Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Spicy Tater Tot Casserole

As if tater tots weren’t perfect enough, we went and made them even more irresistible with HVR Seasoning. This mind-blowing tater tot casserole of unfettered flavor leaves nothing to the imagination. Call your friends. Post it to your socials. These tater tots get people talking.

  • Prep Time 5 min
  • Cook Time 40 min
  • Servings 6
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (7)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    Preheat oven to 375°F. Grease an 8 or 9-inch baking dish with butter, oil or cooking spray and set aside.

  2. 2

    In a nonstick pan set over medium-high heat, add the olive oil and ground beef and brown the meat, breaking up with a wooden spoon as you go. When the meat is almost cooked through, add the seasoning mix and stir until well-combined.

  3. 3

    Spread the ground beef mixture in the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Top with cream of mushroom soup, followed by the cheese and tater tots.

  4. 4

    Bake the casserole for 30 to 35 minutes, or until the tater tots are crisp and golden and the cheese is melted. If desired, garnish with scallions and serve hot.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(165 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

78 Reviews

4.7

recommend 87.2% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Streak tator tot bake I made this with little pieces of steak instead of hamburger meat and used regular ranch . My family loved it.
Date published: 2022-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crispy Topped Gems! Delicious texture explosion with yummy ingredients that makes a comforting meal
Date published: 2021-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Added flavor for taters I bought tater tots like I do from time to time. I've run out of ideas to add flavor to the plain old tots. This recipe checked all the boxes-one dish, ground beef, HVR and canned soup. This was easy to come together. Added a buttered biscuit to complete the meal.
Date published: 2021-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A dish everyone will love I added ground mild sausage and veggies to my dish. It was delicious
Date published: 2021-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dinner In One Pan I plan on making this very soon for dinner. I will add some frozen vegetables, and have most of the food categories in one pan.
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best recipe This is the best recipe my family has been using for years
Date published: 2021-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tasty I made this for the Super Bowl and it was soooo good.
Date published: 2021-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful winter meal I made this recipe for our Sunday dinner on a cold winters day. Entire family loved it!
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort food I don’t care for mushrooms. I heat the mushroom soup and strain to get the pieces out. Love the taste but not the texture.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & easy My husband loved this recipe, it was quick and easy to make. Delicious!
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kid friendly I made this recipe for my grandchildren and they loved it so much,they asked for seconds!! Have recipe to my daughter.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from was okay not a terrible meal but not a favourite either but won’t try again
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good taste but too salty This taste was great, but it was a little too salty for me.
Date published: 2020-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taterr Tot Deluxe I couldn't find tater tots during the food shortages but did find something called tater crowns and used those. I think they were crispier than the tots. Loved the addition of the soup which made for a creamy sauce!
Date published: 2020-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great recipe I would love to try this for football season,great for the family. I love crunchy food,so this is perfect for me to try.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dope as heck Threw this together on a work-at-home lunch break. Easy as heck to make and super tasty. Replaces the more complicated tater tot casserole recipe I learned from the fam growing up.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kid yummy My kids LOVED THEM i will have to double THIS recipe
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious This is delicious, but not the easiest of the recipes offered here. The first time I made it, I used homemade tots and it made the casserole very soggy. Stick with frozen. Everyone loves the crunch top, but the underside can get a bit mushy, use a dark pan that gets very hot to help crisp the bottom.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for kids, adults or a crowd! Perfect, fun, simple recipe for kids, adults or a pot luck!
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes great We tried this the other night for dinner and it was so good. Best tator tot casserole ever
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tater Tot Casserole Hidden Valley Ranch is just what the classic Tater Tot Casserole needed. Kicked up a flavor notch! Ranch seasoning makes everything better!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good This is such a great side dish. I like to bring it to work parties.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tasty!) Great family go to meal. Loved by everyone. Crowd pleasure.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spicy kick! I didn’t know HVR had a spicy shaker until I made this- game changer!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great twist I make this once a month at least. But never thought to make it spicy! Was a great change.
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good I like to air fry the tator tots first to give them a little crunch and use cream of chicken soup - this is what makes the difference
Date published: 2020-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One dish My grand children are picky eaters they wolfed these down..
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and good! Instructions are simple, ingredients are minimal and the ends result is a hit!
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tater Tot Casserole I made this for my family of tater tot casserole lovers and they said "it was the BEST thing they had ever eaten!!!" Easy to prepare and even good as leftovers.
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make This is a dish that tastes great and is easy to make. You really can't go wrong.
Date published: 2020-10-22
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_31980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 142.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards