Save
Email
Print

Ranch Picnic Potato Salad

  • Prep: 45 min
  • Cook: 15 min
  • Total: 1 hr
  • Servings: 8
Rated 4.6809/5 based on 47 customer reviews

Ingredients (11)

  • ½ cup sliced green onions
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 hard-cooked eggs peeled, finely chopped
  • tablespoons chopped parsley
  • lettuce (optional)
  • paprika
  • 3 pounds Idaho potatoes or russet potatoes, peeled
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Steps (5)

  • Step 1
    In a large pot, add the potatoes and enough water to cover.
  • Step 2
    Add the salt and bring the water to a boil. Cook the potatoes for 10 to 15 minutes or until tender when pierced with a fork. Drain and set aside to cool slightly.
  • Step 3
    In large bowl, combine potatoes, celery, onions, parsley, salt and pepper. In small bowl, stir mustard together with the dressing until well blended. Pour over potato mixture and toss until lightly coated.
  • Step 4
    Chill covered for at least 1 hour, overnight is best.
  • Step 5
    Serve in a bowl lined with lettuce leaves, if using, and garnish top with the chopped egg and paprika.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.
    For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (36 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for a great potato recipe I was looking for a great potato recipe as I have been given a large number of potatoes! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tatses great What a great twist on a picnic staple. Tastes so good
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potluck must have So delicious , must make extra , it goes fast, definitely a crowd pleaser
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Twisted Potato Salad I liked this recipe even though I really don't like potato salad, but I did make some changes the 2nd time I made it. I used sort cream & ranch dip mix instead of the ranch dressing & I added sauteed onions & bacon.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer side dish We made this for a barbecue to side with ribs, burgers and dogs. Left out the egg for top and cut Dijon mustard in have. Was amazing.
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potato salad with sass. This was utterly delicious
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent in potato salad! I always add a packet of ranch to my potato salad, perks it up w flavor similar to a basil mix for spaghetti. LOVE IT...
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pickles too! Dill is a magical addition to this! I freaking love ranch and potatoes
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a Picnic! Ranch Picnic Potato Salad is easy and quick for a daytime picnic!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a nice subtle ranch Great receipe and the extra zest of ranch in the salad gave it a nice zip
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from had to add to it. Made this as directed and it was insipid "to me" so I had to adjust some stuff and add to it. first off I was working out of a 5 lb bag of potatoes that was already open didn't have a scale so I guesstimated on how much 3 lbs was "may have been more than", I ended up adding a cup of mayo and a 1/2 cup more ranch, more mustard, shredded cheese, bac'n bits, and 4 more eggs. WOW! this stuff is awesome.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Goodbye plain potato salad, hello new favorite ranch potato salad. It's very tasty. I would definitely recommend it
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye bye mayo :( Yeahhhhh, bye bye mayo, you had a good run. Helloooooo HVR potato salad! It gives my potsa that extra Je ne sais quoi that I've been looking for. A lifelong keeper & won't go back to mayo.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great taste This takes your potato salad to the next level!!!!
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Quick and easy to make, great flavor. Perfect to pack in the cooler for picnics.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a picnic Great potato salad to take on a picnic. Great taste.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG sooooo yummy ! I didn't know potato salad could taste any better untill i tried it with HVR. I will make it like this from now on! Btw, it pairs great with bbq !
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best potato salad ever!!! My family doesn't use mayo, so I'm very happy to find this one!!!
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one ingredient changes the flavor for the better i never made potato salad with ranch before but now i will always use ranch. more flavor makes for a better potato salad
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great potato salad! I love this easy potato salad! I like to use yellow mustard instead of the Dijon though. The ranch is definitely a great addition! Love it!
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY!!! This was so easy, and delicious! Chilled overnight, and served with a picnic lunch. I did use smoked paprika, as that is what I had on hand. Very, very good!
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good and simple I love how quick and easy this is to make. Goes well with any cookout we throw
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tasty I love how easy it is make a this salad. It is a hit every time I make it and everyone loves it
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ranch Potato Salad This was a very nice dish to make on my daughter's 8th birthday. The majority of the kids absolutely loved this ! It turned out to be a big hit with the adults as well.I have since been making it as part of our regular meals on a weekly basis.The flavor hits your taste buds like no other.It's definitely a great dish!
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hate to make potato salad I have tried many recipes...so many friends I have can just through a potato salad together, and it always tastes great. Not so with me. But this one with Hidden Valley I did try and it was successful.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever potato salad I love this recipe. Potato salad is one of my favorite summertime foods and this recipe with Hidden Valley Ranch gives my salad a new and awesome taste sensation.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the idea of adding the ranch flavor to potato salad. I would add more eggs next time though.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever This potato salad is definitely a keeper. I never thought I would use anything but straight mayo for the dressing but now I use Hidden Valley and probably won't go back to my old recipe. It is just so good!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hearty Potato Salad This salad is absolutely delicious. It's very filling but light at the same time. I like mixing the Ranch dressing with mustard and a touch of turmeric for extra flavor. Score!
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE Potatoes.. Smashed, Bashed, and Mashed Potato Salad is one of my favorite side dishes for Family Outings.. EVERYONE eats it ans loves it.. thanks to the goodness of Hidden Valley Ranch!
Date published: 2014-01-28
  • y_2021, m_1, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_40, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 85.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards