Save
Email
Print

Ranch Smashed Potatoes

  • Prep: 10 min
  • Cook: 40 min
  • Total: 50 min
  • Servings: 4
Rated 4.7714/5 based on 35 customer reviews

Ingredients (5)

Steps (4)

  • Step 1
    Preheat oven to 450°F. Place potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Add a generous pinch of salt to water, and bring to a boil. Simmer until potatoes are tender (approximately 15–20 minutes), then drain and set aside.
  • Step 2
    Spray a large baking sheet with cooking spray and space potatoes evenly with about an inch of space between them. Then, using a potato masher or large fork, gently press down on each potato until “smashed.”
  • Step 3
    Combine garlic and butter in a small bowl, then brush generously on each potato. Sprinkle with seasoning mix, salt and pepper.
  • Step 4
    Bake in preheated oven until potatoes are golden brown and crispy, approximately 25 minutes.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (14 people made this)

Add a Note

Reviews
(35)

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids love these I have been making a version of smashed potatoes for a while but the first time I tried them this way with the ranch...they went crazy for them!!!
Date published: 2020-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch smashed potatoes I bought a month ago wanted something different to make
Date published: 2020-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST way to cook a potato! These are my favorite potatoes and the best side dish for any time of day! I love them! Love them with a sprinkle of bacon or coconut-bacon! great with sour cream dip!
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice change! It was yummy and a nice change from the usual mashed potatoes or regular baked potato.
Date published: 2019-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flavorful Potatoes I love this dish and like to serve it at parties or as a great side. The potatoes are easy to make and each bite has so much flavor! This is a great way to enjoy potatoes and one of my favorite new recipes!
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious appetizer! I made these as an appetizer for a party. Everyone loved them! They are just a few bites but the flavor is so substantial. They would also make a great side dish.
Date published: 2019-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect For Our Garden Potatoes This recipe was a nice find to use for some of our smaller garden potatoes this fall.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So DELISH I love smashed Potatoes-so easy to make and fun to eat!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family pleaser I love smashed potatoes and the ranch just adds so much more to the flavor.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky kids love these I make these instead of mashed potatoes and sprinkle ranch powder on them before baking and my kids will eat just this for dinner if I would let them!
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great I always love great food to add hidden valley ranch to, and this was great
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love these We add bacon bits and cheese to ours. Easy add to any meat meal.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Potato perfection! A favorite potato recipe for a family of potato lovers. I make 2 trays at a time they disappear so quickly! To speed up preparation I place another sheet pan on top of the tray of boiled potatoes and smash them all at the same time. They're all fairly evenly smashed that way too. Just spray the bottom of the sheet pan first to avoid sticking.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do The Mashup :) Made this side dish with T-Bone steaks grilled to perfection. Family left no leftovers.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good. I served these along with Original Ranch Pork Chops. What a meal!!!
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Good taste and easy to make liked by all Shared with coworkers
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch mashed potatoes Great recipe even without baking in the oven. Very simple to prepare and tastes great
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game day fav! So easy to make and amazingly tasty! Always a hit on game day!
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tasty These are so easy to make and very tasty. Just enough seasoning and the perfect side dish to any meat dish.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun to make I've made this a few times, my family requests it.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very good we enjoyed these a lot very tastey don't look pretty lol
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids Love these! These have amazing flavor and kids love the "fun" food!!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy These are so delicious & so easy to make at ththe same time!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convinent These are easy to make and the kids love them. Love potatoes and this is a new twist on an old stand-by.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Love potatoes, love ranch. Do I really need to say more?
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A favorite These are a staple in my house. I usually make these once a week. The flavor it great.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tater So yummy and what an exciting way to jazz up some taters for dinner.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious alt to time consuming mashed pototoes Smashed potatoes are delicious, crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning packets liven up lots of foods!
Date published: 2017-07-11
  • y_2020, m_5, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_12068, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 81.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards