Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

How to Make Polenta with Mushroom and Beef

Give leftovers new life with this creamy polenta recipe. Cozy and comforting, this combo of Mississippi Beef, mushrooms and ranch is like a big hug for the whole family. It’s the perfect way to warm up a chilly night.

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 25 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (6)

  • water, milk, chicken stock or vegetable stock (or blend) 5 cups
  • medium or coarse cornmeal/polenta 1 cup
  • butter, divided 5 tablespoons
  • kosher salt and ground black pepper, to taste
  • beef broth ½ cup
  • shredded leftover Mississippi beef 3 cups
For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Add water, milk or stock to a medium sized sauce pot and place over high heat. Whisk in the polenta so that it does not clump up. Bring to a boil and stir continuously until the polenta thickens and begins to bubble.

  2. 2

    Turn the heat down to a low simmer and cook for about 20 minutes, stirring frequently with a spatula and making sure to scrape the bottom of the pan so it does not burn. Once the polenta is thick and tender, whisk in 3 tablespoons of the butter and season with salt.  

  3. 3

    In a large sauté pan set over medium heat, melt the remaining butter. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, until browned. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

  4. 4

    Pour in the beef broth and add the leftover Mississippi beef. Continue to cook, stirring, until beef is warmed through and mushrooms are incorporated. Serve warm, spooned over the polenta.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(39 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

32 Reviews

4.7

recommend 81.3% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Easy meal to make after a long day at work and it's very yummy!
Date published: 2022-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I Tried This was a first time making this dish. It was easy and great tasting. Glad I tried!
Date published: 2022-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty This was really good and simple to make loving the recipes on this site!
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Easy! Easy prep, Easy clean up, and the family loved! Checks all the boxes for an easy, tasty family meal! Such a great recipe!
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved this I made this for entertaining. It was a hit with everyone, even my pickiest of children. A must try!
Date published: 2022-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to make What a fun meal, super easy and kids loved the big change
Date published: 2022-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tasting! Very easy to make! A different option with just the right amount of mushroom.
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and tasty I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Delicious! So quick and easy to make using leftover roast. Perfect!
Date published: 2022-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five Starts... yummy This was very good and so easy to make. The whole family loved it
Date published: 2022-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polenta with Mushroom and Beef Mushroom lovers dream. Makes a great side dish. Serve anytime
Date published: 2022-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to do I already had the ingredents on the self just need a good recipie . thanks
Date published: 2021-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious This was lovely hearty and scrumptious will make again and again
Date published: 2021-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes great and easy to make Made this last night and we loved it. This will be made often at our house.
Date published: 2021-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polenta I have never tried Polenta before and this was delicious. Next time I will make it with more mushrooms and add onions.
Date published: 2021-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polenta with mushrooms and beef Polenta with mushrooms and beef, had to make 1/2 without the mushrooms my husband dosen't like them. That's ok more for me to love.
Date published: 2021-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family time Everyone simply love this recipe when I make it. It never has any left overs so clean up is a breeze
Date published: 2021-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ??? I considered making this but I think the recipe is missing a few ingredients. Where are the mushrooms and the Hidden Valley Ranch? Is anything else missing?
Date published: 2021-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Beef and Mushroom Polenta There were no mushrooms in the ingredient list, so I adapted it to our taste. I added about 2/3 cup of chopped onions and an equal amount of mushrooms. My husband was a little leery at first, but he loved it and said it’s definitely a keeper recipe! Thank you for a great way to use some of that great leftover MIssissippi Pot Roast!
Date published: 2021-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds Interesting Would love to try and prepare it for a family dinner coming Friday.
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to do Was so simple to make was very good to will make again
Date published: 2021-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Tasty Combination Looking for something different, My better half and I gave this a try and it was Great! Very Easily Prepared.
Date published: 2021-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe I tried it and really liked it, I will have my grand kids try it when they come over again
Date published: 2021-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a great How-To! Love how detailed this recipe is. It is very easy to follow and I'm looking forward to making it for family dinner!
Date published: 2021-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How To Make Polenta With Mushrooms and Beef My spouse really enjoyed the dish. He asked for a second helping.
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good Another great way to use the Mississippi mud roast leftovers. Delicious
Date published: 2021-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Polenta with beef and mushroom is very easy to make and very tasty
Date published: 2021-07-10
  • y_2022, m_8, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_39016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 113.3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards