Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Ranch SPAM® Musubi

It’s polarizing for sure — you’ve gotta be a fan of canned pork before you start — but you can’t go to Hawaii without grabbing SPAM® Musubi, the onigiri-like snack that features spam atop sticky rice with Nori. Popularized recipe during World War II, it’s a taste of the Islands that has stuck around ever since.

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 10 min
  • Servings 4
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (5)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Heat a 12-inch nonstick pan over medium heat. Sprinkle the ranch seasoning mix on both sides of each slice of SPAM®.

  2. 2

    Add the SPAM® to the pan and cook until browned and crisp on the bottom side, About 3–4 minutes. Flip and cook 3–4 minutes more. If it looks like it’s starting to burn, add a little water and swirl in the bottom of the pan.

  3. 3

    Place one slice of meat perpendicular to each nori strip on the bottom of the strip. Making sure your hands are wet, take about ½ cup of rice and squeeze in your hands until it is about the same size as the spam slice (a rounded rectangle). Place the rice on top of the meat.

  4. 4

    Roll up the SPAM® and rice to wrap the nori around it. Seal the end with a bit of water and place the musubi seam-side down. Repeat with remaining musubi.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch

This Friday we’re making Ranch Musubi! Head to the islands, and you’re bound to run into a regional favorite: canned meat over rice topped with nori (that’s seaweed in Japanese). Spam Musubi is a perfect snack, we’ve upped our flavor with ranch seasoning. Head to our site for more Ranch Across America recipes!

♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(43 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

25 Reviews

4.5

recommend 80% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect snack Very tasty and makes the perfect mid day snack that's bursting with delicious ranch flavor
Date published: 2022-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from no seems good, your tummy will hurt. i would say not to try this.
Date published: 2022-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite if yo have spam lover My family loved this added hot sauce though. My family is not really into the original flavor
Date published: 2022-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Great This looks so different yet it is so good. Such a simple yet delicious recipe
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun recipe Fun alternative for people who don't like fish. Fun to make and fun to eat.
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s ok It’s ok. I’d eat it again. I can’t say it’s my favorite allL time recipe but it’s ok.
Date published: 2022-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you haven't, try it! I love regular Hawaiian spam musubi! But this just makes it better! It's so simple but so amazing!
Date published: 2022-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's spam It's was fine not to my taste but the kid liked it
Date published: 2022-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Ranch Spam Musubi This is a delicious recipe for Spam so different and it tastes great, I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2022-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a new twist for spam Wow! What a great twist for spam when you think there is not another thing to do to spam and then there is this recipe!
Date published: 2022-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids Really Do Love It! This recipe was an instant hit with the kiddos! They get to eat "sushi" made at home with no fish lol.. Thanks HVR!!
Date published: 2022-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter's favorite We love Spam and sushi, so we had to try this one. It was a huge hit for my daughter and I. Savory spam, slightly sweet rice, savory nori and a ranch kick! Super easy to make, as well.
Date published: 2022-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kid Fun My kids loved these and had fun helping make them. Inexpensive.
Date published: 2022-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Ranch Musubi is great! I saw this and decided to make this for my husband and son. When they looked at it, they both looked at me and said, "This is Musubi." It's a thing in Hawaii. I was in shock not knowing what I had just made. THEY LOVED IT!!! Spam is a big thing with the Asian culture. I know this from Korea. I made this and it is two thumbs up and a double wiggle.
Date published: 2022-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This was such a great and easy idea, yum! I made it super fast and it was a good snack
Date published: 2022-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from make SPAM exciting dressing up spam is a thing now so why not add our favorite seasoning and perfect your own signature SPAM?
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shaker EVER I Love the SHAKER and this RECIPE. This was a NEW added FLAVOR for SPAM. The Family loves this RECIPE.
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spam This is one of my favorite go to for lunch or dinner, I’m a widow so easy and small is my motto!! Very good recipe. I love the jalapeño spam the best and the regular
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different way to musubi We make musubi a lot. This is a nice new twist to an old staple.
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great got really interested when i saw this recipe. Very Very good
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Span Muscubi Since we visited HI last year, no one is interested in my spam. I found this recipe that works for spam.
Date published: 2022-04-18
  • y_2023, m_1, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_43107, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 138.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards