Skip to main navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
flag
Peace. Love. Ranch.

Slow Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken

  • Prep Time 10 min
  • Cook Time 6 hr
  • Servings 8
  • Print print Print

Ingredients (4)

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Steps (4)

  1. 1

    In a slow cooker, combine all ingredients and stir.

  2. 2

    Cover and cook on low for 5 hours.

  3. 3

    Shred the chicken with two forks. Return to the slow cooker. Stir and cook uncovered for 1 more hour on low.

  4. 4

    Serve in tacos, on nachos, over salad or rice, or plain.

    1. 1
      Place all ingredients in the inner pot of your multi-cooker and stir together. Turn on the multi-cooker and secure lid, setting pressure valve to “sealing.”
    2. 2
      Select “manual” or “pressure cook,” and cook on high-pressure for 10 minutes. Select “cancel” to turn off the machine.
    3. 3
      Allow the pressure valve to natural pressure release at least 10 minutes, then quick-release pressure by turning the seal to “venting.” Remove chicken and shred with two forks.
    4. 4
      Switch multi-cooker to sauté mode. Add chicken back in and cook, stirring, until warmed through. Serve in tacos, on nachos, over salad or rice, or on its own.

    * Always follow manufacturer’s instructions.

Did you make this recipe?

I made it

(218 people made this)

Notes

Keeping Notes? Save 'em here.

62 Reviews

4.9

recommend 91.9% would recommend this recipe

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great beginners recipe! I made this for my boyfriend and I (I halved the recipe) and it tasted really good! Heres a couple things I did differently though: I added avocado and sour cream with the finished product I added mild taco bell sauce and a few sprinkles of hot sauce to the salsa when I was mixing it I'll add mexican shredded cheese next time!
Date published: 2024-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chicken Great Mexican spicy chicken very moist juicy easy too
Date published: 2024-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taco Tuesday Recipe My grandchildren love the recipe and they want it on every Tuesday night for taco Tuesday and we have leftover for Wednesday without any complaints from my grandchildren.
Date published: 2024-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy, super tasty! Such a good recipe for fall! I used the refrigerated salsa from Costco (comes in a 2-pack), and the results were delicious. Will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2023-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birria Tacos I made some birria sauce to go along with this and grilled the tacos.
Date published: 2023-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taco Rustling Great way to Ranch up some tasty tacos. I had never thought of using ranch in shredded chicken tacos but now I'm hooked! This will be a frequent flyer on Taco Tuesday.
Date published: 2023-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Dinner! I’ve made this several times for my family. We usually make nachos or soft tacos with it. I think the key is to use a salsa you really like. Store didn’t have my usual brand this last time and so I bought something else that ended up making it taste too salty. Use a quality salsa, homemade, or rotel!
Date published: 2023-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, delicious meal We make this regularly. It’s easy, inexpensive and so flavorful. Great on a tostada sprinkled with cheese and guacamole. Even my fussy eater likes this. great over rice or stuffed into tacos.
Date published: 2023-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple and soooo good I added an extra tablespoon of taco seasoning and used less chicken because I only feeding three people. But this was a hit in my house!
Date published: 2022-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tatste My family is in love with this recipe and beg me to make it often
Date published: 2022-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Love this so easy and delicious turned out tender and juicy my kids loved it will be making it often
Date published: 2022-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from use rotisserie chicken use rotisserie chicken, so much faster add some blue cheese crumbles on top
Date published: 2022-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This is one of my favorite recipes. Wrap up some in warm flour tortillas.So good
Date published: 2022-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow Cooked Mexican Shredded Chicken Just the right spices. Makes a very nice lunch. Kids love them.
Date published: 2022-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just bought it today and I was impressed with my self because I don’t cook
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! My family really liked this! I'll be making it again.
Date published: 2021-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make Yummy to eat I make this Slow Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken Recipe every few months. It is versatile and very easy to prepare. I love it as is and sometimes use leftovers to enjoy with tortilla chips and salsa.
Date published: 2021-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice spin This puts a nice American spin on a classic recipe from Mexico.
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On My Recipe Rotation List This is one of my favorite recipes. Wrap up some in warm flour tortillas with some chopped fresh tomatoes and a generous dollop of sour cream. If you like, add shredded cheddar cheese. Yum!!!
Date published: 2020-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy! I had everything in the pantry for this dish. Just had to defrost the chicken. Super easy dish to make. We used the chicken for taco salad. Very yummy!
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome taco salad!! I won't ever eat beef or steak in my tacos or taco salad after fixing this recipe!!! You need to try this out!!
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I made this for dinner last night, turned out delicious.
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good It was so delicious, made it just like the recipient and it was perfect
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taco Tuesday! Every Tuesday and im always on the look out! Kids love it!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are Tasty Quick to throw together for a quick dinner with friends
Date published: 2020-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Tacos These tacos were a good choice during a healthy eating.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delish This was very easy to make and it didn't take a long time. It was delish and I will be making this again very soon.
Date published: 2020-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Oh this is so good and simple great if you have children
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and delish! Everyone in my house loved this! Definitely making again. Maybe use it for part of a taco bar??
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Added to my rolling recipes I made these last night for taco tuesday and they were amazing. The slow cooker kept the chicken really moist and made the flavor awesome. I use my mixer to shred the chicken and it takes 5 seconds.
Date published: 2020-02-26
  • y_2024, m_4, d_15, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_RECIPE_22767, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hiddenvalley
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 133.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
All Notes
You need to be logged in to access your private notes.
Click the button below to login or create an account!

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.


or

Explore our full line of Ranch products & visit the Ranch Shop for hot HVR merchandise!

Explore Our Products
Button

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

Join Us For
Tasty Perks

Sign up now for free access to a huge library of Hidden Valley® Ranch recipes and Ranchology Rewards perks.

RULES

Whoops. Something went wrong. Please come back later.

See Official Rules