Save
Email
Print

Restaurant Style French Fries with Buttermilk Ranch

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 30 min
  • Total: 45 min
  • Servings: 6
Rated 4.8098/5 based on 163 customer reviews

Ingredients (6)

Steps (5)

  • Step 1

    Cut potatoes into ¼–½-inch sticks. Place in a large bowl and cover with cold water. Allow them to soak for at least two hours, up to overnight.

  • Step 2

    While the potatoes are soaking, make the dip. Combine the sour cream, mayonnaise and buttermilk seasoning and mix well to combine. Set aside in the refrigerator until ready to use.

  • Step 3

    Drain and arrange the potatoes on two baking sheets lined with paper towels and blot to dry thoroughly.

  • Step 4

    Heat a few inches of oil in a heavy pot to 300°F. In 3 or 4 batches, cook the potatoes until soft, 4 to 5 minutes per batch. Remove each batch and drain on dry paper towels.

  • Step 5

    Raise the temperature so the oil reaches 400°F. Fry the potatoes in batches again, until the potatoes are crisp and golden brown. Drain and season with sea salt. Serve with the Ranch Buttermilk dip.

  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

    DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE?

    Check if you made it

    I made it

    (22 people made this)

Recipe Nutritional Information

Calories 507

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 36g 55%
Saturated Fat 9g 56%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 36mg 12%
Sodium 1179mg 51%
Total Carbohydrates 49g 16%
Dietary Fibers 3g 13%
Sugars 3g
Protein 6g
Vitamin A 263 IU 5%
Vitamin C 13mg 16%
Calcium 75mg 8%
Iron 2mg 11%
Potassium 1007mg 29%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Add a Note

Reviews
(163)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding!! I love me some Buttermilk Ranch fries with pink sea salt and a little Tony seasoning.. Outstanding!!
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Side These were great with a ranch burger...There were none left!
Date published: 2020-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy These fries are really truly restaurant style. Love making these! They're a hit with the friend group!
Date published: 2020-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cheated alittle and made mine in the air fryer, they were nice and crispy, and we liked the dip
Date published: 2020-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids love'em We made these tonight as one of the snacks for our family movie night. The kiddos actually seen this recipe and had to have some. Simple recipe with only a few ingredients and easy to make. After they finished the fries didn't last even 5 minutes.will definitely make again soon with some hamburgers
Date published: 2020-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from crispy Fries I have had these before and they are so good, the crispy fries hit the spot after they are dipped in ranch.I always wish I had made more than I do, but I wouldn't be able to finish the rest of my meal if I did
Date published: 2020-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buttermilk ranch sauce I made this as a side with my burgers for the fries to be dipped in. I also put it on my burger. It has great flavor and super creamy.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor Made for my granddaughter and she loved them. Asked me to make again when she visits.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Made these for the kiddos and definitely was a BiG hit!!
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grandkids Favorite! I made these for the family, but baked the fries instead of deep frying. I tossed the potatoes in a ziploc bag with canola oil , sprinkled with Ranch and baked. The kids loved to dip the ranch fries in the ranch dip!
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FRIES! Fries are my jam... and what could possibly make fries better? Uhhh RANCH. OBVIOUSLY!
Date published: 2020-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum, so good! Absolutely love these! Best fries ever! So simple to make!
Date published: 2020-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste great! Made these for my kids as an after school snack. It was a hit!!
Date published: 2020-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love these fries! They have great flavor!
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome These are amazing and my entire family loves them. We make them to go with all kinds of things and they are always a hit with everyone in my family
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaven French fries and HVR is heavenly. Nothing better, so wholesome
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was Just Me The biggest problem I had making this was cutting the potatoes to the right size and shape. Before I make it again, I am definitely getting myself a french-fry potato cutter. The taste was good, but because of my own personally inconsistent cutting, the fry times were widely variant. I will try again, because when the pieces were well-shaped, the result was very good.
Date published: 2019-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic recipe Hidden Valley Ranch with basic french fries are the best!
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous I love these fries ! They are fantastic. I cook mine a bit longer cause I like my fries more crispy!
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Recipe Im always looking for something different and this was it! Easy to make and everyone enjoys it.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RANCH! I am a huge fan of ranch specially buttermilk ranch this is my new fav recipe
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So different Its good easy. To follow move over catsup there's new fries
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hits the Spot! There is nothing like this ranch dressing to dip your fries in! Deeeeelicious!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! The perfect go-to side for any meal. The buttermilk ranch makes it!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum Yum!! Just tried this and sorry but move over ketchup! =)
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from baked them Excellent baked less fat put seasoning in an old bread bag with the fries and shake to cost them
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never go back You can’t have naked fries. Nothing is never the same once you’v dipped a fry in ranch!
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Easy to make and tastes delicious. Buttermilk ranch and french fries go great together!
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who doesnt love ranch and potatoes right?! I love dip my French fries in ranch dressing sometimes I use bacon ranch makes it taste like a loaded baked potato
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranch Staple What Ranch lover doesn't do this? Go to side for our house!
Date published: 2019-11-14
  • y_2020, m_2, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_21777, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 118.7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards Hidden Valley® Ranchology Rewards

HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards

Join the new Ranchology® Rewards program. Fun badges. Delicious rewards. What are you waiting for?

Join Now
HV Hot Shot
Couldn't Be Simpler
Off to the Rewards