Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Slow Cooker Red Wine Braised Ranch Short Ribs

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 8 hr
  • Servings 8

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1
    Place short ribs in a Glad® zipper bag and sprinkle with the Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Seasoning & Salad Dressing Mix Shaker. Seal and toss until the short ribs are evenly coated.
  2. 2
    In a large pot or Dutch oven, heat the olive oil until very hot but not smoking. Brown the short ribs on all sides (you may need to do this in two batches), about 10-12 minutes total.
  3. 3
    Transfer to a slow cooker. Nestle the onions in and around the short ribs. Mix the red wine and mustard together and pour over the top. Cover the slow cooker.
  4. 4
    Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 8 hours. Skim as much fat as possible from the top. Season with salt and pepper. Serve over noodles, rice or potatoes.

Recipe Video

@hiddenvalleyranch

10 min prep, 8 hours slow cookin & a few ingredients are all you need for this 4.8 rated beef short rib dish. Make tonight a ##HiddenValleyRanchNight!

♬ original sound - Hidden Valley Ranch

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(44 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

24 Reviews

4.8

recommend 83.3% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best. this was the best short rib recipe ive had in a long time.my family always wants there bbq sause but i fooled them but now i got them asking when im gonna make this again.we have a winner in our home
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just wow! Last night was yhe first time I made these. Let me say, there were no leftovers.
Date published: 2021-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SLOW COOKER RED WINE BRAISED RANCH SHORT RIBS are excellent
Date published: 2021-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes wonderful! Tried this recipe and it turned out great! Everyone loved it!
Date published: 2021-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes expensive These braised ribs tasted so amazing i thought i was in an expensive restaurant but could afford to eat dinner
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV - Slow Cooker Red Wine Braised Short Ribs. To die for. Tender, juicy and flavorful. This was a great meal.
Date published: 2020-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome flavor!!! I added a little bit more of Hidden Valley to the recipe a little more on the ribs and a little more in the slow cooker and WOW!! The taste is amazing and the meat is fall off the bone tender. It's a favorite in our house!
Date published: 2020-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! These were quick and easy to make and full of flavor. My husband loved them.
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious Nice and tender, falls apart. Delicious. Mad eit for the family and it was so yummy!
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So fancy! Looks like it came from a 5 star restaurant! So flavorful! Add Worcestershire sauce for extra depth, and hvr shaker seasoning to some polenta!
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! So easy to throw together with awesome taste! I also added a dash of Worcheshire sauce. Mmmm so good.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Great easy meal to impress company! Seems really fancy!
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ribs HVR A shot of HVR gave this recipe a new taste and is delicious.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste Who doesn't love ribs that have a hit taste with some ranch
Date published: 2019-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was easy to cook, but the taste was ok This was my first time cooking spare ribs. The meat was tender but I should’ve cut the big fat portions from the raw meat prior to searing.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy I love this recipe! It’s easy to make and tastes delicious!
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this! I made this last night with ribs for our Super Bowl munchies! It was wonderful to have along side of our Wings with Ranch dip for both!
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I tried this and it was delicious. I did add more ranch dressing than 1 teaspoon of ranch drsg for 4 lbs ribs also added more red wine
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This is a really good recipe. My whole family really loves it!
Date published: 2018-10-30
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_14258, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 91.55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!
RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards