Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 20 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (8)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website. For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    In a medium bowl, toss the chicken and seasoning mix together until well-coated.

  2. 2

    Warm the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat; when hot, add the chicken and cook until browned and cooked through (165°F).

  3. 3

    Stir in the beans, salsa, rice, and water to the chicken; season with salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer, cover, reduce heat to low, and cook for 10 minutes, or until all of the liquid has been absorbed by the rice.

  4. 4

    Let stand 5 minutes, then fluff and serve hot. (For a bit of freshness and added spice, garnish with fresh cilantro and diced jalapeño.)

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(57 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

45 Reviews

4.5

recommend 77.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky eaters loved it! I usually don't write reviews, but had to for this! This meal is super simple and very tasty. It was all a one skillet meal just like it says. Kids loved it! If you want extra ranch taste I'd add two packets like the others suggested. I didn't add the beans, and added a half cup extra rice. So good, can't wait to make it again.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUM My picky hubby not only ate this for dinner, but took the leftovers to work later in the week! Super simple to make, although I definitely recommend using 2 packets of ranch seasoning. I omit the jalapeño, as my kids are little (5 and 2) and hubby doesn't like spicy at all, but this is a really tasty dish!!
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delicious My kids Love this along with my husband. I used two packets instead very ranchy and yummy. And so everyone knows the stock is very well written in the ingredients. So, I don't understand why you missed it. Anyways love it.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly written Missing a LOT Of information. Stock is mentioned, but not in the ingredients, and no quantity. Same with the onion. 2-3 minutes is absolutely not enough time to thoroughly cook 1" cubes of chicken, unless you have a magical stove that can bend the laws of physics. I have personal issues with instant rice - would have been nice had the recipe included a healthier option. Ultimately, I'm disappointed by something this poorly written a. ending up linked to such a prominent brand, and b. advertised on tv when it had clearly not been proofed!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Re-think ingredients -- Excellent Dish! Boil chicken breasts (I used 2 large ones),drain, chopped and then put in skillet to brown; Used 14 oz fire roasted tomatoes, chopped; Used REGULAR (not instant) rice and used the chicken stock for its water (omit water in this recipe if you do this); used Texas Pete for jalapeno; used dried cilantro (about 1/4 teasp). Used the remaining ingredients and directions in this recipe. As my husband said, "You knocked it out of the park!" with this recipe. Absolutely delicious, not spicy and so yummy and tastety! Great to add a side salad or a fruit salad as its side. Very filling.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No stock This recipe calls for stock but is not listed in ingredients.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One skillet ranch chicken Simple and quick! What is not to enjoy eating. Can fill taco shells with it !
Date published: 2022-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cast iron skillet key use cast iron to not mess this up, more forgiving and you'll get flavor from your past meals in there to blend anything that goes awry
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste magnificent I love how easy this is to make! Its sr o delicious and quick n easy
Date published: 2022-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for the FAMILY This Recipe was another HV Great recipe for a Quick and Easy to make. I used Pinto beans instead of black beans. Family loves this one.
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV- One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken A great tasty one pan dish and quick to prepare. I recommend.
Date published: 2022-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One I think this is a great recipe it fills the belly znd has plenty of flavor
Date published: 2022-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! We eat alot of chicken, we love rice. This recipe was easy to make and was really good, everyone cleaned their plate.
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken is easy to prepare and so yummy
Date published: 2021-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to make I love one skillet meals, they are so easy to make and only one skillet to wash. This one is pretty good also,
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful in every way! Love the taste! This recipe is just so so so delicious.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo good For some reason, making things like in a skillet makes me seem "fancy" to my kids! I'm in love with this recipe.
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious & easy! I used frozen El monterey spanish rice, which made it even easier. It was so tasty with the taco seasoning mixed with Hidden Valley ranch seasoning. We filled little corn tortillas for dinner and the leftovers were perfect on top of my green salad the next day.
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty and simple I used jasmine rice because that is what I had. I added time and a bit more water. My husband and I enjoyed it. I’d make it again.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my family's favorite dishes! I made this about 2 weeks ago and it was a hit! My Husband went back for 3rds!
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy! I love how simple this recipe is and the fact that it doesn't make me use every dish in the house. I substituted the black beans for pinto beans based on family preference , and it was delicious.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one pan chicken meal I liked this recipe because being on the go, the easier dinner is the better! Few steps-one pan- great dinner. I left the black beans out and added a little more rice.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Prepare One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken is easy to prepare and this recipe makes enough for leftovers delicious.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So quick and easy I had cooked chicken and rice left from another meal, so preparation was a snap. I added the ranch mix with the tomatoes and allowed it to simmer a few minutes. Really tasty.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One-Skillet Savory Ranch Chicken I love making one-skillet dishes because clean-up is so easy. Also, you can add additional ingredients if you want.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One pan meal This recipe was not only fast and easy, but delicious . I love quick and easy, and this was it. Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Skillet Dish My husband and I loved it...enough for dinner and our lunches the next day. This is a keeper and so easy to prepare and cook..
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Meal This is a very delicious dish. My family really enjoyed. Will make again.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Tasty My family love this recipe and it was quite easy to prepare
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good, healthy dinner Made a few changes: doubled the ranch as suggested by others, used roasted New Mexico greens instead of the bell pepper and jalapeño, which I didn't have, used pinto beans, which I cook in bulk with salt pork and freeze, and (gulp) I used Frontier brand ranch seasoning because finding a way to use it was my sole reason for choosing this recipe in the first place. Also cooked rice separately because I made this in the morning to reheat for dinner and didn't want soggy rice. Over all, it was very tasty and healthy and it sure did use up that ranch seasoning. I'm just not sure that ranch belongs in what could easily be a nice pot of chicken chili.
Date published: 2017-06-17
  • y_2022, m_5, d_27, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_BV_1125, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 65.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards