Save
Email
Print
Play button

Mississippi Roast

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 8 hr
  • Total: 8 hr 15 min
  • Servings: 6–8
Rated 4.84/5 based on 175 customer reviews

Ingredients (9)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Season chuck roast generously with salt and pepper. Rub enough flour over the roast to evenly coat the surface.
  • Step 2
    In a large skillet pan, warm oil over high heat until very hot but not smoking. Sear the roast until browned and crusty on all sides, about 10 minutes total.
  • Step 3
    Place roast in the pot of a slow cooker. Pour beef broth around the roast, then sprinkle with seasoning mix, top with butter, and scatter pepperoncini over and around the roast.
  • Step 4

    Cover the slow cooker and set on low heat for 7 to 8 hours. When ready, shred the meat, mixing with the sauce in the slow cooker, and serve over bread, egg noodles, or potatoes.

    Time-saving tip: In a rush? Swap the flour for one 1-ounce package of dry au jus gravy mix and skip the step for browning the meat.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (55 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(175)

Write a review
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Good! I'm not a huge fan of roast but my family is o I thought I'd try my hand at this recipe. I'm so glad I did because I really like it. I tweaked a few ingredients that were a bit on the spicy side but other than that i followed the recipe.
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family Favorite This recipe is one of the very few that the whole family will eat!!
Date published: 2019-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy quick week night meal or Sunday dinner ! Have made this each week once a week since I found this recipe
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious & Juicy Roast This recipe has become a family favorite. Rich flavor,and very filling! You'll come back for seconds!
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Roast! I made this roast for my family and it is the only way I will make it now! Absolutely delicious! We served it over mashed potatoes with a side of candied carrots, not a plate had a single drop left by the end of dinner. So good!
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Roast I made this it was a little different from this way but it was amazing. Now I have gotten my sis and mom making and they say they will only make roast this wY from now on. Always a hit
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious I made this for family and friends and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe it was amazing I served it with mashed potatoes and made sandwiches with the leftovers and that was delicious such a big hit will be making this very often
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very good never had ranch on any thing but chicken but this is great
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this! Have made this several times but omitted the flour..my wife cannot get enough of it!.
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Made this roast for company everyone loved it Simple easy recipe to make I definitely will be making again
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious meal I have made this roast several times using the rush recipe, and it is sooo yummy. I add potatoes and carrots to the crockpot and it makes a delicious meal for my family. I have received many compliments and even won an award at a party. I love quick and easy recipes!
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks amazing a fried made this and she was going to save me some and she said it was a hit at her party
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing no fail recipe! I have to admit that I was skeptical of this recipe when I first read it. However, after reading review after review about how everyone loved it, I decided to try it and just not tell my not so adventurous husband what I was going to do to the roast... He may have stumbled upon the Please-No-More-Recipes-From-Your-Tastebud-Missing-Friends once. Okay, maybe twice. He loved this roast, and asked for seconds. I've actually made this now a few times (at my husband's request, by the way), and can safely say that it does taste a lot better if you take the time to sear the roast first. If you don't, it's no big deal, it's still going to taste like a million bucks. I've made this in the crock pot and in the Instant Pot, and both turned out great. What prompted me to write this review was that last week, my husband requested this roast and I forgot to pick one up from the store. I did have chicken, though. I scanned the reviews to see if anyone had fixed it with chicken and I couldn't find any (although I am sure there is another separate recipe for that). I can safely say that if you forget to pick up a roast and have chicken, it will turn out pretty good, too.
Date published: 2019-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding flavor! This was a new recipe for me and the flavor was outstanding! Bold yet still allowed all the different tastes come through. Roast was very tender.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious! Pot Roast if not seasoned right could have a very bland flavor. Hidden Valley Ranch flavor really gives it a nice interested especially.
Date published: 2019-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roast beef I make the missippi recipe a lot. It is delicious
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Valley Mississippi Roast My spouse loves roast of any kind. This had lots of flavor, juice and tenderness to enjoy on a cool Fall day for dinner.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sensational!!! This is winning recipe and brings everyone to the table. Savory and delectable parade for your taste buds. Serve with Hidden Valley Ranch Crescent Rolls for a one-two-punch winner take all meal!
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love this recipe! We just use the packet of au jus instead of flour and omit the broth and pepperoncini. Comes out delicious every time!
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy & tasty I saw this recipe and just had to try it! It was very easy to make and my picky eater husband even liked it! It was an overall success.
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So DELISH!! I make this roast monthly. It is the easiest and so juicy.
Date published: 2019-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh Ya!!! This is delicious! Made it for dinner yesterday and it was melt in your mouth good!
Date published: 2019-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect roast for fall chills! We made this and it was so tender and delicious! Truly fall comfort food for my family.
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robust flavor for your roast Our Family loves to boasts about this roast beef recipe,we make it once a month
Date published: 2019-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious My husband and I are not big fans of roast, but we really loved this and have made it several times. We don’t make it any other way now.
Date published: 2019-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! This is perfect for a cold night in the fall. My family loves when I make it.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tasty The Mississippi Roast was so tender and tasted really good. Husband loved it.
Date published: 2019-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loved it We have this often. The whole family loves when I make it for supper.
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from short prep time It melts in your mouth!! It was absolutely delicious and so easy to prepare.
Date published: 2019-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our favorite way to have roast now! This smells sooo good when it’s cooking. We love this recipe and have tried 3 varieties of it this is a favorite!!
Date published: 2019-10-22
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_161
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_6363, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 76.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards