Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Kicked-Up Ranch Grilled Cheese

One bite and you’ll never make a grilled cheese any other way. It’s the zesty Hidden Valley® Ranch butter turning golden brown. It’s thinly sliced tomatoes with warm, melty Monterey Jack. Oh yes, this is how to make a grilled cheese sandwich. This simple HVR recipe makes perfect, savory sense.

  • Prep Time 5 min
  • Cook Time 8 min
  • Servings 4

Ingredients (5)

  • white, wheat or sourdough bread 8 slices
  • Seasoned Ranch Butter ¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons
  • cheddar cheese 4 slices
  • Monterey Jack cheese 4 slices
  • tomato, optional 8 thin slices
For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (3)

  1. 1

    Lay the bread out on a work surface. Butter one side of each slice of bread.

    Note: If you don't want to make the ranch butter recipe, simply spread each slice of bread with 2 teaspoons softened butter and sprinkle with ranch seasoning shaker.

  2. 2

    Heat a griddle, pan or grill pan over medium heat. Place the bread butter-side down in the pan. Top each piece of bread with one slice of each cheese and the tomatoes, if using.

  3. 3

    Cover with the remaining bread, butter-side up. Cook for about 4 minutes on each side, until the bread is brown and toasty and the cheese is melted.  Serve hot.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(137 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

77 Reviews

4.8

recommend 94.8% would recommend this recipe

Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick and easy just right for a quicklunch and tastes good too.everyone loved it
Date published: 2021-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grilled cheese I’m always looking for a way to make a grilled cheese special. Found it!
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Just tried this quick & super easy recipe. All I can say is add a bowl of tomato soup with it on a snowy night an your be wishing for these kind of nights often.
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting We have always been a traditional grilled cheese family. But I was curious to fix this ranch grilled cheese. It was not bad, my friend loved it. The tomatoes definitely gave a different flavor.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although I never thought of doing this it looks delicious
Date published: 2021-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grilled Cheese This is a great take on grilled cheese I loved it.
Date published: 2021-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Change Is Good Fantastic way to switch up a grilled cheese sandwich
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New twist on an old favorite I found a new way to season grill cheese. Great with tomato soup.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Honestly this is so simple and I love it! This is great for a grilled cheese with some pizazz!
Date published: 2021-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spruce it up! A great way to add some flavor to a simple grilled cheese. Although I like the cream cheese recipe this one is also good when I want to make a quicker grilled cheese. Adds nice flavor.
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very easy and delicious meal toomake. 10/10 recommend.
Date published: 2020-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grilled Cheese with a Kick Grilled Cheese with a Kick. Kicked-Up Ranch Grilled Cheese is Not just grilled cheese. It is kicked up and delicious. Yummy cheese. Delicious ranch. Tasty!
Date published: 2020-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grilled cheese!!! We love a good grilled cheese here especially with a good bowl of delicious soup. On those cold days..
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy very easy to make and tastes really really good i like simple
Date published: 2020-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great Takes it up a notch with the seasoning and the different cheeses.
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Goes great for with your traditional tomato soup or chicken noodle soup. The hubby and kids were happy!
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great snack for children I plan to make grilled cheese for me and my younger brother. I hope we enjoy it, looks fun to eat. I enjoy eating messy food while watching TV,so this is perfect.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New take on an old favorite! I wanted something a little different than a plain grilled cheese sandwich. I've never put anything other than ham on a grilled cheese sandwich, so the tomato was a nice addition. The kicker was the ranch butter! My husband wants to try adding a little of the powder to the inside of the sandwich as well to up the ranch flavor.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A step up! My daughter and I made these and we both thought it was a great take on a classic. Super easy to make, the only added step was making the ranch butter. It added a zesty flair to our sandwiches and in my opinion, really added something to our simple lunch of grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup. We used homemade bread, too, which also elevated the meal.
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What are you waiting for??? A new twist on an old friend. This grilled cheese is great combination, hot buttery grilled cheese combined perfectly with thin sliced tomatoe. A match made in flavor heaven.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Grilled Cheese Kicked-Up Ranch Grilled Cheese sandwiches are so cheesy delicious makes for a wonderful lunch!
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Mad these grilled cheese for my family and they loved the twist. A steop up from the way we are used to eating grilled cheese sandwiches. So much tastier!
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy!! Omg this is exactly what my grilled cheese sandwich needed! Sandwich devoured!!
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! My husband and daughter absolutely loved dinner tonight. They asked for more tomorrow, geesh
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My son loves grilled cheese and so do I. This simple change made a great grilled cheese with a kick.
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy cheesy Very simple to make and simple to enjoy. Family enjoyed very much.
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade I like this new twist of a grilled cheese. Just might be my new favorite thing!
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! Grilled cheese and tomato soup is my favorite and this just upped to the ante! So crispy and gooey!!
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Way to improve on plain ole grilled cheese! Saturday night special.
Date published: 2020-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kids love it My kids love this. They were getting real bored with plan grilled chesse and this adds extra flavor and still wins for a quick weeknight meal when time is short
Date published: 2020-10-28
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_31966, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 91.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

the most delicious rewards program on the planet.

It’s easy to earn rewards: Just keep doing what you’re doing — checking out recipes, reviewing them and sharing.

Ranchology Rewards