Save
Email
Print

One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken

  • Prep: 10 min
  • Cook: 20 min
  • Total: 30 min
  • Servings: 6
Rated 4.3226/5 based on 31 customer reviews

Ingredients (8)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1

    In a medium bowl, toss the chicken and seasoning mix together until well-coated.

  • Step 2

    Warm the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat; when hot, add the chicken and cook until browned and cooked through (165°F).

  • Step 3

    Stir in the beans, salsa, rice, and water to the chicken; season with salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer, cover, reduce heat to low, and cook for 10 minutes, or until all of the liquid has been absorbed by the rice.

  • Step 4

    Let stand 5 minutes, then fluff and serve hot. (For a bit of freshness and added spice, garnish with fresh cilantro and diced jalapeño.)

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.
    For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (6 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(31)

Write a review
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one pan chicken meal I liked this recipe because being on the go, the easier dinner is the better! Few steps-one pan- great dinner. I left the black beans out and added a little more rice.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Prepare One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken is easy to prepare and this recipe makes enough for leftovers delicious.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So quick and easy I had cooked chicken and rice left from another meal, so preparation was a snap. I added the ranch mix with the tomatoes and allowed it to simmer a few minutes. Really tasty.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken I love making one-skillet dishes because clean-up is so easy. Also, you can add additional ingredients if you want.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One pan meal This recipe was not only fast and easy, but delicious . I love quick and easy, and this was it. Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Skillet Dish My husband and I loved it...enough for dinner and our lunches the next day. This is a keeper and so easy to prepare and cook..
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Meal This is a very delicious dish. My family really enjoyed. Will make again.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Tasty My family love this recipe and it was quite easy to prepare
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good, healthy dinner Made a few changes: doubled the ranch as suggested by others, used roasted New Mexico greens instead of the bell pepper and jalapeño, which I didn't have, used pinto beans, which I cook in bulk with salt pork and freeze, and (gulp) I used Frontier brand ranch seasoning because finding a way to use it was my sole reason for choosing this recipe in the first place. Also cooked rice separately because I made this in the morning to reheat for dinner and didn't want soggy rice. Over all, it was very tasty and healthy and it sure did use up that ranch seasoning. I'm just not sure that ranch belongs in what could easily be a nice pot of chicken chili.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anyone know how many weight watcher points in this meal?
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No worries Wow, did not have the cilantro or jalapeno and it still tasted great. Added salt pepper rosemary, chives. Topped it with choice of sour cream or cheese or avocado.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great with own flare Loved it but as always I added my own flare cook cilntro in with dish add touch of lime juice to chicken, as I felt it tasted slightly bland add onion, garlic powder and dash of cayenne pepper (no jalepeno). Also added sweet corn frozen brand. Like colors so use red yellow and green peppers rice was made on the side
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This is our new favorite dinner and even better thd next day.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite tasty! I've been looking for gluten-free, LOW-fat meals and this one is great! I cut the recipe in half since it was just for me - made about 3 servings. I made my own rice, so only added a little chicken stock with the chicken and again with the rice. Substituted red bell pepper and no jalapeño. Also added a little sour cream as a garnish with the cilantro. Very easy and tasty!
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick, easy, flavorful This dish uses on hand ingredients and is quick and easy. I only used 1 can of tomatoes and used 2 packages of multi grain medley minute rice. Also, I sprinkled mexican shredded cheese on my dish to finish it off. Very good.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe This was a great hit in with my family it had a lot of flavor it was a quick and easy recipe
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe sounded so good and got decent reviews, so we tried it for dinner and couldn't have been more disappointed. I used two packets of dressing mix, and there was no ranch flavor in any aspect of the dish, we thought. We added cheese to top it, and a homemade, rather spicy, salsa to give it flavor. We are big fans of tex-mex cuisine, and felt this was just terribly bland. Unfortunately, I don't believe I'll be making this again.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New chicken dish at our house everyone loves We just tried this for a 2nd time this month and I think it's becoming our favorite new dish! It's easy and delish!
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUM My picky hubby not only ate this for dinner, but took the leftovers to work later in the week! Super simple to make, although I definitely recommend using 2 packets of ranch seasoning. I omit the jalapeño, as my kids are little (5 and 2) and hubby doesn't like spicy at all, but this is a really tasty dish!!
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky eaters loved it! I usually don't write reviews, but had to for this! This meal is super simple and very tasty. It was all a one skillet meal just like it says. Kids loved it! If you want extra ranch taste I'd add two packets like the others suggested. I didn't add the beans, and added a half cup extra rice. So good, can't wait to make it again.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delicious My kids Love this along with my husband. I used two packets instead very ranchy and yummy. And so everyone knows the stock is very well written in the ingredients. So, I don't understand why you missed it. Anyways love it.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Re-think ingredients -- Excellent Dish! Boil chicken breasts (I used 2 large ones),drain, chopped and then put in skillet to brown; Used 14 oz fire roasted tomatoes, chopped; Used REGULAR (not instant) rice and used the chicken stock for its water (omit water in this recipe if you do this); used Texas Pete for jalapeno; used dried cilantro (about 1/4 teasp). Used the remaining ingredients and directions in this recipe. As my husband said, "You knocked it out of the park!" with this recipe. Absolutely delicious, not spicy and so yummy and tastety! Great to add a side salad or a fruit salad as its side. Very filling.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! Our family LOVED this one skillet chicken & rice dish. Other reviews we read stated that the chicken stock quantity was not listed in the ingredients but it sure was when we saw it on the website (1-1/2 Cup). We added sour cream on top as an additional garnish as well as the "spicy" ranch dressing packet. We love the kick. Will definitely make this dish again.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pleased This was a very easy meal to prepare. The ingredients were all listed with the proper measurements clearly at the top. For the instant rice my family used brown rice but it did not change the taste or texture of the recipe. I would recommend this highly to family, and friends.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of bland I agree with the other review that the directions weren't written well. You'll have to use some culinary know-how to cook things properly here. For the taste, I don't think it tasted ranchy at all, maybe would be better with two packets instead of one. My only deviation from the recipe was to use brown rice. Well, and I put some cheese on it. Overall, it's nothing special. Use more seasoning, or actual dressing. Or skip the ranch and use cumin and chili powder instead.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly written Missing a LOT Of information. Stock is mentioned, but not in the ingredients, and no quantity. Same with the onion. 2-3 minutes is absolutely not enough time to thoroughly cook 1" cubes of chicken, unless you have a magical stove that can bend the laws of physics. I have personal issues with instant rice - would have been nice had the recipe included a healthier option. Ultimately, I'm disappointed by something this poorly written a. ending up linked to such a prominent brand, and b. advertised on tv when it had clearly not been proofed!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No stock This recipe calls for stock but is not listed in ingredients.
Date published: 2015-12-06
  • y_2020, m_2, d_25, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_BV_1125, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 37.19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards