Save
Email
Print

Mini Burger Calzones

  • Prep: 7 min
  • Cook: 25 min
  • Total: 32 min
  • Servings: 2
Rated 4.7125/5 based on 80 customer reviews
Recipe courtesy of The Chew

Ingredients (16)

Filling:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ lb ground beef
  • 3 cloves garlic (peeled, minced)
  • ½ tsp dried thyme
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste)

Onion Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ cup yellow onion (peeled, small diced)
  • ½ cup dill pickle chips (minced)
  • ½ cup yellow mustard

To Build:

  • all-purpose flour (for dusting)
  • 1 lb store-bought pizza dough (room temperature)
  • olive oil
  • ½ cup cheddar cheese (shredded)
  • Flaky sea salt

Steps (7)

  • Step 1
    Preheat oven to 400°F.
  • Step 2
    Grease two baking sheets with oil and set aside.
  • Step 3
    For the Filling:
    Heat a large sauté pan over medium heat and add olive oil. Add ground beef and cook until browned, breaking up meat with back of a wooden spoon, about 7–9 minutes. Add garlic, thyme, and paprika, and cook an additional minute. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside to cool.
  • Step 4
    For the Onion Sauce:
    Heat a small sauté pan over medium heat and add olive oil. Add onion and cook until softened. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside to cool. Once cooled, add the dill pickles and mustard, and mix to combine.
  • Step 5
    To Build:
    On a lightly floured surface roll out dough to 1/4-inch thick. Using a 3-inch round biscuit cutter, cut dough into rounds, about 20 total.
  • Step 6
    On each 3-inch round add 1 tablespoon of beef mixture, then 1/2 tablespoon of cheese and 2 teaspoons of sauce. Take one end of dough and fold over the mixture to the other end of dough. Pinch the edges together and fold over to seal. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with flaky sea salt. Cut slits on top of calzone to let steam escape. Transfer to the prepared baking sheets and bake until golden brown, 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.
  • Step 7
    Serve on platter and serve with Hidden Valley® Jalapeño Bacon Ranch for dipping.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (8 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone loves this one We made these when having a friends and family gathering. They were such a hit we actually ran out! I would recommend always making more than you think you'll need.
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so easy THese were very easy to make and my kids loved them. I will be making them again
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to follow Easy recipe to follow. It tastes delicious and it is creative.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty Treat Great recipe and puff pastry works too instead of pizza dough.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty Very tasty and great for a snack at a ballgame or just at home. Easy to make
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Ranchy! So Ranch! Much Ranch! Very Ranch! Nice Ranchness <3
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snack for the Ballgame !! This is a Great dish for Superbowl Sunday or any day Lol :)
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delish Super tasty wonderful dish to have. Great anytime.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone liked them We all like classic and traditional food in our house m, but I always like to throw some twists on things to make them different! These were tasty and everyone enjoyed them!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and Tasty Was easy to make and the kids ate them. Thanks for the recipe
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I am super excited to make these again . They were everyone faveirite last party .
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks amazing this is perfect for the upcoming holidays as a quick yummy dish for everyone.
Date published: 2018-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Calzones! I absolutely love this recipe! Amazing calzones!!!
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Feast Love Calzones. Excellent recipe. All the cheeses one loves,lots of mushrooms and all the meats you love. CALZONE EXTRODINAR!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family hit! I tried this for my family & they all loved it! Age ranges from 3 years to 33years old.
Date published: 2018-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So delicious Super easy to make and so delicious my family loved these calzones!
Date published: 2018-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy awesome easy recipe. my child loves eating these and the ranch
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family Favorite We love making these on family game night. Easy to make and everyone loves them
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right amount of Jalapeno & Bacon Flavor This was easier to follow than I thought it would be. The Hidden Valley Jalapeno 7 Bacon adds just the right flavor kick, not too spicy for kids.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look good, taste better! These little guys look good and taste even better. I made this up for lunch and they could not have turned out better!
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to pot luck recipe ! I always make thing when going to pot lucks! It is a crowd fav and everyone asks for the recipe!
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mini Burger Calzones Mini burger for A side dish meal for the whole family to enjoy
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SLB18 Delicious, fast, and easy. Enjoyed by everyone at the party
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saturday's game snack Game Day Favorite , quick and simple ingredients. Always a crowd winner.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This was fast and easy my kids loved them I would make them all the time
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good These were very good and easy to make. I like them even without the ranch!
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good good and the dip is even better then the burgers! <3
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad I really thought I wasn't going to like these since I don't like Spicy but they weren't that Spicey at all.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mini burger calzones a great snack for parties.goes good with ice cold beer.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Made these last night, and they were soooo good. Only thing I changed was to use smoked paprika. Will definitely be making these on a regular basis.
Date published: 2018-07-31
  • y_2020, m_10, d_25, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_15445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 166.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards