings 16

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website. For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

Steps (2)

  1. 1
    Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk until combined.
  2. 2

    Cover and chill for at least 30 minutes to let the dressing thicken.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(356 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

65 Reviews

4.8

recommend 90.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is the best dressing. It's my favorite for veggies.
Date published: 2021-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic! Easy to make and better than the bottle. Always the best! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Dressing on Salad Changes the buttermilk dressing somewhat - a little thicker.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only ranch I can eat now Love makeing this ranch it is miles above any other. And way better than the bottle. I do tweak it I alittle and add more buttermilk, sour cream, and seasonings like dill.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Take out the MSG I can’t believe with all the scientific knowledge that MSG is so detrimental to our health that HVR products are still LOADED with the junk! Come on people, get rid of it!!
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have been buying restaurant-style dressing for years the mix kind 1 c buttermilk and 1 c real mayo, can not find at walmart anymore. I suppose you have quit making.? I have been using for 40 years. I would not recommend the milk mix!
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delish This is the best dressing. It's my favorite for veggies and if you let it sit over night in the fridge.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy crowd favorite! Have now made this a few times, and everyone loves this way more than than the store bought vegetable tray with premade “ranch dip”. I took this dip, along with a self made veggie platter, and a) the quality of the veggies I prepared was better and without the markings of being old, and b) everyone was using my dip for both trays! LOL there was so much left of the other dip! Also, I used the full amount of paprika, DELISH! Have been asked to make it to go with a meal drop for someone who’s going through some health trials in my building.
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Agree - hard to go back to bottle! While I love the convenience of the ready to use bottle, this tastes so much fresher. I feel lazy picking up the bottle or offering it to my family.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicious! I used to only buy the bottled ranch. After making this recipe there is no way I could go back!
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can’t go back This is absolutely delicious and I can’t just go back to the bottle now. It was easy to make and wonderful to enjoy.
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty! I love the homemade ranch! It is super tasty and I think it is better fresh vs the bottled! Either is great though.
Date published: 2020-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good consistency, too garlicky Consistency is great for dipping, but not the best for salads if that is what you are wanting. I found better success doing a 4:3 mayo:buttermilk recipe skipping the sour cream, and a little lighter on the garlic. Would make again, but only for a specific dish, and not to have as a general purpose ranch.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and quick This was easy and quick to make plus it goes along with everything.
Date published: 2020-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best homemade ranch recipe! This is my goto homemade ranch recipe because it is so easy and can be made ahead of time for parties!
Date published: 2020-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Super Easy to make and tastes great on anything and everything
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! I thought so much more would have gone into this. It was the absolute best! We ordered outback and I forgot to order ranch so I used my packet and followed this recipe and it was the best ranch I’ve ever had!
Date published: 2020-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! So good, taste just like the restaurant ranch! Our family just loves it!
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! I make this dip for everything. My family loves it! It takes just like what you would get in a salad bar. It makes any occasion feel special.
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just like grandma's buttermilk ranch Enjoyed this buttermilk ranch very much, I used smoke paprika.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Why i never thought about this idea.This sounds so interesting
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This one is a little more involved, but worth the effort. it's awesome! DO use the paprika.
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to Ranch This is the easiest & best way to Ranch. Delicious recipe.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Ranch I love making this ranch to have on hand at home! I use this as a dip, a dressing and a spread and it tastes so good. It has a little tang and a lot of creaminess and so much great ranch flavor. This is great for dipping veggies and chips, I also love using it on salads, veggies and pizza. This is a favorite recipe and tastes great!
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW !! Such an easy way to make ranch whenever you need it. Will not run out of ranch again.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creamy Ranch Delicious and great for when you have company a rich and tasty ranch!
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Staple I have made this many times - a staple recipe for family and company. It will never disappoint! Easy to make!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Delicious and a classic favorite ! This has always been a favorite of mine and Ill make it over and over again !
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Around Have made this for years for salads and dip for parties... it’s the best
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Made this and my family was hooked,I have made it several times
Date published: 2019-03-03
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_18574, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 78.05ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards