Save
Email
Print

Mississippi Roast

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 8 hr
  • Total: 8 hr 15 min
  • Servings: 6
Rated 4.8765/5 based on 332 customer reviews

Ingredients (9)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Season chuck roast generously with salt and pepper. Rub enough flour over the roast to evenly coat the surface.
  • Step 2
    In a large skillet pan, warm oil over high heat until very hot but not smoking. Sear the roast until browned and crusty on all sides, about 10 minutes total.
  • Step 3
    Place roast in the pot of a slow cooker. Pour beef broth around the roast, then sprinkle with seasoning mix, top with butter, and scatter pepperoncini over and around the roast.
  • Step 4

    Cover the slow cooker and set on low heat for 7 to 8 hours. When ready, shred the meat, mixing with the sauce in the slow cooker, and serve over bread, egg noodles, or potatoes.

    Time-saving tip: In a rush? Swap the flour for one 1-ounce package of dry au jus gravy mix and skip the step for browning the meat.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (582 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from yumm o this is an easy and yummy recipe to make , every one loved it
Date published: 2020-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delish Hands down one of my family’s favorite meals! Easy, and delish.
Date published: 2020-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delicious If you haven't made this recipe you are missing out. Meat is so tender and packed with so much flavor.
Date published: 2020-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy My wife has been making this for a while now and it has such flavor and is extremely easy to make
Date published: 2020-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Roast Our family eats this at least twice a month. Its great on mashed potatoes or rice and the leftovers make awesome open face sandwiches with gravy
Date published: 2020-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a WOW meal Family loves this meal. The flavor is out of this world. Will make more often .
Date published: 2020-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super tender The meat turned out super tender. I found it helpful to sear and brown the meat on all sides before cooking it. It seemed to make the process quicker and help enhance the flavor.
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great meals for left overs I do not brown my roast and I add Au Jus and extra ranch powder to the meat. It will make it's own gravy. My husband loves it and it's great for french dip sandwiches the next day.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best roast ever! This is my go to recipe for a great roast. I just throw everything in the crackpot and forget about it. I've even used a frozen roast when making it. I do add more stock toward the end of cooking because I like to shred my roast and with the regular recipe it doest make enough gravy.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from None bettet After trying this I make it about once a month. Simple easy to make. And so so good. Leftovers are even better
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy I used stew bits as well as dry au jou. I like a lot of flavor so I used 2 au jou and 1-2 ranch packets with the beef broth.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome meal Great meal! Easy to prepare and tasty-great served over veggies such as broccoli or green beans.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best roast ever! Made this for my husband and me and we could not get over how delicious and tender the roast came out. I will use this recipe from now on!
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe This is a great recipe, but even better the next day on sandwiches.
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite meal This is by far my favorite meal. My mom would make it for me at least 3 times a month. Now I make it for my and my husband who loves it just as much as I do. Such a simple recipe but amazing flavors!
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best thing ever It just gets better as left overs...that is if there is any left....
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tate I like this recipe makes a great tender roast with great flavor. I used the juice from the peppers instead of beef broth.
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Have always seen recipes for this and have no idea why the heck I never made it!!!
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Roast I think I've EVER made Made this for my daughter, & her family. My eldest granddaughter has been known to be a bit of a picky eater, so I removed the peppicinni's so she wouldn't see them. I made noodles, and corn, and filled my granddaughters plates, and by the time I sat down the eldest granddaughter was asking for MORE!!!
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is, by far, my favorite pot roast! And so easy.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loved it I made this in my crock pot my family loved it. It had great flavor, I will make this more often.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good will defintely be making it like this more often
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure how it got it's name but we'll take it! Once I Found this recipe and made this, I won't make a roast any other way. It melts in your mouth and the taste is indescribable. I've already used my leftover broth and if I have a little meat left to make a soup or stew...again, taste is beyond belief!
Date published: 2020-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy recipe So full of flavor and easy to make. Simple but good
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste I made this a month ago and im so happy i did it tasted great.
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good name I have made this several times and have cut back in the salt and only use 1/2-3/4 of a PKG otherwise it's way to salty
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi pot roast sliders I take king's wian rules cut them in a have put the pot roast on their add provolone cheese put the pot back on and throw out any oven for about 5 minutes oh it's so good
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to follow ... Delicious no matter what type of meat you use ... pork, beef, venison!
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite I made a couple small changes but it is now a family favorite! Make this almost weekly!!
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from slow cooker envy put the roast in before work and when you get home dinner is done.
Date published: 2020-05-30
  • y_2020, m_7, d_5, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_311
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6363, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 136.18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards