Slow Cooker Ranch Carnitas

  • Prep: 15 min
  • Cook: 8 hr
  • Total: 8 hr 15 min
  • Servings: 8
Rated 4.7647/5 based on 17 customer reviews

Ingredients (6)

Steps (5)

  • Step 1
    In a small bowl, stir the Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Seasoning & Salad Dressing Mix Shaker with the olive oil. Rub the mixture all over the surface of the meat.
  • Step 2
    Place the pork in a slow cooker and top with the onion. Squeeze the orange juice over the meat and place the two spent halves into the pot. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours or on high for 4 hours.
  • Step 3
    Once the meat is cooked and cool enough, pull apart with a fork.
  • Step 4
    Serve with tortillas and desired toppings (cabbage, sour cream and avocado work well).
  • Step 5
    For a more traditional preparation, heat a large sauté pan coated with olive oil over high heat. Press the carnitas into the pan and cook until crusty on one side before serving.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Reviews
(17)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bike acioss Kansas We served this for a fund raiser to the Bike Across Kansas group and it was a crowd pleaser.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice change I made this last night and it was so good. I had the leftovers for lunch and they were even better.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Absolutely delicious. This is our new favorite recipe for a family gathering.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! These are so delicious and so easy to make, I used an additional tablespoon + of the dressing mix. So flavorful, I use leftovers to make nachos and just add shredded Mexican cheese on top & pop in the oven for about 10-+5 minutes.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh so delicious I tryed this recipe about a week ago and it was oh so easy to prepare and delicious
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cinco de Mayo Perfection! We made these to celebrate Cinco de Mayo and they were absolutely delicious! Will definitely be making again!
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good base Good base recipe but needs a little heat either with some pico or peppers. Also 5 minutes under broiler is a must after shredded.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and easy but.. It is very easy to prepare but if you want anything close to carnitas, you have to put it on a baking sheet and bake for a good 15 min them broil for at least 5 to 10. Also. I like it spicier to I added a can of green chilies and some Tabasco before baking
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Excellent quality recipe that taste great and anyone can make
Date published: 2019-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Great new way to cook pork shoulder. Ranch adds an interesting kick to the carnitas.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from delicious So very delicious and flavorful. Everyone loved them
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I made the Ranch carnitas it was so delicious and flavorful I also added a little hot sauceto it and it's great on a bun with the Ranch coleslaw yummy
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tender and flavorful meat I made this with a huge pork roast so I adjusted the amounts of ingredients. It was so good and flavorful! The meat just fell apart, I barely had to separate it. It was quite a lot, so we froze it and ate it later as sandwiches. I would most likely make this again.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good Pork Be sure to try the optional traditional method of browning one side before serving. Also, try adding a little sweetness when browning (honey, BBQ sauce.....).
Date published: 2018-02-11
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_14321, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 118.57ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Picked Just For You

See all recipes