Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Sour Cream and Ranch Mashed Potatoes

Easy, delicious, and awesome can be used to describe our Sour Cream and Ranch Mashed Potatoes recipe! Once you try this recipe you'll never want to go back to traditional mashed potatoes again.

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 30 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (3)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (3)

  1. 1
    Place potatoes in a large pot and cover with cold water. Bring to boil, then lower heat to simmer, uncovered for 10–12 minutes or until potatoes fall apart when pierced with fork.
  2. 2
    Drain potatoes in a colander and return potatoes to the pot. Mash potatoes until smooth.
  3. 3
    Stir in Ranch seasoning and sour cream. Serve immediately.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch

Shake up your potatoes over the holidays by shaking on Ranch seasoning. Here are 2 simple ways to boost your spuds flavor! Check our website for more.

♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(124 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

26 Reviews

4.9

recommend 84.6% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hit At Our Table I made these for supper, and they were a huge hit. Everyone loved them!
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These potatoes explode with Ranch flavor! These mashed potatoes come out creamy with a wonderful zip of Ranch.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spicy Mashed Potatoes I have tried this recipe and it is so easy. I also made this recipe by using instant potatoes instead of regular potatoes.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I’ve been making my mashed potatoes this way for years. It’s just Great
Date published: 2022-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Tasty! I was hesitant about making this recipe because it was something different and our household likes plain mashed potatoes and gravy, however, I am so glad I tried this recipe, we had friends over and everyone, even the young kids loved the flavor, it complimented the gravy made from the chuck roast perfectly, I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Date published: 2021-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & Delicious I used instant mashed potatoes (following the instructions on the box) with buttermilk, instead of milk and 2 Tablespoons of Ranch Dressing Mix. It was wonderful!
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for a great potato recipe as I have I was looking for a great potato recipe as I have been given a large number of potatoes! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from go to mashed potato recipe so creamy and fluffy! This is now my go to recipe for potatoes
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! I have never tried Sour Cream and Ranch Mashed Potatoes. I saw this recipe and didn't know what to expect. Let's just say that I loved it and will definitely use this recipe again!
Date published: 2020-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flavor I’ve been making my mashed potatoes this way for years. It’s just Great
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potatoes are delicious These potatoes are my favorite and go good with my chicken and ranch
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Yummy! I love all kinds of ranch flavored food, but especially mashed potatoes. This recipe is so easy to make, even for someone like me that doesn't cook that much. It's a must try if you love ranch!
Date published: 2020-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creamy good Made this over the weekend, but added bacon bites too this was a hit. No leftovers
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing side dish! I've made these a few times and it makes such an modern taste to an old side dish. I absolutely love it and have full intentions on making it for our friendsgiving!
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great side dish! I made these for an extended family gathering and they were delicious! There were no leftovers. I added shredded cheese and butter on top. I will definitely make these as a side dish for our family weeknight dinners also.
Date published: 2019-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum! I've made this in the past and it is husband approved! I usually add shredded cheese to the potatoes as well.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great side These mashed potatoes taste great. I usually add some cream cheese as well and add some kale that ive cooked in butter. At the end while the potatoes are hot i add a ton of butter. The flavor is delicious and creamy, and makes a delicious side dish.
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family begs for this all year round! Its a staple on the holiday table
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome potatoes I love adding ranch to my potatoes. Ranch gives them such a great taste and it is something different to try.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely will make again. Normally, I am a potatoes and gravy person but this recipe has made an impact. I'll have to work this into my rotation cause these potatoes are amazing.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very creamy and is a great addition for Thanksgiving
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe Marvelous!!!!!! That's how good they were! Everyone asked me what my secret was. Nobody ever asked me that! They were firm and so very tasty.
Date published: 2012-11-16
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_809, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 94.05ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards