Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Mississippi Pot Roast Recipe

Our Mississippi Pot Roast recipe turns your slow cooker into a savory cauldron of zesty ranch goodness. Our Mississippi roast with pepperoncinis and ranch seasoning makes for the ultimate weeknight delicacy. Shake on the HVR Seasoning before, during and after – and keep a ladle handy because your whole family will be coming back for seconds, thirds and fourths.

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 8 hr
  • Servings 6

Ingredients (9)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1
    Season chuck roast generously with salt and pepper. Rub enough flour over the roast to evenly coat the surface.
  2. 2
    In a large skillet pan, warm oil over high heat until very hot but not smoking. Sear the roast until browned and crusty on all sides, about 10 minutes total.
  3. 3
    Place roast in the pot of a slow cooker. Pour beef broth around the roast, then sprinkle with seasoning mix, top with butter, and scatter pepperoncini over and around the roast.
  4. 4

    Cover the slow cooker and set on low heat for 7 to 8 hours. When ready, shred the meat, mixing with the sauce in the slow cooker, and serve over bread, egg noodles, or potatoes.

    Time-saving tip: In a rush? Swap the flour for one 1-ounce package of dry au jus gravy mix and skip the step for browning the meat.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch

HVR’s Mississippi Pot Roast turns your slow cooker into a savory cauldron of zesty ranch goodness. Make it for #RanchNight tonight! #GrandmaApproved

♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(1386 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

415 Reviews

4.9

recommend 90.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it Definitely a family favorite enjoyed it going to be making this
Date published: 2021-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Pot Roast I made this recipe, and it is delicious! I added root vegetables as well for a complete meal.
Date published: 2021-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and easy! I add brown gravy mix or beefy onion soup mix if I have it. It’s easy to tweak the taste for variety.
Date published: 2021-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good I made this recipe months ago, and it is delicious!
Date published: 2021-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy Short prep before work, ready when got home. We add celery and sweet potatoes
Date published: 2021-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy! I love how easy this is to make! It's my recipe to make when I have a long work week!
Date published: 2021-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it We’ve had this several times and it’s always a hit!
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in the Foodie as well I cooked this recipe in the Ninja Foodie using the pressure cooker for only an hour and the meat was soooo tender. I've also done the same thing using stewed tomatoes with the Ranch seasoning and peppers and it was equally delicious.
Date published: 2021-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make! This has to be the easiest and tastiest roast ever. I’ve served it with rolls at parties. I have never had one disappointed person when serving this roast!
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melt in your mouth! I actually saw this recipe on TikTok so I tired it out and OMG was it amazing!
Date published: 2021-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a-Mississippi Pot Roaast aww ya know what i mean a-mississippi pot roaast she taught me everything no really this looks real good.
Date published: 2021-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This recipe is full of flavor and takes almost no prep. This is so good
Date published: 2021-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Pot Roast I make this every few weeks ! The flavor is so good !
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good!! Love making this! I usually make this for dinner at least once a month (my family would eat is everyday if id make it).
Date published: 2021-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciousness I love making the Mississippi Roast it’s quick and easy to prepare in the crockpot. This recipe has a great flavor and the roast will melt in your mouth! It’s pure Deliciousness!!
Date published: 2021-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicken? Pork? Turkey legs? I made this exact same receipe using Chicken, pork or turkey as the meat. Excellent with all.
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family's new favorite Easy to make on Sunday afternoon. My family loves the flavor. It is never dry.
Date published: 2021-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family’s new favorite have made it 4 times in a little over a month
Date published: 2021-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy pot roast I fixed this for my family and they loved it. It is an easy one pot recipe. Very flavorful.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy and delicious Made for my family and they loved it. Very easy to make and had a lot of flavor
Date published: 2021-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected excellence! I tried this recipe with the cheap 6.00 roast I found at my store. I didn’t want to pay 23.00 for the prime roast. This was so delicious, tender and will be my go to roast recipe from now on. I even went back to the store to get more of those lower priced roasts! Served over egg noodles. Family gobbled this up humming after every bite!
Date published: 2021-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved It! My husband and I were in the mood for something different than what we normally have. So I tried this recipe and WE LOVED IT! So simple and very few ingredients. Will be making again and again and again.....
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite roast recipe, my go to Made this roast recipe and it was fabulous! Juicy, tender and so yummy! We served it with egg noodles!
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tender and delicious I withheld the flour to make it more keto friendly. It shredded wonderfully it was so tender.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sandwiches. We use the slow cooker a lot and this is perfect for an easy meal. Put the meat on a French roll and top with provolone to make a yummy French dip sandwich!
Date published: 2021-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melt in your mouth good I have made this so many times but I’ve never tried with pasta! Will be trying that twist soon!
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can I give it more stars This recipe is spectacular! I read the recipe. It sounded terrible. I tasted it at a friend house. this recipe is fabulous!!! It's a family favorite.
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic 5 stars just isn't enough for this recipe. It deserves so much more!!!
Date published: 2021-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe I made this recipe for my husband, son and myself three weeks ago. I didn't think I would like the pepperconi in this, but it was really good. I did add more broth and I cooked in my pressure cooker. I will have this as one of my keepers.
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite Good for those cold winter nights. This is a family favorite.
Date published: 2021-01-11
  • y_2021, m_12, d_2, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_387
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6363, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 32.99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards