Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch Potato Skins Appetizer

This Ranch Potato Skins Appetizer recipe is perfect for parties or family dinners. These tender shells of potato perfection are filled to the brim with savory melted cheese and delicious crispy bacon to win over any crowd. They're easy to serve as an appetizer for your next dinner, but they just might outshine the main course.

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 15 min
  • Servings 8
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (5)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website. For dips, make and enjoy your dip creation. Then, refrigerate within 2 hours or discard.

Steps (2)

THIS RECIPE IS AIR FRYER-FRIENDLY
Simply reduce the cooking time and temperature on your air fryer as shown here.*

Timing
Set air fryer timer for half the cooking time of a conventional oven. Add extra time for doneness if needed.

Temperature
Reduce regular oven temperature by 25° to 50° (not going below 350°) on your air fryer. If food is getting too dark, reduce by another 25°.

* Always follow manufacturer’s instructions.

  1. 1
    Preheat the oven to 375°F. Scoop the potato out of the skins; combine with sour cream and dressing mix. Fill skins with mixture. Sprinkle with cheese.
  2. 2
    Bake for 12–15 minutes or until cheese is melted. Garnish with green onions and/or bacon bits, if desired. Serve hot.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(225 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

241 Reviews

4.8

recommend 88.4% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect before dinner snack I used the inside of the potatoes for mashed potatoes and decided to turn the skins into this delicious recipe! It was a definite hit with the family!
Date published: 2021-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Ranch Potato Skins Cute mini potato skins and fun to make. Great for parties.
Date published: 2021-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tastes good Tastes good especially when dipped in extra ranch dip :)
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh this is a must, so delicious!! I made this for just a little snack and my kiddos loved it.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy and delicious! I made this as an appetizer and they were so good!
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snack for the oscars Our friends get together for Academy Awards nights and we have made this many times. We seem to have had the recipe passed around the neighborhood for quite a while. So simple and such a different snack or appetizer. We were thinking about trying it with tater tots...maybe next time...just for fun.
Date published: 2020-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good I tried this recipe out a couple of weeks ago and my family loved it!
Date published: 2020-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toppings bar was a hit! I made these for a company get together with the ranch seasoning mixed in. I had a "toppings bar" with cheese, chives, sour cream, butter, margarine, etc. This was a big hit with almost everyone coming back for more "bites!"
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them My family lives these you can't make enough of them.
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good These Ranch Potato Skins are so good!!! Easy to prep and make. Great for football parties. Easy finger foods for the whole family.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite. I make this every year at Thanksgiving.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love these potatoes not really a potatoe fan but i really did like the taste of these
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skin not skinny Nom Nom I love potatoes and when made like this what's not to love.
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it So easy to make and everyone loves it. I made it few times.
Date published: 2020-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for parties We made these for the Superbowl last year. They were a big hit!
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potato Skins I love potatoes with ranch flavors, and this recipe was so delicious with the addition of bacon as well!
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from satisfaction this recipe allows us to create 2 dishes :mashes potatoes &ranch potato skins as sidedish or snack
Date published: 2020-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EAsy to make Our family loves anything with taters :) We added butter and extra seasonings
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent add butter.the kids even ate the skins, make again.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste & Disappearing! I made this recipe and took it to a cookout. They disappeared so fast! Everyone was asking me for the recipe. So I would definitely give it 5 stars.
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy, super yummy. These are so easy to make. This recipe is so easy to follow.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic appetizer!! These are simple, tasty, and can be personalized with a variety of toppings from diced pepperoni to breakfast bacon and chives! The possibilities are endless.
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum Looks amazing!! Can’t wait to try this out for a quick snack
Date published: 2020-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes Great Who doesn’t Love Potato Skins! These are No Exception to that Rule. They are Great!
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply delicious! I made this for myself and boyfriend as an appetizer and he loved them! Asked for them 3 days in a row! Winner!!!
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super easy always a giant hit I make this for our family get togethers and they are adored by everyone. grab those bites of heaven and the smiles are ear to ear!
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Simple This is a really easy recipe that you can doctor up or adjust as you like. Can be made vegetarian or not. Really quick prep.
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is a great appet6or anytime snack! Its is very delicious and versatile. You. An make it exactly as the recipe calls for or change it up with some different toppings that you like.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy! Great for parties! I always throw in about 6-8 potatoes, not expensive and feeds a crowd! You can stuff with tons of different topping, bacon, green onion, cheese, we even do buffalo chicken dip!
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Very delicious and easy recipe for a snack for game day, get togethers, or anytime of the day snack. Everyone loved them when I served them over the weekend.
Date published: 2020-02-22
  • y_2023, m_1, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_218
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_195, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 184.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards