Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Slow Cooker Spicy Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • Prep Time 15 min
  • Cook Time 7 hr
  • Servings 8
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (13)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1
    Place the chicken at the bottom of a 6-quart slow cooker. Add cumin, oregano, and hot sauce, and stir well to coat the chicken with the seasonings.
  2. 2
    Use a blender to puree the tomatoes, onion, and garlic, then add to the slow cooker. Stir in the chicken broth and black beans; cover and cook on low for 6 to 7 hours.
  3. 3
    During the last 30 minutes, mix the ranch dressing and corn together in a medium bowl, then stir into the soup. Add the shredded corn tortillas, and stir again.
  4. 4
    When ready to serve, ladle soup into bowls, and top with tortilla chips, cilantro, avocado, lime wedges and queso fresco.
    1. 1
      Place the chicken in the inner pot of your multi-cooker. Add cumin, oregano, and hot sauce and stir well to coat the chicken with the seasonings.
    2. 2
      Use a blender to puree the tomatoes, onion and garlic, then add to your multi-cooker. Stir in the chicken broth and black beans.
    3. 3
      Turn on the multi-cooker and secure the lid, setting pressure valve to “sealing.” Select “manual” or “pressure cook” and cook on high-pressure for 15 minutes. Select “cancel” to turn off the machine.
    4. 4
      Allow the pressure valve to natural pressure release for at least 10 minutes, then quick-release the pressure by turning the seal to “venting.”
    5. 5
      Mix the ranch dressing and corn together in a medium bowl. Add to the pot, along with the shredded corn tortillas. Stir well.
    6. 6
      Follow the above steps to set the buttons again, but set the timer for 3 minutes. When ready to serve, ladle soup into bowls, and top with tortilla chips, cilantro, avocado, lime wedges and queso fresco.

    * Always follow manufacturer’s instructions.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(58 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

32 Reviews

4.5

recommend 90.6% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious!! I love tortilla soup and can be a hard judge of the way some places make it so this was my first time making it myself in the crock pot and OMG it was so worth it!!! Very flavorful and filling! I like to have the avocado chucks diced as well as the cheese bc the cheese melts fast when shredded and just sits at the bottom. That way you get a little bit of everything in each bite!
Date published: 2022-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was great Instead of using hidden valley ranch light..I use regular..and instead of hot sauce I use hidden Valley Ranch secret special sauce
Date published: 2022-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This was simple and easy to make. Everyone loved it
Date published: 2021-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful easy soup This is the first soup that I tried and it tasted great. The person that I ate it with enjoyed it also. She thought it was a bit spicy but she does not like spicy. I absolutely loved it.
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect soup We LOVE this. It has luck but not spicy and not too salty. We dip cold cut sandwiches in this, SO GOOD!
Date published: 2020-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for a fall day this is one of oud favorite fall day recipes. Love that i can throw it on the stove and walk away.
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect recipe for anyone My daughter loves this because I don’t put as much spice in it (she’s not a spicy lover). I love it because it’s a set it and forget it type of meal and the flexibility of adjusting the spicy elements still allows for an amazing and delicious dish.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HV- Slow Cooker Spicy Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup Such a tasty spicy creamy Mexican style soup. The avocados and cheese make this presentations.
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS I made this recipe for our Wednesday night church supper. the preparation was very easy and I made enough to feed 60 people. About 45 people attended. Everyone raved about how good it was and asked for the recipe. It was delicious!!! There were no left overs. I have been asked to make it for our next dinner.
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum This was simple and easy to make. Everyone loved it
Date published: 2020-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy A good soup to make, limited ingredients and easy. Great for a cold day.
Date published: 2020-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicken Tortilla Soup I tried this recipe and was shocked. You could not taste any of the Ranch dressing I had put in there. I used tomatoes with habaneros and the ranch covered up the taste of the habaneros.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly delicious So good and hits the spot on a cold day! My husband and I love this stuff.
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Very tasty with all the flavors.thanks for the great recipe
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow Cooker Spicy Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup Very creamy and rich.A little spicy. great flavor.Best in cold weather.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy This is my all-time favorite comfort food! It is so yummy and delicious and easy to throw together in a hurry. I make it for myself to have leftovers but I also make it for family gatherings. Everyone asks for " my special soup"
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scrumptious We had this on a cold snowy day. The kids helped prep it, which was fun. It was delicious.
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's good, but could be better I liked it, but it needs some tinkering. The soup is a good base, and I think with a few additional spices it would be very good. That's just me though.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rainy Day Dinner I love slow cooker anything and this Spicy Creamy Chicken Tortilla soup is delicious and taste great, soup is so comforting especially in the Winter months.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow Cooker Spicy Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup Rea I love cooking in a slow cooker especially when the result is as meaty, spicy, creamy and hardy as this soup is.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from yumm! Delicious. I like it a bit spicier, so i just add more spices to my dish and its perfect.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice soup recipe! I cannot say enough good stuff about tortilla soup--a nice flavor with a decided Southwestern flair.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I like making spicy creamy chicken tortilla soup on a raining day.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good one of the best tortilla soups de!icious very good one of the best I've had! would highly recommend
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Taco soup is one of my favorite soups! Ranch only makes it better!
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite soup I love making soup in the winter and this is by far my favorite. It's easy to make and I love that I can make it in my crock pot.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great crockpot recipe This recipe is full of flavor and is great because you can let it fully cook in a crockpot! My family loved it!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just wondering As I read through the recipe, the black beans are drained and rinsed and then added to the crock pot at the beginning of all this and after 7 hours of cooking would think they would be a mushy mess. Why would they not be added at the end to heat with the corn? Otherwise, I can see this recipe working just as well on the stove top. Would not take long for all of this to come together and I would not be blending all the tomatoes and chiles unless you simply want a pureed soup with chicken cubes and some canned beans and corn.
Date published: 2015-09-15
  • y_2024, m_6, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_1036, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 72.8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules