Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Restaurant Style French Fries with Buttermilk Ranch

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 30 min
  • Servings 6

Ingredients (6)

Nutrition Facts
caret
Calories: 507,
Total Fat: 36g 55%,
Saturated Fat: 9g 56%,
Trans Fat: 0g,
Cholesterol: 36mg 12%,
Sodium: 1179mg 51%,
Total Carbohydrates: 49g 16%,
Dietary Fibers: 3g 13%,
Sugars: 3g,
Protein: 6g,
Vitamin A: 263 IU 5%,
Vitamin C: 13mg 16%,
Calcium: 75mg 8%,
Iron: 2mg 11%,
Potassium: 1007mg 29%,
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (5)

  1. 1

    Cut potatoes into ¼–½-inch sticks. Place in a large bowl and cover with cold water. Allow them to soak for at least two hours, up to overnight.

  2. 2

    While the potatoes are soaking, make the dip. Combine the sour cream, mayonnaise and buttermilk seasoning and mix well to combine. Set aside in the refrigerator until ready to use.

  3. 3

    Drain and arrange the potatoes on two baking sheets lined with paper towels and blot to dry thoroughly.

  4. 4

    Heat a few inches of oil in a heavy pot to 300°F. In 3 or 4 batches, cook the potatoes until soft, 4 to 5 minutes per batch. Remove each batch and drain on dry paper towels.

  5. 5

    Raise the temperature so the oil reaches 400°F. Fry the potatoes in batches again, until the potatoes are crisp and golden brown. Drain and season with sea salt. Serve with the Ranch Buttermilk dip.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(61 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

200 Reviews

4.8

recommend 90.5% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Can't go wrong with these! The whole family will love these
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who wouldn't love! Cannot go wrong with these! Family absolutely LOVES them!!
Date published: 2020-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great snack family liked real well, will be making again in near future
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than most restaurants Kids loved these, will be making again. Better than most soggy cold restaurant fries
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grandkids loved these. I made these for my grandkids and it was a big hit. Just can't go wrong with fries and hidden valley.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dip it! I love french fries and make frozen fries in the air fryer. Can't get any better when dipped in HV Ranch!
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the kids I used this as a summer cooking class for my grand kids and we had so much fun. The best part is they cooked lunch that day. Now we don't go out for fast food fries. Thanks HVR
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Air Fryer! Works well in an air fryer too, and much healthier that way!
Date published: 2020-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flavorful! I made these as a simple snack and it was amazing! Everyone in the family loved them! :)
Date published: 2020-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome I love just a simple snack of fries and dip and this recipe was perfect for me
Date published: 2020-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection Few things go together better than fries and ranch. I could definitely eat this again.
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Sauce Just Perfect. This was a FAST easy sauce to make and it tasted great
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Easy to make and delicious! I also add cheese and bacon crumbles.
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I love this. I also use the flavored ranch when eating plain french fried. Add bacon and cheese also.
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Have made in the past following the recipe but also have made using buffalo sauce also
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burgers Great side with burgers. It’s most definitely the perfect addition to any fries.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for burgers and a snack This is a great side dish for any sandwich or just to snack on as an appetizer.
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect side or snack I absolutely love twice fried fries! They are so crunchy and perfect for dipping. The sea salt also pairs well with the fries and the ranch dip. This is the perfect side or stand alone snack. So good!!!
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I need this! So good, French fries and ranch dressing. I like to add some hot sauce to mine.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from classic fav If you dont love ranch and fries well then I dont know what to tell you. Great classic!
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yumm Who Doesn’t Love Ranch with their Fries! This recipe adds Great Flavor to any side dish.
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dip Easy great tasting dip for picnics cookouts or just a snack in between meals.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice dip such a nice dip goes well with fries, we add little peppers too
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CHANGEING UP A CLASSIC GREAT WAY TO CHANGE UP A FAVORITE SIDE DISH WITH A LIL ZIG CROWD PLEASER
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice way to jazz up your fries these are delicious i have been making these for years as the kids love them we make these regularly a nice way to jazz up french fries
Date published: 2020-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste I made this as a side and it was an absolute family favorite. They asked for more so i had ti make a 2nd batch.
Date published: 2020-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fries Live this. Crispy fries. Cool creamy ranch. So good.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Made for the grandkids they loved the flavor. A sure hit.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! It was a awesome combo. I liked the taste. My kids enjoyed the snack
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from classic condiment French fried dipped in buttermilk ranch trumps ketchup.
Date published: 2020-03-08
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_189
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_21777, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 94.28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards