Southwestern Chicken & Cornbread Salad

  • Prep: 40 min
  • Cook: 00 min
  • Total: 40 min
  • Servings: 6-8
Rated 4.75/5 based on 56 customer reviews

Ingredients (10)

  • ½ cup diced red onion
  • ½ cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 can (11 ounces) drained whole kernel sweet corn
  • 1 can (16 ounces) pinto beans rinsed, drained
  • 1 can (2¼ ounces) sliced, ripe olives
  • 1 cup diced bell pepper assorted colors
  • 1 cup (about 2 medium) seeded, diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups shredded, cooked chicken
  • 6 cornbread muffins very dry, coarsely crumbled, divided

Steps (2)

  • Step 1
    In large, clear salad bowl or trifle dish, layer half of the cornbread, followed by next three ingredients. Top with ½ cup of the dressing. Layer next four ingredients, remaining cornbread, and remaining dressing. Sprinkle with cheese.
  • Step 2
    Cover and refrigerate several hours or overnight.
  • For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Add a note

Picked Just For You

See all recipes

Reviews
(56)

Write a review
Rated 5 out of 5 by from P Gresham I love this salad!!! One of my Co-workers made this salad and it blew me away!!! She gave me the info of where she retrieved the recipe, So i registered on Hidden Valley to give this salad thumbs up!!!
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Tasty Salad I found this recipe very easy and quick. It has so many ingredients in it and they all taste great1
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looked so Appetizing Easy to make and tastes terrific! I found this to be a great salad for the family dinner. Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Try Something Different! This recipe really caught my eye. It is very different than what I would normally prepare/eat/serve, but the photo & recipe itself intrigued me so much, I had to give it a try. I am a big fan of all the individual ingredients, but I have never seen a recipe like this before. I think it came out pretty good. I have only made it once so far, but I plan on making it again & I think it will be even better next time. I really love the beans in the recipe because they are so healthy for you. This is definitely an interesting recipe that everyone should try!
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colorful dish I like to make this for gatherings. It is always a popular favorite and the colorfulness of this dish makes it very festive to serve.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum A BBQ favorite. Everyone asks me for the recipe.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked this a lot. Will definitely have this again.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great this is a delicious salad with barbeque and is easy to make. My family loves this salad in the summer.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't get enough! My girlfriends and I eat this salad every summer at our annual cookout on the beach. It is fabulous! The corn bread just soaks up all that delicious dressing and gets so soggy and creamy, what a wonderful contrast to the crunchy vegetables. Plus it taste great at room temp. Perfect for those hot summer bbqs!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A BBQ Favorite Side Dish Our family tried this recipe and LOVED it. We started making it whenever we hold a BBQ at the house. Everyone always asks for the recipe.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff good tastes, easy prep, recommend it
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy this is one of my favorites and its so easy!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unessential cornbread The salad was servied as a main dish for my bridge club luncheon. The girls preferred croutons instead of the crumbled cornbread.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a really good and fresh salad
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easy Salad Very flavorable. I add artichoke hearts and substitute black beans for the pinto beans. Another great option is to serve in a tortilla bowl. So yummy the salad is gone...it soaks up all the flavors, and adds another texture to the salad as you break off some pieces while enjoying the salad.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is yummy.With all the ingredients it this qualifies as a comfort food. I make the dish as natural/ organic as possible.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SW Chicken & Cornbread Salad Wonderful tasting salad for a hot day or any day. I substituted black beans for the pinto beans, added pepper jack cheese to go along with the cheddar. I personally do not care for olives so I omitted them and added a dollop of sour cream and picante sauce. This was fantastic!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Southwestern Black Bean Salad Substitute black beans for pinto beans. Add some pepper jack cheese cubes. Have jalapeno slices available for hot palates.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delish! Very refreshing salad. Would definitely make it again. Good for entertaining or combining with buritos or tacos as a side dish.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfulllll I have had cornbread salad before but never like this. It is so good and a complete meal for me.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tasting salad What tastes better than chicken and cornbread. Chicken and cornbread salad with Hidden Valley Spicy Dressing.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chicken and Cornbread This is the perfect meal! A nice healthy salad and some "tummy-filling" cornbread!! Both combined to make a full meal and some health benefits!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmmmmmmmmm! A new family gathering must have!!!!
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy What a yummy and wholesome salad. My grandson who is very picky, said this was "Yummy" and told me to fix it again. You bet I will.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to make very tasty. good potluck dish
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful to Look At & Delicious to Eat This is a wonderful recipe and you and your guests will enjoy it.
Date published: 2013-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it I tried it today for the family. It was absolutely delicious... Cant wait to do it again.
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from taste great My famile thought this was a great meal.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, Easy, Easy! This takes no time to put together and tastes scrumptious! A really big hit!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delicious and easy This is a delicious recipe that my whole family loves!
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_7, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 210.55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT