Mini Burger Calzones

  • Prep: 7 min
  • Cook: 25 min
  • Total: 32 min
  • Servings: 2
Rated 4.7123/5 based on 73 customer reviews
Recipe courtesy of The Chew

Ingredients (16)

Filling:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ lb ground beef
  • 3 cloves garlic (peeled, minced)
  • ½ tsp dried thyme
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste)

Onion Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ cup yellow onion (peeled, small diced)
  • ½ cup dill pickle chips (minced)
  • ½ cup yellow mustard

To Build:

  • all-purpose flour (for dusting)
  • 1 lb store-bought pizza dough (room temperature)
  • olive oil
  • ½ cup cheddar cheese (shredded)
  • Flaky sea salt

Steps (7)

  • Step 1
    Preheat oven to 400°F.
  • Step 2
    Grease two baking sheets with oil and set aside.
  • Step 3
    For the Filling:
    Heat a large sauté pan over medium heat and add olive oil. Add ground beef and cook until browned, breaking up meat with back of a wooden spoon, about 7–9 minutes. Add garlic, thyme, and paprika, and cook an additional minute. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside to cool.
  • Step 4
    For the Onion Sauce:
    Heat a small sauté pan over medium heat and add olive oil. Add onion and cook until softened. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside to cool. Once cooled, add the dill pickles and mustard, and mix to combine.
  • Step 5
    To Build:
    On a lightly floured surface roll out dough to 1/4-inch thick. Using a 3-inch round biscuit cutter, cut dough into rounds, about 20 total.
  • Step 6
    On each 3-inch round add 1 tablespoon of beef mixture, then 1/2 tablespoon of cheese and 2 teaspoons of sauce. Take one end of dough and fold over the mixture to the other end of dough. Pinch the edges together and fold over to seal. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with flaky sea salt. Cut slits on top of calzone to let steam escape. Transfer to the prepared baking sheets and bake until golden brown, 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.
  • Step 7
    Serve on platter and serve with Hidden Valley® Jalapeño Bacon Ranch for dipping.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Picked Just For You

See all recipes

Reviews
(73)

Write a review
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea I tried these but made a couple of changes. I omitted the onion sauce and just used Hidden Valley Ranch. I swapped the thyme for tarragon. They came out very tasty!
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty! These mini burger calzones are phenomenal. Super tasty and pretty easy to make. My kids love them any time, but my husband always begs me to make them for his football get togethers. Delish!
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great flavor and was really liked at the last get together we had. will be making this again
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different Puts a nice twist on a calzone . Great for parties.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great change up for an appetizer Was looking for something different for an appetizer and tried this. It's really good
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different, but good! This is a great recipe to get your kids involved in. So delicious!
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quick and easy to make and a hit with the family!!!
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Great flavor of Ranch. Perfect for parties. Delicious!
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Delicious OMG these are delicious! The perfect grab and go sandwich. So glad I found this recipe!
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Take 'em with you These look so easy to make and easy to take with you
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On the go My Son calls these "Burger Pockets", great idea when you need to make something to grab and go!
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor We made these a little while ago and there were no leftovers. The whole family loves them ! Definately will make again
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Very easy and fun to make for my family! Has tons of flavor and they always want seconds and thirds!!
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Will be something different looks easy to make & serve
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I felt surprised by this simple and fun to make/eat/share recipe. I may need to double it!
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Easy to make and delicious! My family loves these!
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More Please! Made these for a little snack! Way better than I thought they would be!
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't wait I cannot wait to try these two look like so much fun to eat
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mini Burger Calzones Great for gatherings / parties as well as for meal times.
Date published: 2019-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks tasty These look really goood. I love calzones and these sound interesting.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Can't wait to make....looks absolutely delicious!!
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intrestinggg... I am planning to make this one day soon for my husband and 3 kids so wish me luck!!
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty idea for little ones Made these for dinner and kids enjoyed as well as hubby. Added the Ranch seasoning to the ground beef for extra ranchness.
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy calzone These are the best tasting calzones,we found them easy to fix
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone loves this one We made these when having a friends and family gathering. They were such a hit we actually ran out! I would recommend always making more than you think you'll need.
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so easy THese were very easy to make and my kids loved them. I will be making them again
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to follow Easy recipe to follow. It tastes delicious and it is creative.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty Treat Great recipe and puff pastry works too instead of pizza dough.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty Very tasty and great for a snack at a ballgame or just at home. Easy to make
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Ranchy! So Ranch! Much Ranch! Very Ranch! Nice Ranchness <3
Date published: 2018-11-29
  • y_2019, m_10, d_20, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_15445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 136.41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT