Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Whole Roasted Mississippi Chicken

Take it low ‘n slow with this simple twist on a whole roast chicken recipe. A slow cooker winner with incredibly easy prep and just 6 ingredients, mildly spicy pepperoncini peppers and ranch make this a down-home classic.

  • Prep Time 5 min
  • Cook Time 6 hr
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (5)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (3)

  1. 1

    Place the chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker. Sprinkle the ranch seasoning mix and the au jus mix evenly over the top and inside the cavity of the chicken.

  2. 2

    Slice the butter and place it over the top of the seasoned chicken; then distribute the pepperoncini evenly over the top and sides.

  3. 3

    Cook on low for 5–6 hours. Stir the sauce around the chicken and serve together, immediately.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(51 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

13 Reviews

4.7

recommend 84.6% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This make chicken rock! I love doing whole chicken, but I did mine on a rotisserie instead with great results!
Date published: 2022-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Family loved it it was so easy to prepare and taste great. Will be making often
Date published: 2022-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a good way to make chicken good way to make chicken. enjoyed by most. many are burned out on chicken, this was a good change
Date published: 2022-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Made this for my mom and I to eat Monday night dinner. The chicken was so tender and juicy. So easy to make. Will be making this again.
Date published: 2022-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious chicken This chicken was absolutely delicious! So easy to make in my slow cooker. I used the leftovers to make some chicken salad, it was great too!
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whole Roasted Mississippi Chicken The best chicken I have ever had. Falls off the bone. Very juicy.
Date published: 2022-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Chicken! The chicken turned out amazingly moist and delicious. It tasted great with HVR Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes.
Date published: 2021-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mississippi Chicken Delicious Family loved it it was so easy to prepare and taste great, it will be a regular meal in our house.
Date published: 2021-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Whole Chicken Mississippi Roast I don't like dry chicken. Probably would be better on second attempt.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good So good, this is one of our favorites to make. The whole family loves it
Date published: 2021-07-14
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_39124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 113.04ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards