Mississippi Roast

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 8 hr
  • Total: 8 hr 15 min
  • Servings: 6–8
Rated 4.8382/5 based on 136 customer reviews

Ingredients (9)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Season chuck roast generously with salt and pepper. Rub enough flour over the roast to evenly coat the surface.
  • Step 2
    In a large skillet pan, warm oil over high heat until very hot but not smoking. Sear the roast until browned and crusty on all sides, about 10 minutes total.
  • Step 3
    Place roast in the pot of a slow cooker. Pour beef broth around the roast, then sprinkle with seasoning mix, top with butter, and scatter pepperoncini over and around the roast.
  • Step 4

    Cover the slow cooker and set on low heat for 7 to 8 hours. When ready, shred the meat, mixing with the sauce in the slow cooker, and serve over bread, egg noodles, or potatoes.

    Time-saving tip: In a rush? Swap the flour for one 1-ounce package of dry au jus gravy mix and skip the step for browning the meat.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Picked Just For You

See all recipes

Reviews
(136)

Write a review
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love roasts for fall and winter Need to make a roast this year for a cool night this winter.
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! This recipe is so good and so easy. A great Sunday meal.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect This was so surprisingly delicious. Who knew that combining these items in a slow cooker and walking away for the day would make such an amazing meal.
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s so easy! This roast is amazing!!!!! It’s easy. Drop and go recipe. Come home to perfect deliciousness the whole family loves!
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only way I make a roast I make this roast all the time, instead of beef broth i use Au jus and a stick of butter. I also have done this with pork.
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best roast!!! It was a hit with the whole family!
Date published: 2019-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Delicious This is the best roast, so quick and easy to make. It taste so good. I serve it with rice instead of noodles.
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be easier These simple ingredients make the best roast for my family. And there's no fuss in the crock pot. Just set and forget.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome to come home to something filling and delicious from the Crock pot after work!
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most tender roast ever! I've made this for my family twice now! It's always melt in your mouth delicious! It's in the rotation at least once every couple weeks now!
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best roast A family favorite love it with mash potatoes. Great on sub rolls.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best roast ever! This is a recipe I have shared most often. It is so flavorful and has become a weekly demand in our house. Especially amazing with venison roasts!!!!
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! This is a favorite go to in my house. I usually do this in the Instant Pot so we don’t have to wait. It’s fall apart goodness!
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for any night of the week A friend made me this dish and I had to come here to get the recipe a while back. It was so delicious I am making it again soon and probably will regularly. I didn't even like egg noodles before now.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Roast I make Mississippi Roast at least once a month. This is the best roast I have ever had. I make it slightly different. I just put the raw roast in the crockpot. Sprinkle one whole package of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing all over the top. Then one package of au jus all over the top. Then place one whole stick of butter (I use salted but you can use unsalted, no margarine) on top of roast. Lastly, place 8 (or however many you like but at least 6 - 8) on top of roast and close top. I cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. I don't open it umtil the end of the 6 to 8 hours. Do not open and stir. Just leave it to cook. It is the BEST tasting roast I've ever had!
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family fave! I make this regularly but just a tad different. I sear the outside in my cast iron and throw it in the crockpot with ranch powder, pepperonccini, and 1 stick of butter. I don't add oil or flour but I do add a single pack of French onion soup powder. So good and all 5 kids absolutely love it!
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never knew beef could melt in your mouth until now Had this the first time last year when my momma made it. I ate it twice a day for 4 days in a row after that. I've been craving it ever since! If you like a smidgen of heat, I recommend adding tamed jalapenos to it AFTER it's done, much like a garnish.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is my new favorite way to make roast! The ranch gives it a perfect flavor! A "must save" recipe!
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best slowcooker pot roast EVER! This is my favorite crockpot roast recipe EVER! I like adding a packet of Italian salad dressing mix & brown gravy mix (instead of flour) too it as well for even more flavor :)
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious The flavors are delicious and super easy to make. I hate hearing my stove come summer time and this is the perfect dish for a crock pot. It's one of the most requested meals I make. Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe, I make it keto by adding... Instead of flour I use Xantham gum, just a tsp or two to thicken and it makes a delicious keto meal.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the flavor! This is a staple in my household. Its requested often. I usually add some of the pepperoncini juice to increase the pepper flavor. I use this recipe for beef, pork, or chicken.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe I make Mississippi roast often, I make mine a little different. So many great ways to eat this great dish.... leftover make great soup... great on buns with cheese or wraps with corn rice cheese and great over mashed potatoes or rice
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love easy dinners! I serve this on French rolls with provolone cheese melted under the broiler.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A winner every time This is a can't miss winner every time. Easy set & forget cooking & the end result is delicious! I've made this many many times.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummo Roast I love roast and meals like this can stretch longer for me and my family. I made this and had my parents over. They raved about it
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moistness and flavor!! This worked so well with a boneless pork loin!! used Au Jus instead of flour; browned, used vegetable broth, did in slow cooker...will become a standard in my house!! We rarely eat beef so thought I'd try the pork!! The Ranch really sets it off.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Roast First time I’ace made this recipe and I’m so happy I did. It was moist and delicious. I served it over rice. I will be making Mississippi Roast regularly from now on!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Male this regularly! I love the Mississippi Roast! It is my special dinner for family dinners.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch really makes this pop I never thought to add ranch to beef, this was so good
Date published: 2019-03-23
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_125
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6363, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 119.67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT